He Knocked Me Up, Then Dumped Me!

The in-laws Jim & Marilyn came into town Sunday.  It was so good to spend time with them!  Troy and I took them to the Alamo Drafthouse to see Salt.  They loved the Drafthouse – who wouldn’t love a theater where they bring you food and alcohol all through the movie??  Best idea for a business, EVER!!!  And Salt was a good flick.  Angelina is always fastinating to watch, especially when she goes all bad-ass-y.  Reminded me a lot of the Bourne series.

Monday morning blood work:  HCG was in the 33,000’s and Progesterone was 26.  The HCG was an accident, I was using an old lab ticket and I didn’t realize the panel on it had both tests in it.  I’m glad it was a good number, but I’m also glad we’re not checking that anymore.  It just stresses me out too much! 

Troy was able to take off on Monday, and I’m so glad he got to spend the day with Marilyn and Jim.  I tried to take the day off, too, but we already had other people out.  I was lucky to be able to get off early!  Jim is in the process of restoring an old pontoon boat so Troy and Jim tooled around the boat stores in the morning.  Around 2 I headed out of work and met up with Marilyn and Troy, and we all went to the u/s together.

Everything looked great on the ultrasound!  The baby is measuring a few days ahead in size and had a great heartbeat of 167.  I’m so glad Troy and his mom got to hear it together!  It was so fun having us all together!  Poor Dr. Silverberg and the nurses, we just couldn’t stop laughing and joking!  I sat up after the sonogram and Dr. Silverberg started giving me a speech about bringing him a picture of the baby, being sure to refer the clinic to others, etc.  It finally sank in what he was telling me, and I blurted out, “Now that you’ve got me knocked up, are you breaking up with me?”  He laughed and confirmed that indeed, he is now passing me on to my OB.  He gave me a big hug and extra pics of the ultrasound, then we checked out for the last time!

I do repeat my progesterone for them again next Tuesday.  I’ve already called my OB, Dr. Breen, and I’ve set up my first appointment.  The earliest they could get me in is August 9th.  That’s like, 10 days away!  Argh!  I wonder if Dr. Breen does ultrasounds?  I’ll definitely ask.  I at least want to hear a heartbeat.  I’m going to need a regular fix for a while.  Argh, I don’t like not being special anymore!  What’s with the ‘regular old pregnant patient’ crap?  I’ve loved Dr. Breen for years, I’m sure he’ll be supportive and understanding.

Monday night I had the bad cramps again.  I just can’t tell when it’s gas and when I’m cramping.  They woke me up all through the night.  Tuesday when the alarm went off, I was so tired and hurting so much, I just couldn’t get going.  I’m so lucky my boss was so understanding.  It was good to take a day just resting, drinking a lot of water and taking Gas-X from time-to-time.  It worked!  Today I feel like a new woman.  No cramps or gas (knock on wood, quick!), although I did  have my first bout of morning sickness.  From now on, I’ve got the ol’ sleeve ‘o crackers on the night stand to keep the nausea at bay.

So … I just listed all the awesome things about finding myself 7 1/2 weeks pregnant … and now I’ll follow it up with the always annoying, “But I don’t know if I really believe it, it doesn’t seem real.”  I don’t know how else to explain it.  I feel like I’m going thru a bout of the flu, then it’ll be back to normal ‘ol infertile me.  It just doesn’t seem like it could be true .. how could I be this lucky?  I’m never one of the lucky ones.  It could all go away at any minute … that’s the way it usually goes…