25 Weeks and Busted Chins

It seems like it’s been two weeks since I last posted, not just a week.  Now that the hyperemesis fog has lifted, everything seems to be happening so fast!  I’m feeling so much better.  I’ve gained back about 7lbs and seem to be hovering right about there, which is fine by me.  I get tired really easily, but going from zero energy to what I’ve got now makes me feel like a marathon runner! 🙂  I just do things in spurts, then rest, then go at it again.   I guess that makes me more of a sprinter than a marathoner.

The constipation has gotten a lot better since I stopped taking so much Zofran, but I still have to keep an eye on it.  Insomnia seems to be a new wrinkle.  I’ll be soooo tired after work, by 8pm I’m ready for bed.  We start the bedtime ritual for Davie about that time, so it works out great.  But then suddenly around midnight to 2am, I’m wide awake.  Exhausted, but awake.  Sometimes if I eat a little bit of cheese I can fall back asleep.  I’ve started listening to podcasts really softly, and that helps me turn my racing mind off so I can doze back off.  I’m thinking about taking a Benadryl at bedtime to see if that helps, but sometimes it makes me groggy in the morning.  But then, so does being awake for two hours in the middle of the night, so it’s worth a try, eh?

… mmmm, cake balls … a coworker just handed me cake balls … whoever invented these is a genius … Newt is doing flips … apparently cake balls are a hit with him, too …

Speaking of flips (or rather, a lack thereof), I realized last Friday I hadn’t felt him move since Thursday afternoon.  By late afternoon Friday, I had tried everything – ice cold water, orange juice, even a Starbucks frappacino.  He didn’t move.  So I called the OB and asked if they would let me come in to hear the heartbeat, and they were so understanding.  They found the heartbeat right away, so sweet to hear.  Then a resident came in and asked if she could practice with their new portable ultrasound machine.  Hell, yes!  So we got to see that he really was moving around in there, I just couldn’t feel it.  Of course, by Saturday morning, he was practicing Tae Bo moves in there.

We did go to church Sunday but we didn’t end up joining.  My folks were able to go with my brother and his family to Sea World in San Antonio.  They stayed overnight and went to the zoo the next day.  I’m so glad they got to spend some great time together before school starts for my nephews!  It was just waaay too hot for us, in the triple digits, and I just can’t take that kind of heat right now.  And Davie is so fair skinned.  We’ll go to the Sea World Halloween show in October when it’s cooler.  In any case I wanted my folks to be able to join the church at the same time as us, so we figured we’d just do it the next time we’re all together. 

Sunday afternoon my folks got home and decided they missed Davie, so they came and picked her up for an overnight.  About 9pm I got a call that she had been running from the carpet in the living room onto the tile of the kitchen, and had gotten tangled up in a pair of flip flops and face-planted, cracking open her chin.  She has a scar there already from falling on the sidewalk when she was walking with PopPop about a year ago.  This time, it was really long, about an inch and a half.

So we all headed to the ER and met my folks there.  Davie was fast asleep, oblivious to everything, but my mom was a mess.  Poor Nana, she just completely blamed herself.  Fortunately Davie didn’t need any stitches, they were able to close it with Dermabond.  Unfortunately, they found out what I thought were little blisters around her mouth are actually an impatego infection.  I didn’t even know what that was.  They prescribed her an ointment, and fortunately it already looks 90% better.

Tuesday my dad took her to Safari Champ, and padded jungle-gym type thing where Davie has made a little friend, Dalia.  Apparently at some point she came out of the climbing set and her chin had re-opened.  I had given my folks a copy of our insurance card, so they headed back to the ER.  The staff there were so sweet!  They didn’t charge us anything, and they cleaned the wound and super-dermabonded it.  Since then, it has stayed closed!  When I picked Davie up after work, I joked that every time my kid stayed with Nana and Pop, we end up having to glue her back together.  I thought it was a lot funnier than poor Mom did.

Yesterday was “Meet the Teacher” day at Davie’s new school.  We took her school supplies up and got to say hello to the other kids in Davie’s classroom and their parents.  Davie was only shy for about 10 minutes, then she was unstoppable!  She checked out all the toys, and colored on an easel.  She chatted away at the other kids.  She wasn’t scared or nervous at all!  Just further confirmation to me that we’re doing the right thing by starting her in classes.  She’s so smart, and so ready to learn! 

I hope everyone has a great Labor Day weekend!  I am so ready for the weekend to start.  Saturday morning we have grocery shopping, post office and cleaning the house chores to do.  In the afternoon, Troy will watch Davie while Mom and I go exchange some clothes for Newt at Crazy 8 (I didn’t realize I got so many newborn sleepers.  I think I’ll exchange some for 0-3mos).  After that, we’re off for pedicures!  Woot!  I can’t wait!  I wanted to take mom on her birthday but we had a lot going on at the time.  There’s a great deal at Babies ‘R Us I’d like to take advantage of, too.  There’s a Dr. Brown newborn kit I want to get for Newt, but it costs $78 on Amazon.  There are 6 bottles in it that are tinted blue (but are see-through), extra newborn nipples, 3 different bottle brushes, two teethers and a couple other things in it.  It’s on sale for $49.99, and I have a 20% off coupon that will make it $40.  Also, if I spend $50, Babies ‘R Us will give us an umbrella stroller for free.  So I could add in $10 worth of other items and get it all for less than just the bottle kit costs on Amazon. We’ll see how much we can fit in to the day. 🙂 

Sunday is church in the am.  In the afternoon, Dad is coming over to help Troy and I move furniture around and set up Newt’s room.  I can’t wait to get it done!  Since he will be in our room for a year or so, we’re setting up his room more as a little boy room than a baby room.  Troy wants a ‘sci-fi’ theme.  I ordered a twin comforter from Target that has grey, blue and red rocket ships in a pattern all over it.  From an ebay store I ordered two sets of grey cotton Star Wars sheets (new, not vintage :).  Next month Troy wants to order a rug that has an exploding Tardis on it (from ThinkGeek.com), and there’s an adorable Boba Fett bedside lamp I’d like to get.  I’m thinking of looking at JoAnn Fabrics to see if I can find some Star Trek fabric there that my mother-in-law can sew into throw pillows for the bed.   I saw some hilarious fuzzy Tribble pillows in an ad that cracked me up.  I’ve also seen some amazing robot wall decals we might try, too.

Monday morning we’ll finish organizing the clothes, diapers and supplies we have so far in the baby room.  In the afternoon I think we’ll go swimming one last time before the neighborhood pools close on Tuesday.  I don’t know why they close before October in Texas.  It stays hot here!

Next Wednesday we have the fetal echocardiogram on Newt.  I’m excited to take a good long look at him. 🙂  In the evening there is a massive consignment event for baby clothes and supplies called Fairytale Threads.  I got to sign up to go in early with other expectant moms (It’s weird how I still feel like an imposter, even at 6 months!)  I hope we find a good baby carrier, boy’s clothes, toys for Davie and Newt and maybe a sweet Christmas dress for Davie.  I’m sooo excited!

Have a great weekend!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sangela71
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 12:09:23

    I am so far behind on my blog reading that I didn’t even know that you are having a BOY! Congratulations!

    So glad to hear that your hyperemesis is better. Zofran helped my nausea tremenedously, but the constipation it causes is unreal. ugh.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Sep 05, 2013 @ 13:13:37

      For someone ‘regular’ like me, the constipation has been a whole otherwordly experience. Had it with both pregnancies and never any other time! It’s crazy. I won’t miss that part of it all! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

