First Screen

The genetic counselor at Texas Perinatal called me today with the results of the first screen test. 

It took the odds for my age:  1 in 42, or about 2%; and raised them to 1 in 37, or about 3%.

She said if I had the Harmony (or MaterniT21) test done, and it came back all normal, that would be a great piece of information to have.  It would give us peace of mind.

However, if it comes back positive, we are still in the same position – we don’t know which fetus (or both) the results would have come from.  The only step from there is amniocentesis, which has a 2% risk of miscarriage.

I’m not sure it’s the right decision, but I have decided to call it quits.  No more testing.  I’m not going to have an amnio done and risk losing a perfectly healthy baby that we worked so hard to get.  So what’s the point of risking a positive genetic test?

The nausea and vomiting are still kicking my ass.  It never lets up.  Never.  Ever.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Another Dreamer
    Jun 10, 2013 @ 13:59:54

    I understand wanting to skip the tests- I would too, honestly. Try not to stress it.

    Sorry the nausea is still going strong 😦

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jun 10, 2013 @ 14:13:26

      It’s killin’ me. I miss my family. I miss my kid. My whole life is puking. I know I sound ungrateful but I can’t seem to dig my way out of the misery.

      Reply

  2. JustMe
    Jun 10, 2013 @ 19:36:33

    Have hope about the nausea. Mine started to get better around 14 weeks, then was MUCH better at 16 weeks, and then at 18 weeks I felt human again. It really kicks your ass and takes everything out of you.

    About the testing. Do what feels right. You didn’t want more testing to begin with, so don’t get bullied into it. Definitely hold your own on the amnio. If you don’t feel good about testing, there’s no reason to do a risky, invasive procedure.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

