Annie and Egg Updates

Today I went for an u/s update at 8:15.  I have three good possibles on the right – a 13, 10 and 9, and a pitiful little 7.5 on the left.  The lining is actually slightly thinner, but we still have a week to go.  Also, he lowered my dose the night before again, and my lining always gets thinner on the lower doses.  I’ve got half a mind to keep my dose at the higher level;  they just keep getting too cautious!  But I’ll be good, they’ve been doing this a lot longer than I have.

I totally forgot to get my E2 done.  He upped my dose of Gonal F.  I ‘m just about to use up my last pen, so he refilled my prescription for two more pens.  I get another E2 and go back for an u/s on Monday at 7:45.

The mail-order pharmacy where we’ve been getting the Gonal F, Freedom Pharmacy, doesn’t deliver on weekends, so they had to  their weekend response team (didn’t know they had one! but I’m glad they do!) arranged for a local pharmacy (People’s) to give me one pen, and they’ll deliver the second pen Monday morning.  My sweet hubby, who helped my brother pack up his house all day, took time out to run across town to People’s Pharmacy to pick it up for me. 

One interesting thing about picking up the drug from People’s was that they actually gave us a reciept .  OMG, the price the pharmacies charge insurance companies for the pen is $1410!  That’s unimaginable!  I know they give a discount to people who are paying up front (without insurance), but even then, it must be hugely costly.  Once again, I realize how blessed we are by Troy’s insurance.  God has really provided for us!

While I was sleeping today our vet, Geana, left me a message that she had just checked on Annie and she is looking much better!  Geana said Annie was waiting at the front of the cage for her and she gave little meows of welcome and put her paws thru the cage for attention.  Geana also said she ate really well with a great appetite!  Annie wasn’t making urine when Dad took her in, but since she was hydrated overnight Geana was finally able to do a urinalysis.  It showed a lot of red and white cells in the urine (blood and pus), but  as horrible as that sounds, it’s actually a very strong indicator that she is experiencing a kidney infection rather than a malignancy or true renal failure.  Geana is cautiously hopeful and will call me with another update tomorrow.

I wanted to share something that I’ve learned as I’ve done a little research on renal failure in cats.  It turns out that in nature, cats get most of their hydration from consuming their live prey.  When we feed them a primarily dry cat food diet, they are chronically dehydrated.  As the kidneys are forced to work harder, the tissues of the kidney fail and are replaced with scar tissue, until eventually, there is no healthy tissue left.  In most cases, by the time the cat shows evidence of renal insufficiency, the kidneys are almost 75% scar tissue.  I’m going to the grocery store today to stock up on wet cat and dog food.  I don’t care if it makes their poop stinky if it means I get many more years with them and they don’t have to suffer through kidney failure and dialysis.  I know I sound like a public service ad for pets, but I wanted to be sure to pass on what I’ve found out, in case it helps anyone else.

Thanks so much for all the love and well wishes ya’ll sent my way.  I can’t thank you enough.  It helps so much to know ya’ll are rooting for her right along with me.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. drmkg74
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 01:08:22

    Thanks for that info about the wet food. I did not know that. I do give my cat wet food occasionally, maybe I will do it more often now. I hope things go well on Monday and your cat continues to mend. ((HUGS))

    Reply

  2. Pie
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 09:16:55

    Yay for Annie! I give my cat both wet and dry, but she is also one of those weird cats that likes to play with water, adn will actually drink out of a dripping faucet. So she gets plenty of water, but I know she’s an anomaly.

    And it sounds like your eggs are growing perfectly for an IUI. Slow and steady wins the race!

    Reply

  3. myndful
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 11:38:16

    Go eggs! Grow eggs! 3 is a great number to be working with so keeping my fingers crossed that things stay on course, or even speed up a little bit.

    Wonderful news about Annie. And you are such a good pet mom…you’ll make a wonderful baby mama 🙂

    Reply

  4. meinsideout
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 11:45:20

    I hope your eggs continue to grow! I felt like such a bad cat mommy when I found out about what dry food does – it was too late for my little Sophie but we feed our big boy Nando wet and dry food and he is doing really well at 14 years old!

    Reply

  5. Katie
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 11:49:26

    I’m glad things are looking up for Annie! Let’s get some good sized follies!

    Reply

  6. Sweet Georgia
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 12:24:33

    Glad to hear Annie is doing better.

    Reply

  7. Kate
    Aug 31, 2009 @ 12:49:38

    Yikes about the total amount of the meds! Thank goodness for insurance 🙂

    Good luck with growing your eggies!

    Reply

  8. iamstacey
    Sep 01, 2009 @ 14:01:10

    Thanks, ya’ll! Annie comes home tomorrow morning! We’re already mixing wet cat food into the meal plan for the other kitties. The battle is keeping the dogs out of the cat’s dishes!

    Next u/s is tomorrow! I’m hopin’ for growth on at least three follies!

    Reply

Leave a comment