36 Weeks

Four weeks to go.  Just a month!  It still seems unreal that another human being will be part of our family in a month.  Strange to be here … the end always seemed so far away, and still does, really.

I had my regular OB appointment with Dr. Breen on Monday.  Everything looks fine with the baby, and there are no signs of impending labor.  I’m fine with that.  Although I am truly starting to feel uncomfortable, I want to savor every last minute.  I want him to be fully ready to be born.  And for selfish reasons, it would be great to get a couple more paychecks and paid-time-off in the banks.

After I saw Dr. Breen, I went to the perinatologist for an Estimation of Fetal Weight ultrasound.  It was fun to see the baby again.  I can’t feel him as much now, his movements are smaller and seem less frequent.  I’m sure it’s just because he’s squished in there.  But looking at him on the screen, it looked like he was all over the place!  They estimated his weight to be 8lbs, 8oz, but that’s just an estimate.  I think he’s doing just fine and I’m still hoping my body starts labor on it’s own.  I was induced with Davie Ann, and I had a wonderful birth experience.  I’d just like to have the experience of going into labor for the experience of it – with plenty of time to get to the hospital and get an epidural before it really hurts, of course. 😉

Financially, it’s starting to seem all too real.  Each month gets a little tighter.  First, I stopped working my part-time job in May.  Then I started having to take unpaid FMLA days during the worst of the hyperemesis.  We began to run up credit cards and watched our savings dwindle.  It’s going to be a lean Christmas.  I’ve got Davie all taken care of, but I still need to buy for my nieces and nephews.  I’ll be on 66% salary for 8 weeks after the baby is born (short term disability), so we’re just going to have to be more careful than ever.  Troy has been taking overtime shifts whenever he can, but his job doesn’t offer it very often.  But every little bit helps.

Davie’s surgery went really well.  It was so fast!  It seemed almost as fast as they took her back to surgery they were carrying her into us in the recovery room.  She was a little fussy the next two days, but as long as we gave her children’s Motrin she would bounce right back to her happy self.  So far, knock on wood, there have been no colds or infections. 

This weekend we will get our maternity pictures done!  I’m hopeful everything will turn out all right this time.  It was so heartbreaking to lose out on all of our maternity pictures from my pregnancy with Davie.  We had a private photographer come to the house who was advertising with our local “mom’s group.”  She had a huge story about losing an infant son to a horrible heart defect (Tetralogy of Fallot), and how in the years since she had turned to maternity and infant photography as a comfort.  We paid her and she came out and took pictures – and disappeared.  She stayed in touch by email, so I thought the pictures were coming, and didn’t know to get them re-done.  We didn’t realize we’d been had until after Davie was born and it was too late.  Now I only have 5 or 6 pictures of myself pregnant with her.  It was such a horrible heartbreak to lose those memories – but even more heartbreaking that she used the tragic death of her son to swindle people.

But now, we’ll get to try again with Davie IN the pictures!  We’re going to wear the same clothes we wore for Davie’s maternity pictures, but this time we’re getting them done at Penney’s.  I hope Davie behaves and they turn out!

Our second big goal this weekend is to get all the carpets shampooed.  I can’t wait to get it done – because the following weekend we’re going to decorate for Christmas!  I’m so excited!  I LOVE Christmas decorations.  They’re so warm and inviting.  I know it’s early, but I really wanted to get it done before the baby comes.  I want to use some of the decorations as props in his newborn photos, so it’ll be good to get everything out. 

I need to download pics from my phone.  I’ll try to post some tonight.  I have the cutest little video of Davie singing her two favorite songs, “I Have A Little Turtle” and “ABC”.  Of course, she’s mostly nekkid in it, but that seems to be her natural state. 🙂  Oh!  We’ve had two successful pees in the potty!  I’m hoping she’s really starting to get interested in it!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Another Dreamer
    Nov 13, 2013 @ 15:08:33

    I remember that happening to you with maternity photos last time… so terrible 😦 I hope these ones go beautifully!

    Woohoo to 36wks! And what a big boy, that’s great! I’m glad Davie’s surgery went well and so far no issues! Hoping it stays that way.

    I hear you about finances being tight and unexpected expenses/time off… we were in a similar situation with V’s pregnancy. It’s tough. Hang in there, I hope that things straighten themselves out and it doesn’t become a further issue.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Nov 13, 2013 @ 15:22:07

      It’ll work itself out! I think we had a similar panic right before Davie was born. We just have to be careful for the next few months!
      I think our church is offering the Dave Ramsey financial class in the spring. I can’t wait to take it!

      Reply

  2. Ashley
    Nov 13, 2013 @ 17:20:05

    That’s terrible about your last maternity pictures! People are so crazy. Hope these turn out well!

    I started decorating for Christmas today!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

