Recovery

I checked into L&D Sunday night, had the c-section Monday afternoon, and left the hospital Thursday afternoon.  It seems like I was there for weeks, though!  I have to be honest, there are moments during recovery that I’m not proud of.  I’m not big on pain!

The first night was hard, just because they came in CONSTANTLY.  I mean, every 30 minutes to an hour they were there to check on me or the baby.  It was a long night.  I was afraid because they didn’t seem to be in a hurry to supplement and I really felt he needed the extra calories.

The next day seemed a bit better.  I still had a lot of the spinal block in my system, and the pain seemed manageable.  I itched all over, though.  They said it was normal as the spinal block wore off.  Isaiah had bloodwork done.  His glucose was too low and he was breathing a little too rapidly, but they still wanted to wait a day before supplementing.  His bilirubin was borderline normal/high, but they felt it was fine and would go down by the time he left the hospital.

That night, it got hard.  The last of the spinal block was gone and the pain was on in full force.  To top that off, sharp, stabbing gas pains settled in my right shoulder.  It hurt to stand, to roll over to breathe.  The nurses had to press on my abdomen every shift to feel if my uterus was hard (they need it to clamp down and stop bleeding from where the placenta detached).  The uterus was doing great, but OMG the press/checks hurt soooo bad.

I was terrified of the first poop after surgery.  Finally, one kind nurse talked me into a suppository.  I was truly terrified that it would cause more gas pains.  But just 30 minutes later I finally pooped, and it was super soft and I passed a TON of gas.  The next day I didn’t use another suppository but I passed more stool and gas.  After that, the gas pains were gone!  And Isaiah’s doc finally agreed to begin supplementing with Similiac and his glucose levels stabilized and his breathing went to normal.  All good signs!

Each day we had a visitor, and I have to admit, one visit was all I could handle.  Dad came the first day.  Good girlfriends Judy and Melissa the next, then my brother and his wife.  I was so happy to see everyone, but exhausted after each visit.  Troy stayed with me Wednesday night (mom finally got to go home and rest) and took me home Thursday.  Here we hit a glitch – the doc who discharged me sent me home with a prescription for Percocet for pain, but she wrote it on the wrong kind of pad.  The pharmacy waiting until 5pm to tell me they weren’t going to fill the prescription!  I called the on-call nurse, though, and we finally got some pain meds on board.  The next day my mom took my by the OB’s office and they gave me the right prescription and did a wound check and took my BP.  All looked good!

Since then, each day gets better.  Isaiah is doing great and is slowly regaining his birth weight.  He nurses like a champ and doesn’t mind switching to the bottle to top him off at the end of each nursing session.  His booty is a little sore and he has a mild infection in one eye (a blocked tear duct) but both are healing well.  For me, the pain gets less each day.  Now it’s mostly just uncomfortable first thing in the morning.  I still can’t hear out of my left ear and my hands still go numb, but I’m hoping by the time I go back for my final wound check in two weeks both of the other issues will have resolved themselves.  I seem to be back on a regular routine poop-wise, which is a relief after nine months of constipation.  And happily, Troy and I have already been able to resume intimacies, which I know is a relief for him. 🙂  I’m so lucky to have such a patient, sweet husband.

I just love being a mom.  I really wish I could have two more.  I adore Isaiah.  It’s still hard to believe I am this lucky, that he is really here.  I couldn’t be more happy.  Pregnancy doesn’t agree with me but motherhood does.  I am so thankful.  I can’t even express my gratitude for this opportunity to be a mom once again.  Thank You, Lord Jesus.  There are no words for all that is in my heart.

007 028 086

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. A Calm Persistence
    Dec 12, 2013 @ 07:46:02

    Congrats!!!! Your little one is just perfect! 🙂 God is good.. all of the time!

    Reply

  2. Lauren
    Dec 12, 2013 @ 16:03:30

    Yay! Congrats!

    Reply

  3. emily
    Dec 13, 2013 @ 09:11:40

    so happy for you!! 🙂

    Reply

  4. missingmotherhood
    Jan 04, 2014 @ 20:06:23

    I am little late back to your blog but really so thrilled for you and the fam! Huge congrats. Keep us posted!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

