18 Weeks

The last few days have been rough with the hyperemesis.  I’ve managed to stop losing weight and for the most part I fluctuate between the same 3 or 4 pounds.  I’m just praying it eases up before we leave next Sunday for THE BEACH!!!!  WOOT!!!!

I LOVE the beach.  My dream home is on a white sand beach next to a warm ocean.  Maybe Tahiti, although I’ve never been there, or in Belize.  I love scuba diving and snorkeling.  I grew up in the ocean in the Philippines and Indonesia, and the love has never left me.  It’s the only thing Austin is missing.  Sure, there’s a lake, and although I love a day on the lake, it can never compare to the ocean.

After the beautiful Asian beaches we called home for 17 years, beaches in the US don’t quite compare.  They are still beautiful in their own way, but I’ve found the east and west coasts oceans are just far too cold.  The waters of the Texas coastline are much warmer, but they tend to be murky and weedy rather than sandy and clear.  But that’s ok, I’ll take it!

My brother and SIL rented a house in Port Aransas for a week.  Last year we went to South Padre, and although we had a wonderful time, we’ve found Port A to be much more our speed.  It’s definitely got it’s share of college kids and touristy schtick, but it’s not trying so hard to be cool like South Padre.  For one thing, it’s a much shorter drive than S.P. – only 3 1/3 hours instead of closer to 8.  It’s small, laid-back, and slow-moving, with little traffic.  Just our speed. 🙂

I can’t wait to watch Davie re-discover the beach.  She was soooo cute last year, still so unsteady on her feet, and she just couldn’t figure out how to balance as the waves swept sand from under her toes.  But by the end, she was fearless as ever, running into and out of the waves with squeals of delight!  She is our waterbug, and I know she’ll love it this year, too.

Our part of pitching in on the trip is to provide the food.  I haven’t couponed since last December!  I was a rabid couponing fan last year.  In eight months of couponing, I stockpiled enough food so that we’ve only been buying milk, eggs, bread and perishables since January.  It’s been wonderful and we’ve been able to pay off some big debts.  We’re trying hard to pay off debts so we can start saving for a house.

I had a few bad experiences in December at Walmart.  They began to refuse to take coupons from me, saying I got too many savings there.  I reported the store to the district manager, and he was supportive and let me take in all my coupons after the fact to get reimbursed.  But the store manager of that particular store made it her mission to try to mess up or refuse every single shopping trip that I came it.  I put hours of time and planning into each trip, only to see it fall apart.  Then the next day, I would have to call the district manager again and take my coupons in again.  They made me feel like a criminal and I just got burned out.

From there we went into the intense adoption classes, into the FET, into the loss of the twin, and then the descent into hyperemesis gravidarum.  But now, it’s time to pull my head out of the sand toilet and get some shopping done!  Not only to provide food for six adults and four kids for a week, but also to start stockpiling diapers, wipes and formula for the kid on the way. 

Mom was a huge help last weekend.  Dad and Troy watched Davie while mom and I clipped, sorted and organized all the coupons in my binder.  We created a menu plan for the week and made a spreadsheet.  Tonight I will match up sales ads, the menu list and coupons to get the money to go as far as possible.  Then, I’ve gotta do the shopping trip!  I’m trying a new (to me) Walmart so I won’t have to deal with the manager at the old one.  I don’t know if she’s even still there, and it’s a bigger, nicer Walmart that’s closer to home, but it’s just not worth it if she sabotages the whole thing.

We’ll pick up a few last-minute things at HEB right before we cross the ferry into Port A.  I don’t like to get lunch meat or deli cheese at Walmart, so we’ll save that and milk, eggs and bread for HEB.  But hopefully I’ll have the energy and the good luck to have a successful mega couponing trip to Walmart!

On the pregnancy front, I still can’t feel Newt move. 😦  I wish I could.  I know I just got to see him last week, but I’m already needing a fix.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Another Dreamer
    Jul 09, 2013 @ 17:06:36

    Have fun on your trip 🙂 And good luck with the couponing!

    Reply

  2. Ashley
    Jul 09, 2013 @ 17:33:11

    I love the beach, too! My dream vacation is Tahiti! Have a great trip.

    Reply

  3. JustMe
    Jul 11, 2013 @ 22:59:16

    Enjoy your trip to the beach. I just had my own mini “beach” (lake) trip and it was great. Sorry you’re not feeling him move yet. Is your placenta anterior, by any chance? Soon…

    Oh, and I can’t BELIEVE you’re still dealing with the hyperemesis. So, so sorry.

    Reply

  4. Good Timing
    Jul 13, 2013 @ 23:00:49

    Have a great trip! I love the beach, I’m so jealous! 😉 I hope you eel well enough to get out and enjoy yourself. Almost halfway there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

