28 Weeks

I don’t know what happened to Week 27!  Some how it slipped by!

Today is officially the start of Week 28, otherwise known as the Third Trimester.  It seems surreal to be here, almost like I’m watching it happen to someone else.  It’s hard to wrap my mind around the idea that this is real for me, even as I feel him wiggle and kick.  It’s been a long road here, and yet it seems like it just started.  I think it’s because so many months were a blur of sickeness in between, it seems like I’ve gone straight from the FET in March through some weird dream state then just woke up in the third trimester all of the sudden.

Yesterday I had the day off.  My mom is Davie’s daycare provider, but she had to have a root canal started.  So I took Davie with me to my 28 week OB appt and glucose tolerance test.  I don’t know the results yet, but I’m glad the test is over!  Davie was such a good girl.  That’s a long time for a toddler to sit still!  The OB and his staff had fun seeing her since they delivered her 2 1/2 years ago. 

After the appointment we took a long nap, then my girlfriend Melissa came over.  We mainlined as many Dexter episodes as we could fit in between playing with Davie.  The series finale is next Sunday, and we wanted to be sure we could watch it live so we don’t accidentally end up seeing the ending on TV Monday.  Troy came home and we had sour cream enchiladas for dinner.  He makes the most amazing sour cream chicken enchiladas with refried beans!  We were so stuffed afterwards we couldn’t even eat our Ben & Jerry’s!

On Sunday, we finally officially joined our church!  Mom, Dad, my nephew Cayle, hubby Troy, Davie Ann and I all joined.  It felt wonderful to join as a family.  The church was so welcoming.  It really feels like home!

Troy and I have been to one marriage enrichment class at the church last Wednesday.  It was so enlightening!  It talks about how to improve communication in a marriage.  I feel like we’ve already learned so much!  The class is every Wed. evening for the next six weeks.  Even Troy is interested!  It’s been a great way to really get to know other couples in the church, too.  And Davie Ann always loves a sleep-over with Nana and Pop. 🙂

In sad news, we sold Daisy, my 1979 VW bus.  OMG, I love that thing.  But, it hasn’t been running since before Davie was born, and hard as we tried, we just couldn’t afford to have the engine rebuilt.  I did some research on thesamba.com, a website where folks sell all things vintage VW, and settled on a price of $5000.  I found lots of non-running buses for sale around the same year, but most are on the East or West coast, and have a lot of body damage due to rust from the sea air.  So I picked a price right in the middle, which is about half of what we’ve put into it (inculding buying it), but I knew we’d never get back what we’d spent on it so far and really, it was my sentimental price.  I figured it was a starting point, and if anyone was interested, they could make an offer and we could negotiate.  If there were no offers, I figured we could try lowering the price, or maybe it would just be a sign we should hold onto it until we could afford to have the engine rebuilt.

What I really didn’t expect was the hostility my ad engenered.  I got calls, emails and texts berating me for the starting price I chose.  An older man in Florida took the time to call and berate me for my stupidity.  Another told me since I had obviously missed a period in my ad, he’d be glad to come drag her away if we’d pay HIM $500!  No one bothered to make an offer or come see her, they just started straight in with what a stupid woman I was!  Not anything I had expected at all! 

Daisy had been listed on thesamba.com and on Craigslist since the beginning of June, so I pretty much figured we’d be fixing her up next year.  But last week I got a text asking if a guy could come by and look at the bus.  I told him it was open and he was welcome to go by and take a look, and he could let me know if I was interested.  To my shock, a few hours later I got a text asking me if I would consider an offer of $4000 “plus visiting rights”, which I found totally charming!

The next day Troy and I met with the guy, who is a VW enthusiast through and through.  He had just finished rebuilding just the right engine to go in Daisy!  He was amazed that all of her interior was still vintage, and she had a solid body with very little rust.  She has some vintage parts (an original VW air conditioner, one of the very firstever built), that is worth more than the whole VW!  He just gushed over her and told us all his plans for restoring her, and promised he would bring her back so I could see her after all his work is done. 

So, Daisy has gone to a new home.  If she had to go, I couldn’t have asked for a better buyer.  Such a perfect answer to prayer.  I can’t wait to see her all restored to all her original glory.  Troy and I have tucked away the $4000, and in March we’ll add some of our tax refund to it and will head to Kia to see if we can afford payments on a new (to us) minivan.

Lastly, Troy’s mom Marilyn and his step-sister Sharon came down and stayed with us Friday night and most of Saturday.  It was a really good visit.  Davie and Marilyn had some great bonding time.  Sharon and Troy got to go shooting together (they are both enthusiasts).  We all got to talk together a bit about the baby’s name.  I’m hoping that understanding why we chose his name and what it means to us will help smooth over some of the hurt we didn’t know Marilyn was harboring over Davie’s name.  Over all, a really good, happy visit.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Another Dreamer
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 20:16:39

    What is wrong with people? I mean calling just to berate you? If they don’t like the price, then they don’t need to bother you. I do not understand that at all. Ugh. But so glad you found the right buyer!

    And holy moly, 28wks?! Where’s the time going! So glad things are going well, hope you’re feeling so much better now. I know it’s been rough up until lately.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Sep 18, 2013 @ 13:15:47

      It’s such a relief to be enjoying this pregnancy now. I feel like a whole different person! I still have the pregnancy hormone breakdowns from time to time, and I’m still careful what I eat, but overall I’m soaking it all up. 🙂

      I thought it was so weird so many people took time to call me and tell me how stupid I was. I’ve sold stuff on Craigslist for years and I’ve had people make low offers, but never had anyone call and tell me they didn’t like the price I chose! Who has the time, you know?

      Reply

  2. Stacey
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 23:49:02

    Wow, I really don’t understand why all those people would call you!!! But I also am glad you found the right buyer. I used to have an old VW bus, too, I want to say it was a 1974. I left it parked at my mom’s when I moved across the country to grad school, and she sold it to a “sweet kid”. When I met him, I could tell immediately that he was one of those slimy guys who tricks old grandmas into thinking they’re sweet, and he told me how he was going to lower it and trick it out. I almost cried. Anyway … glad to hear all’s going well!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Sep 18, 2013 @ 13:17:34

      Oh my gosh, I WOULD have cried!! Oh, that would’ve broken my heart. I’m really gonna miss the bus. There was nothing like rolling the windows down and cranking up the 70’s tunes. 🙂

      Reply

  3. JustMe
    Sep 18, 2013 @ 01:26:23

    Congrats on reaching the third trimester!!!

    I loved the story about selling your bus. Just goes to show there is a home for everything. 🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Sep 18, 2013 @ 13:19:41

      We truly found the right guy. 🙂 It was meant to be.
      You’re just ahead of me! Your boy is gonna be here before you know it!
      My daughter was two weeks early, but I’m hoping this one holds on for my due date so I can get a mother’s ring with the December birthstone. The December stone looks really good with Davie’s March stone. How materialistic is THAT?!? 😉

      Reply

  4. Good Timing
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 14:37:13

    Happy third tri!! 🙂 bet that’s a good feeling huh? Woohoo!
    S glad you were able to sell the VW. I know lots of people are looking to buy them now. I can’t believe all the negative comments you got from your ad?! What the heck is with that? I’m just happy you found the perfect buyer and got a good price. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

