22 Weeks

Wednesday I had my big anatomy scan.  Newt is still officially a boy!  Troy and Mom were able to go with me.  After that initial moment where the baby first comes on screen – I always hold my breath, waiting for that heartbeat or movement – I was able to really relax and enjoy the scan.  Everything looks good.  They checked the heart, brain, diaphram, kidneys, boy parts, lips and nose and measured the long bones.  I’m sure they checked so much more than I can even imagine.  I just loved watching him wiggle and wave his arms.

The perinatologist said that Newt’s heart looks great, but they want to see me back in four weeks to do the fetal doppler and echocardiogram.  I thought that’s what we were doing today, but he said it’s more accurate when the baby is a little bigger.  Although everything is fine, they require them for all IVF babies.  And I don’t mind getting another peek in four weeks.

When we got home last night, my in-laws Jim and Marilyn had arrived to stay for a few days.  Originally Marilyn was going to come to the ultrasound, but for some reason they changed their minds.  I love my in-laws and always enjoy their company.  They always do that kind of thing, though – make plans, then change their minds last minute.  I’m a planner, so it used to drive me crazy, but I’ve learned to just go with the flow. 🙂 

Jim and Marilyn are staying for two days to help us with Davie.  Mom and Dad are going to stay with some good friends for a few days, so Troy and I would’ve had to take off work to watch Davie if the in-laws hadn’t come.  I’m so glad not to miss any more work!  I’m still trying to build my maternity leave back up since we went to the beach last month!

The hyperemesis seems to be letting up a little bit more.  I think today I will be brave and ask the Alere nurse to lower my dose.  I’m not sure but I think there’s only one lower dose until I’m off the pump.  I still get nauseous every day, but I’m not throwing up much and I’ve gained two pounds.  So I think I might be closer to breaking free.

It’s so strange to know this is my last pregnancy.  With Davie, I was so scared all the time that at any moment, we would lose her.  I liked the reassurance of feeling her move, but the movement felt weird and almost uncomfortable to me.  This time, I love feeling movement.  Other than the hyperemesis, I’m really enjoying being pregnant.  I’m ok with this being the last, and at the same time, I’m glad I’m finally able to start relishing the experience.  I’m actually looking forward to giving birth one more time.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Good Timing
    Aug 08, 2013 @ 10:52:56

    Happy 22 weeks! Glad that everything at the scan went so well! 🙂 grow little Newt, grow!
    Have you guys talked about names yet?
    So glad you’re feeling a bit better! Maybe you’re almost out of the woods?!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Aug 08, 2013 @ 10:59:21

      Troy’s dad’s middle name was Edward (he passed away when Troy was a teenager from lymphoma), and Troy’s middle name is Edward, so Troy really wants Edward for the middle name. Which is fine by me! I have always loved the book of Isaiah, and I love the name, so I think his name will be Isaiah Edward Harlan.
      We’ll probably nickname him Izzy, which my mom hates. But she’ll get over it. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Another Dreamer
    Aug 08, 2013 @ 13:33:03

    Yay for 22 weeks! Glad the scan went well 🙂 And great about the weight gain too, as well as the lower dose. Hoping you continue to feel better and better as the days go by.

    Reply

  3. Ashley
    Aug 08, 2013 @ 17:20:44

    Yay for a boy! Glad everything looked good and you’re feeling better!

    Reply

  4. cindysn
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 11:40:48

    congrats!!!

    Reply

  5. iamstacey
    Aug 13, 2013 @ 11:09:56

    Thanks! It’s exciting and surreal to be at this stage.

    Reply

  6. Stacey
    Aug 18, 2013 @ 22:57:41

    Sweet! A baby brother! So glad you’re doing better. You’re more than halfway there! Can’t wait to see his sweet face.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

