Ditching the Pump

Yesterday I talked to the Alere Home Health nurse about my Zofran pump.  I’m doing pretty well, my weight has stabilized and I’m able to keep myself hydrated on my own without IV’s.  I’m not gaining weight – I pretty much just keep gaining and losing the same four pounds.  Which is fine with me – my OB said since I am heavy to begin with, as long as the baby is growing fine at each appointment, it’s fine for me to not gain any weight.

I do still throw up and struggle with nausea, but no where near to the extent it was at first.  I probably dry heave two or three times a day, and throw up maybe once a day or every other day.  Not constantly, like in the beginning.  And I can function – I can at least get out of bed and bathe now.  I’m not missing work.  I can eat a mix of foods now, mostly still bland (lots of Jell-O and boiled potatoes), but I’m starting to try regular foods now, too.  All good signs.

It’s gotten harder and harder for me to stick the needle/catheter in my stomach every 12 to 24 hours.  There’s a 3 inch thick ring of bruises all around my belly button.  I figured since the discomfort of the catheter was starting to outweigh the discomfort of the nausea, it might be time to start weaning off the pump.

So after some discussion, we’ve lowered my dose from 0.750 every hour to 0.660 every hour.  Not a big change, but I’m glad to take it slow.  We’ll re-evaluate on Friday, and we may lower again then or we might wait ’til Monday.  As my pump dose gets really low, I’ll start supplementing with the pills.  Then, hopefully, it’ll be just the pills.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Another Dreamer
    Jul 25, 2013 @ 14:19:45

    Hopefully lowering the dose doesn’t have any adverse affects, and you can kick it completely soon!

    Reply

  2. Ashley
    Jul 25, 2013 @ 15:07:11

    Glad you’re feeling better!

    Reply

  3. JustMe
    Jul 25, 2013 @ 17:27:29

    Good for you! I hope you can be free of the pump soon. Sounds so terrible 😦

    Reply

  4. iamstacey
    Jul 26, 2013 @ 08:23:41

    It’s weird to start thinking about not gaining weight after being so obsessed with how much I was losing! It’s a good thing!

    Reply

  5. Good Timing
    Jul 29, 2013 @ 23:47:17

    Yay to finally starting to be able to feel better! 🙂 bye bye pump!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

