Week 16, Hyperemesis, and a Visit from Swiper

Tomorrow I will be 16 weeks.  Four months.  Yet it seems like all of this has been going on for at least a year.  But four months sounds so short.  Tomorrow will be the first Tuesday I won’t have to have blood drawn for hormone levels.  No doc appointments this week, either.  I should hear the results of the Harmony test some time this week.  Of course, I wish I could peek in at Newt and make sure all is still ok, but I’m trying to be patient. 

Next week we more than make up for it, though.  Both Troy and I have July 3rd and 4th off at work.  On the 3rd (Wednesday) I have THREE doc appointments!  In the morning I’ll go see the GI doc I saw during my pregnancy with Davie to get some pills to help with the heartburn.  Fortunately it pretty much went away after Davie was born.  Next, I check in with my OB, Dr. Breen.  Then we’ll grab some lunch, then it’s off to Texas Perinatal, otherwise known as the “Black Hole” office.  I don’t know what it is about that place, but I’ve never waited less than an hour, even for a simple blood draw, and I’ve been there almost an entire day before – and I was the first patient of the day! 

The appointment at Texas Perinatal is to follow up on BB’s sac and check Newt’s progress.  They want to be sure BB’s sac doesn’t get any bigger.  At the last appointment, it just looked like a tiny bubble at Newt’s feet, so I don’t think it’ll be too much of a problem down the line.  Dr. Breen was also able to visualize the entire sac, showing that BB and Newt’s sac’s aren’t connected and they aren’t sharing amniotic fluid. 

Of course, Down’s Syndrome is always in the back of my mind.  I’ve read that any odds 1:200 or less is considered positive.  But at the same time, I read that most of the studies done are on patients under 35, and because of changes in hormones, it’s very difficult for a woman over the age of 35 to score in the normal range.  For age 41 (the age at which the embryos were made), the ratio starts at 1:42.  Also, when they factor in the hormone levels, they want the HCG to match the Papp-a (placental hormone) as closely as possible. The bigger the difference between the two, the lower your DS ratio, which is what lowered my ration to 1:37.  Of course, I had HCG levels for a twin pregnancy, but only one growing placenta, so my levels varied greatly.  And lastly, there were no soft markers seen on the first high-risk ultrasound, and the nasal bone was visualized, which are good signs.

It won’t change anything even if Newt does have Down’s Syndrome.  But of course, I do want to be as prepared as possible at birth since DS babies can often have other issues such as heart or intestinal problems that will need to be addressed shortly after birth.  I’m hoping both the Harmony results and the high-risk ultrasound at Texas Perinatal will give us some peace of mind for the rest of the pregnancy.

Lastly, we should be able to see the gender, I think.  I know they usually wait for 20 weeks, but most of the women due in December on the Baby Center boards already know their results or will find out in the next couple of weeks.  I would be fine waiting for the birth, but I promised Troy that if he would let me wait through all of my first pregnancy AND we were ever lucky enough to get pregnant again, that I wouldn’t make him wait the next time.  We should find out on the Harmony test, as well, but I don’t trust it.  Shelley at Tales from the Waiting Room just gave birth three weeks ago to a little girl – and both the MaterniT21 test and all of her ultrasounds confirmed she was having a boy.  They also had a demise twin that they lost around the same gestational age as we lost BB, and they think the MaterniT21 test picked up the twin’s DNA.  So it’ll be nice to ask the genetic counselor at Texas Perinatal to see if the blood test and the ultrasound agree on gender.  If so, I’m hoping she’ll put it in an envelope so we can have a gender reveal get-together with family and all find out at the same time.

I’m still on the highest dose of Zofran on the pump.  But I think maybe things are getting a little better.  Mornings are still hard, but I’ve learned tricks that help me manage getting going most days.  The middle of the day seems to be my strongest time, from about 11am to 4pm.  I’m never nausea-free, but it’s mild enough during that time that I can actually concentrate on other things.  By 5pm, though, it makes a come-back.  By 7pm, I usually have to back up the Zofran with some phenegren.  By 8, I’m usually trying desperately to go to sleep so I don’t have to throw up anymore. 

Jell-O is the main staple of my diet.  I eat mashed or boiled potatoes for lunch.  Occasionally I can eat a bean burrito or mac ‘n cheese, and if I’m feeling really brave, I’ll try chicken nuggets.  I’ve learned not to try to eat after 5pm.  If I do, heartburn will throw acid in my throat until I vomit repeatedly.  I has kept me up until 1 or 2 in the morning before.  It’s hard to tell nausea from hunger, but if I think I’m hungry after 5 I usually just eat Jell-O or a few animal crackers.

Friday was my birthday – I can’t believe I’m 42.  It doesn’t seem possible!  I was so tired after work we just took it easy.  Saturday we took Davie to see Monster’s U.  She’s still a little too young for the movies.  She shoveled in the popcorn, though!  She wanted really badly to sit on the stair next to Troy’s aisle seat, and she stayed there and watched the movie for about 20 minutes.  After that, she curled up in my lap and slept for the rest of the movie.  It was so cute – both Davie and the movie. 🙂

In the afternoon, we went to our friend Melissa’s apartment complex and she went with us to the pool.  Davie LOVED it!  She’s so brave, she loves to hold her nose and jump off the side into Troy’s arms.  She even lets her head go under water!  She is our little fish, for sure. 

