30 Days of Thankfulness

I am in my 14th year of working for a cancer treatment center in Austin, Texas.  I’ve been so lucky to work with wonderful doctors, nurses and patients on the front lines of battling cancer in all its various terrible forms.  I’ve been lucky to see more victories than sorrows, but I’ve also seen how devasting it can be, not only for the patients themselves but for for their families and loved ones.

Heather Von St. James is a mesothelioma cancer survivor who, along with her husband and daughter, is sharing her amazing story of survival.  Heather does not live in Austin and I don’t know her personally, but you can read her full story at mesothelioma.com/heather.  She was diagnosed just three months after the birth of her daughter.  I can’t imagine facing a deadline – of looking in my sweet baby’s face, and knowing we only have a limited amount of time together, knowing I might not get to see him grow up.  I can’t imagine how going through that would change me, my husband and my family. 

Heather’s husband Cameron writes, “Her diagnosis was in November, and every year around this time she gets what we call the “November Blues.”  Therefore, she created “30 Days of Thankfulness” where she acknowledges something in her life that she is thankful for every day.  It is also National Caregivers Month.  We’ve been so lucky to meet some incredible bloggers who have helped us in our journey to spread awareness and (we) are asking bloggers this November to post about something they are thankful for, along with sharing a bit of our story.”

I hope you will take a moment to share something on your blog that you are thankful for.  It goes without saying that we have a LOT to be thankful for this year, and this month specifically!  God has answered so many of our prayers.  My folks are finally living close to us.  My toddler is thriving in school.  We miraculously have this baby boy on the way.  Thank you, Lord!  I couldn’t imagine asking for more, and I couldn’t be more grateful.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Good Timing
    Nov 26, 2013 @ 01:16:19

    Amen! So much to be thankful
    For. Thank you for reminding me
    Of this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

