24 Weeks

Viability.  Not a guarantee, but a nice milestone to reach.  It’s good to be here.  Newt is moving like crazy and I love it. 

Finally, finally, I am off the Zofran pump.  Finally.  Last Saturday I took it off – it was time to change out the site where it went into my stomach, and I wanted to take a shower to wash my hair and shave before putting in the new site.  But after my shower, we started doing chores and cleaning, then cooking … and suddenly, it was the end of the day, and I still hadn’t restarted the pump.  So I gave the home health nurse a call, started on oral Zofran and happily never looked back.

I still take it easy, eating mostly light and bland foods.  I don’t have any cravings, but I don’t have the strong aversions I had at first, either.  Nausea still passes through from time to time, but it’s light and manageable.  I’m staying well hydrated.  I have a little more energy and it’s amazing to actually feel good sometimes.  I miss going out to movies and spending time with friends.  It’s like I just woke up from a four month coma. 

I’ve found myself standing in the guest room, re-arranging furniture in my head.  I guess it’s the beginnings of nesting?  We really don’t need much for the baby.  I’ve been buying diapers, wipes and formula, and mom and I have gone through Davie’s clothes and picked out all the gender-neutral newborn and 0-3 month outfits.  Since we didn’t know her gender, we actually have quite a few things we can use.  We’ll use her newborn car seat and pack ‘n play, too. 

The biggest item we’ll need is a dresser.  I’ve been watching Craigslist, but I really want a sturdy one that has drawers on metal runners that catch at the end.  I don’t want the drawers to be able to fall out of the dresser or for the dresser itself to fall over.  So I think we’ll end up having to buy one new. 

We have a trundle bed in Troy’s office and a queen bed in the guest room.  It’s been great for company, but it takes up the whole room.  I really want to move the trundle bed to the guest room (Newt’s room) and add a dresser.  I’ll keep the crib in our room for a while but we could fit it in Newt’s room later on, too.  But we still need the queen bed for when Troy’s parents visit.  I don’t know if it’ll fit in Troy’s office but I think we’ll do some measuring this weekend and see what we can do.

Davie starts school on the 3rd of next month!  I’m so excited for her.  I hope she loves it.  School is at our church, and she’ll go from 9am-2pm Tues., Wed. & Thurs.  She’s just so smart, I can’t wait to hear about all she learns!  My mom went to get her hair cut on Monday, so dad took Davie to Safari Champ, one of those padded climbing places.  And she made a friend!  Davie  plays beside other kids, but this is the first time she actually engaged with another girl.  They held hands and shared a ball and went down the slides together.  The other girl, Dahlia, had a nanny with her Davie kept calling “Teacher.”  When we got home, Davie talked non-stop about Teacher and Dahlia!  To me, it’s just another sign that she is ready for the interaction she’ll get at school.

Financially, we now have to incorporate tuition into the monthly budget.  Keep praying for financial wisdom for us!  It’s going to be tight with maternity leave coming up.  Just last week, I got a school supply list for Davie of stuff we’ve got to pick up before the 3rd.  I guess I should’ve known, but she’s only 2!  It’s a long list, too – paper towels, wipes, glue sticks, all kinds of crayons and markers, nap maps, oh my!  We had a bunch of the stuff already but I’m sure I’ll be hitting Walmart this weekend.

I think Sunday we will officially join the church.  I’m so excited to start being part of a church family.  I feel like I’ve finally returned to my roots as a preacher’s daughter. 🙂

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Another Dreamer
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 14:16:39

    Yay for viability and no pump! Great news all around there! I am so glad that you’re feeling better, I can’t begin to imagine how hard this has been on you. And so cute about Davie and her new friend 🙂 T

    Reply

  2. Stacey
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 15:33:24

    That’s all awesome news! I’m so glad you’re feeling better. And it sounds like Davie will love preschool. I can’t believe you had to buy all that, but then, maybe the tuition is less than at our preschool. Don’t worry about potty training, btw – unless she needs to be trained for school or something, I found that waiting until my kids were ready really worked the best. How nice to read such a positive happy post! It really makes my day.

    Reply

  3. Ashley
    Aug 22, 2013 @ 15:39:51

    Congrats on getting off the pump! That has to be a great feeling. Glad you’re feeling better!

    Reply

  4. JustMe
    Aug 22, 2013 @ 23:13:36

    Congrats on 24 weeks AND getting off the pump! Hooray!

    We have the same issue with our nursery. Needing a guest bedroom and a nursery (only we only have 2 bedrooms total). What I’ve decided to do is just push the guest bed against the wall and try to incorporate it into the nursery theme by putting pretty pillows, a throw blanket and lots of stuffed animals that all tie in the nursery colors.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

