Alive and Hanging On

In the past two weeks, I’ve lost 14lbs and had to go for IV Zofran and fluids twice.  I’ve now been assigned to Alere Home Health for a Zofran pump.  A nurse came to the house and showed me how to hook the pump up and change the Zofran syringes.  I have to stick myself in the stomach with a needle with a catheter inside it.  Then I click the “wings” on the handle, and it pulls the needle out but leaves the catheter in my stomach.  I change the catheter every time I change the Zofran syringe, about every 12 hours, or twice a day.  It’s not bad but my stomach is getting tender and I’m running out of spots already.

They started me at a low dose but we’ve upped it three times, I think.  I can also request boluses, or an extra boost of Zofran, twice a day.  My worst time starts around 3pm to 4 and lasts until 1 or 2am.  I usually use both of my boluses then (usually one around 4 and one around 8).  Additionally, I have Phenegren I can take at bedtime.  I’m also supposed to go by Walgreens and pick up Bonine, a motion-sickness over-the-counter drug.  Lastly, I’ll see a gastroenterologist next week for reflux.

With all this, I still throw up 2-4 times a day.  I have to weigh myself and check my urine for ketones every morning, then call and report in.  I mostly eat crackers and bread, but when I’m feeling really brave I’ll try boiled potatoes or mac ‘n cheese. 

The nausea and dry heaving is better, though.  If I sit still, I can make it through the day only throwing up twice with no nausea until the evening.  But if I move at all – clean up the house, play with Davie, go to work – the nausea is much worse and I barf more often.  But I can’t afford to spend the next 27 weeks sitting still, so I’m working on dealing with it. 

The pump is a challenge, especially at night and at work.  I’m worried I’ll roll over on the pump or accidentally pull the catheter out of my stomach.  At work, I try to hide it in the pocket of my lab jacket, and so far that has worked pretty well.  A couple of times I have kinked the cord or knocked the syringe askew, which sets the alarm on the pump off and defeats the purpose of hiding it.  It’s a learning process.

Hopefully, this is temporary.  To be honest, I am terrified that all these drugs are bad for Newt.  I feel so guilty being on them.  Please, Lord, let this be temporary.

I sent in bloodwork for Progesterone today.  Hopefully we’ll get back some good levels and I’ll be able to cut down on the Crinone again – especially before I have to buy some more.  Tomorrow is my NT scan/genetic counseling appointment.  Mom is going to go with me.  I’m looking forward to spending the day with her.

Sorry this is so disjointed and rambling.  I feel like I’ve woken from a coma but I’m still scrambling to find my place.  Ugh – I think I have to go throw up.  And I just drank prune juice.  Oh please I don’t want to taste that again.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stacey
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 12:52:58

    Ugh, sounds so awful. I won’t even give you the “it’ll be so worth it” line because you already know that, but seriously? You need a break and I hope you catch one soon. Thinking of you. xo

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jun 04, 2013 @ 14:44:35

      I can’t wait to be a mom again and meet this kid! But oh my gosh, I selfishly wish I could enjoy this pregnancy a little! I know I’m lucky to even be pregnant, so I’m selfish wanting more, but I do!!!

      Reply

  2. katery
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 14:45:59

    Ick, that’s such a bummer Stacey, I’m so sorry 😦 don’t worry about newt, your doctor wouldn’t prescribe you something they felt was dangerous. I took zofran every day for the last six or seven weeks of my pregnancy as well, plus a laundry list of other drugs, it freaked me out too, but louise is healthy as a horse. Hopefully it’s just a first trimester thing and you’ll get some relief soon.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jun 04, 2013 @ 16:53:45

      That’s reassuring! I don’t think I could live with myself if I thought the meds I need to get up in the morning were dangerous to Newt or (heaven-forbid) caused me to lose Newt. I’m hoping I’ll feel reassured after my NT scan tomorrow.

      Reply

  3. Lowfatlady
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 17:54:53

    So sorry you have to deal with this. I find the pump interesting. My boss is going through the same thing and throws up at work on bad days.

    Reply

  4. Another Dreamer
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 18:54:54

    Oh sweetie, I am so sorry to hear how bad this is! I really hope it passes (The sooner the better!) and things calm down physically.

    Reply

  5. Anonymous
    Jun 06, 2013 @ 18:48:03

    OH no oh no. This is terrible. I hope that it starts to get better soon! For me, 16 weeks was a magic number.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