Sunday we took Davie to mom’s house and we met up with Melissa again and another couple to see a double feature at the Alamo Drafthouse.  First we saw World War Z.  OMG it rocked!!!  I loved it!  I bit off all my fingernails and didn’t even realize it ’til afterwards!  After that we saw This is the End.  It was funny and silly – a good way to end our apocalypse-at-the-movies double feature. 🙂

Last night Davie stayed with my folks so we sterilized all of her bottles, let them dry, then packed them away.  I’ll get new nipples and use the same bottles for Newt.  I know at 2 years 4 months, Davie is a bit old to still be using bottles.  But she only takes one with milk in it at naptime and one at bedtime.  It’s just so sweet to hold her when she’s sleepy and watch her fall asleep drinking her milk.  Honestly, I just didn’t care that she still liked the bottle.

But now, I’ve grown tired of washing bottles, and I definitely don’t want to be washing them for two babies.  Also, Davie is starting Mother’s Day Out at our church in August, and she won’t be able to have a bottle there.  Lastly, my brother and SIL have stopped giving bottles to my 1 year old niece, Kinley.  She stays with Davie and my mom on Thursdays and Fridays, and it confuses and upsets her when Davie gets a bottle and she doesn’t.  Overall, it just seems like a good time to make the break. 

So pray for us to have an easy transition.  Tonight will be the first night Swiper has “swiped” all our bottles.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stacey
    Jun 24, 2013 @ 15:00:02

    We recently took away the girls bottles in April– I was just so sick of washing them after almost 2 years too! I did the same thing- cleaned them and packed them away when they weren’t around. I told them that all the bottles were “broken”. One night was rough, but after that things were fine. Good luck!

    Reply

  2. JustMe
    Jun 24, 2013 @ 15:29:08

    Wow, you have so much going. First of all, I cannot believe you are still so sick. I’m so, so sorry. Again, I sound like a broken record, but I started feeling better around 16 weeks and was totally normal at 18 weeks. Of course, I NEVER was as sick as you.

    Good luck on the gender and the bloodwork. I also read Shelly’s tale of genderswitch and was shocked! Hopefully that won’t happy to you. It was hard enough for me to have them change their mind after 6 weeks…imagine at birth!!

    Anyhow, I’ll be thinking of you with all of your tests and scans!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jun 24, 2013 @ 16:32:44

      You know, I feel better this week than I did last week, and I’ll take it! And I’m hoping next week is better than this one. I was hoping I’d be off the pump before we go to the beach in three weeks, but I’m realizing that might be a bit optimistic. But any step in the right direction is good for me!

      I think it would’ve been harder for me to see a gender switch with the first pregnancy. But this time, either way is ok with me! I’m fine with waiting ’til the end. But for Troy I really want it to be right, I’m sure deep down he’d love to have a little boy, although he will adore his girl if that’s what Newt is. 🙂

      Mostly, I’d just like some good news on the genetic results!

      Reply

  3. Another Dreamer
    Jun 24, 2013 @ 18:05:04

    A lot going on! Happy belated birthday!

    And good luck weathering the 3 appointment day, WHEW!

    We took away V’s bottles, but he has a sippy that it *basically* a bottle that he still takes before bed. It’s really comforting to him, so I’m loathe to end it. Plus he lays and drinks it while I read him his bedtime stories… I get it, I really do!

    Reply

  4. Stacey
    Jun 24, 2013 @ 23:37:50

    Our almost-three-year-old twins still have bottles, too. Well, actually, easy-going Tadpole switched to a sippy with no problem, and usually barely drinks any milk. If it weren’t for Turtle, she would have stopped a long time ago. Turtle took a sippy for a few days when I told him that the bottles were broken, but after several days he still kept crying about his bottle, so we “found” it again, and he still uses it. And always finishes all his milk, too. I’m dreading giving it up. Tadpole still has her binkies, though, so it’s not like she doesn’t have her vices, too.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jun 25, 2013 @ 14:59:26

      I don’t feel so bad, then. I thought I was being a terrible mom waiting this long. It just didn’t bother me and it made bedtime so much easier!

      Reply

  5. Good Timing
    Jun 27, 2013 @ 14:59:53

    Good grief! In had you’re starting to feel a bit better now. I think?! I bet it seems longer than four months too!
    I’m sending you good luck and praying for good results on your Genetic testing. That is so nerve wracking! I think it’d be nice to know if baby is a boy or girl too! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Stacey
    Jun 27, 2013 @ 23:26:03

    Hi friend. Oh, I’m always so far behind. 😦 Just catching up with you over the past couple of months — so much to say. My heart hurts over the loss of BB while I rejoice with you over your growing little one. Sounds like you’ve been through a lot to get to this point in your pregnancy and I pray it will be as uneventful as possible from here on out! I’ll be keeping up with your progress (promise!) and can’t wait to hear boy or girl. Sweet Davie will be a big sis! That makes me happy, happy! Congrats to you and all the best. Love & hugs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

