26 Weeks

I hope everyone had  great Labor Day weekend!  Mom, Dad, Troy and I worked hard on the baby’s room.  He’ll be in our room for about a year, probably – first in a cradle by my bed, and later in the crib in our room.  We never took it down after Davie was born, so it’s ready to go. 

But eventually, he’ll be ready for his own little boy room.  We washed and sorted all his clothes and put them in his closet or his new (to us) dresser.  I’ve been shocked to discover how many clothes my mom has been hoarding as my nephews outgrew them through the years!  We have tons for birth thru 24 months, a few 2T’s, then tons of 3T’s and 4T’s, then a few more 5’s and 6’s.  I’ll never have to shop for this kid!

We moved the trundle bed we had in the study up to his room, and the queen bed from his room into the study.  It’s just for guests to use, most likely for Troy’s parents when they come to visit.  It helps them a lot as they both have a lot of health issues.  But although no one will sleep on it regularly, it’s a rule for the adoption agency that every room with a bed in it also has to have a fire alarm in it.  For some reason, it didn’t matter with the trundle bed in there, but it might matter now that the bed is bigger.  We can always take it down later after we move back on to the active adoption list and store it in the garage.

The daybed has new mattress pads on it and is waiting for new Star Wars sheets to arrive.  The rocket ship comforter from Target finally came and it’s airing out right now.  Fortunately the daybed and the dresser really match well!  I have a tiny pew bench I bought off Craigslist many years ago.  We moved that into his room, too and it looks so cute!  He can sit there to put his shoes on.  I weeded out all the baby toys from Davie’s and put them in baskets in Isaiah’s room.  We then made a new play area for Davie in the living room that will leave room for the baby swing when I get it back from my brother and SIL.

All that’s left for Isaiah’s room is to buy the Tardis rug Troy loves and a Boba Fett lamp.  And to put up pictures.  I hope the kid likes sci-fi – if he’s anything like his dad, he’ll love the room.

Wednesday I went to the high-risk doc for a fetal echocardiogram.  Studies have shown a greater increase in heart defects for IVF babies, so now they’ve made it standard to have the heart check done.  They saw all the parts they needed to see and all looks great!

It’s amazing how different I feel about this pregnancy all of the sudden.  I was so scared all of Davie’s pregnancy, right up ’til the end.  I’ve been detached from this pregnancy, mostly due to the hyperemesis.  But now, I feel good.  Healthier since I lost so much weight.  Excited that I can feel him move so much.  More energy now that I can eat.  And now, with this big milestone completed and Isaiah’s room full of clothes and newborn diapers, it just seems so real.  I’m pregnant.  I’m going to have a son.

We talk to Davie about the baby, and I know it doesn’t really make sense to her.  But it’s cute to hear her with her own baby dolls.  She lifts my shirt and checks to see if she can see the baby yet.  We ask her who’s in there, and she says “baby brudder.”  We ask what his name is, and she looks at us like we’re daft and repeats, “Baby Brudder!” and then laughs.  We’ve tried to get her to say Isaiah but I think whether we like it or not, his nickname will be “Zayah” for a while. 🙂

I just feel … blessed.  Joy.  Nostalgia.  I LOVE to feel him move.  I love to pull up my shirt at night and actually see the skin bump up and down – from the outside.  It’s sad that this is the last time I’ll ever experience something so unique to pregnancy.  I want to savor each day. 

The next big milestone is in two weeks.  On the 16th, I have my glucose tolerance test.  The next day, I will turn 28 weeks.  At 24 weeks, the chance of survival after birth is only 50%, but at 28 weeks it jumps to over 80%.  I know that nothing is ever for sure.  I still have moments of panic.  I stand in his room and catch my breath, frozen in fear, wondering how will I handle it if I don’t bring a baby home to this room.  What am I thinking, setting this all up now?  What hubris!

And then I feel him move, and I breathe again, and remember the joy.  Just relax, just enjoy, one day at a time.  Once he’s here, I’ll never be a pregnant woman again.   Enjoy Davie while she’s an only child.  Live in the moment.  Breathe.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. missingmotherhood
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 17:53:17

    50% at this stage is crazy good odds!!! Wishing you three tons of health and happiness!!

    Reply

  2. Another Dreamer
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 23:39:53

    His room sounds like it’ll be amazing! I want to see photos 🙂 So cool, LOVE the theme.

    Reply

  3. JustMe
    Sep 06, 2013 @ 00:16:46

    Wow you are so prepared all ready! So Impressed. But most importantly, I’m so glad you are finally feeling better. You deserve the chance to connect to the pregnancy and feel happier and healthier. Go you!

    Reply

  4. iamstacey
    Sep 06, 2013 @ 11:59:05

    It’s such a blessing to get to enjoy this for a little while. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Good Timing
    Sep 15, 2013 @ 00:02:03

    I vote for pics too! 😉
    Big milestone of 26 weeks!
    Sending continued health your way.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

