29 Weeks

Ah, the week of viruses. 

Last Thursday night Davie patted her ears twice and told me they hurt.  Another time she curled in a ball against me and told me her tummy hurt.  I called mom right away and we decided to set up a doc appointment for her on Friday.

Friday they found she had one of the worst double ear infections she’s ever had.  My poor baby. 😦  Since she won’t take the oral meds, we had to take her back three days in a row for antibiotic shots. 

Friday night I woke to a soft, “Mommy, Mommy” right by my head.  I reached out still half asleep to pull her into bed with me, and found my hand coated in warm slime.  I knew instantly what it was.  I flipped on the bedside lamp and found her coated in vomit.  So we stripped her, stripped her bed, wiped her down, and tucked her into my bed next to me.

Where, thirty minutes later, she coated us both in vomit.  Lather, rinse, repeat.  By the end, she got her bed, my bed, the guest bed and a foam pallet we made for her on the floor.  Actually, we didn’t really make it for her, she just crawled up on it, curled up in a ball, and finally fell asleep.  I had bought two new 4 in memory foam mattress toppers for the trundle bed in Isaiah’s room, and I had unrolled them on my bedroom floor earlier in the day to air out.  We kept trying to tuck Davie back into bed with us, but she kept crawling out of bed and curling back up on the foam mattresses.  For some reason, she was just more comfortable there, so we covered her with soft blankets and laid down beside her.  In the morning, she seemed over it.

Sunday evening our friend Melissa came over to watch the series finale of Dexter.  Davie was tucked in bed, and we had just eaten stuffed cheesy shells I had made for the first time.  They turned out pretty good!  They taste a lot like lasagna but without all the extra work. 🙂  Right as we were getting to the climax of the show, I grabbed an empty chip bag and hurled into it.  I knew it was my turn.

The last thing I ate was a piece of garlic bread.  OMG, no matter how much I threw up, loooong after all the food was gone and only green bile was coming up, it STILL tasted like garlic.  I used to love garlic.  I don’t think I can ever eat it again.  I threw up until 9 am Monday morning, and had to call in to work.

Monday night, Davie started running a fever.  It wasn’t too high, right around 100.8 – 101.  It was high off and on thru the next day.  Mom kept her home from school Tuesday and Wednesday, and so far, it seems like whatever it was has passed. 

Tuesday I went back to work, but had to pack it in by 3pm.  Wednesday morning, I woke up nauseous and vomiting again, but it wasn’t as bad as before.  I’m heartsick that I had to call in again, but getting plenty of rest and fluids was the only thing that helped me finally shake it.  I feel like every moment I waste being sick is a moment I’m going to miss out on maternity leave with Isaiah. 😦

So, we missed our Marriage Enrichment class Wednesday night.  I was really sad to miss it, it’s been a real blessing and learning experience for us.  I’m looking forward to getting back in the saddle next Wednesday.

Good news – I passed the 1 hour glucose tolerance test!  And my OB Dr. Breen called to tell me that the fetal echocardiogram was perfect.  Lots of good news!  My next OB appointment will be next Wednesday afternoon.

This Friday is my nephew Andon’s sixth birthday.  I can’t believe he’s been here six years!  My brother and ex-SIL are going thru a difficult time.  She bought a house not long ago, and is now trying to get my brother to fund her new lifestyle.  She found out he’s due for a small cost-of-living raise, and announced immediately she was going to take him to court for more child support.  He already goes far above and beyond, paying her share of medical expenses and buying all their school supplies and clothes.  My parents give her free after-school care, including picking up the boys from school, feeding them, and taking them to ball practices.  Just be praying that it all goes as smoothly as possible and doesn’t cause a rift in our family, especially for the sake of my nephews.  I know it will all work out, it’ll just be a rough month or two.

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Another Dreamer
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 15:08:10

    Sorry for the rough week with viruses galore! But yay for 29 weeks too 🙂 Glad you passed the GTT and the echo was good! I hope there’s no more sickness in your near future! You need a break from all that, whew!

    Sorry to hear about your brother and exSIL situation, that is always so tough. It seems like those arrangements hardly every work out fairly to all parties involved.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Sep 26, 2013 @ 15:20:15

      I hope my sweet baby girl doesn’t get sick any more! We have a consult with a pediatric ENT next week. I’m hoping she doesn’t need tubes, because she LOVES to swim! For me, it was just a passing thing. Nothing like the hyperemesis. I’m really enjoying pregnancy now. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Low Fat LadyLowfatlady
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 16:59:21

    Ugh for asll the sickness. I hope everyone is in the clear soon. LM has ear tubes. They have helped a lot.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Sep 26, 2013 @ 17:01:43

      Was it awful for him getting them put in? I’m hoping she doesn’t need them, but hoping if she does get tubes it will solve those recurrent infections. I hate for her to keep going through them!

      Reply

  3. Christy
    Sep 27, 2013 @ 09:57:07

    Avery has tubes and can totally still swim, just not in a lake? So sorry for all the sickness 😦 can’t believe 29 weeks already!,!

    Reply

  4. Hope
    Sep 28, 2013 @ 21:55:13

    Girl, you are so nonchalant about vomit! I would be freaking out and would never put a puking kid in bed with me – haha. Glad you’re all feeling better though. 🙂

    Reply

  5. JustMe
    Oct 01, 2013 @ 00:24:20

    Sorry about the sickness. Sometimes we need to be reminded that, despite all plans otherwise, our bodies can just shut us down and make us recover. Hope you are all feeling better.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

