Week 7 Check-Up

Today is 7w0d.  I forgot to have my blood drawn before my appointment this morning so I don’t have HCG or progesterone numbers.  I did get my blood drawn after the u/s so hopefully I’ll get those back later today or tomorrow.

Troy couldn’t come with me to the appointment so our friend Melissa met me there.  She is training to be an embryologist at Austin IVF, so she was working right next door.  I can go on my own but it was nice to have someone with me in case there was bad news.

Dr. Silverberg started off saying that it’s pretty unusual for a 40+ patient to become pregnant with twins after IVF.  He said his gut feeling was that we would see only one heartbeat today.  (Not what he said last time, but I appreciate that he was encouraging last time but was trying to be gently realistic today.)  Texas Fertility likes to see a heartbeat of at least 110 by 7 weeks.

Baby A measures 7w1d and had a heartrate of 140.  Yay!  (S)he is at the top front of the uterus (towards my stomach, or anterior).

He had a harder time measuring Baby B.  BB is towards the top back side of the uterus (towards my spine, or posterior).  But we heard a clear heartbeat of 119.  Dr. Silverberg kept seeing part of the yolk sac in front of BB, but he measured BB to be 6w4d.  But he clarified that is the smallest BB is – and he thinks if the yolk sac was out of the way or he could get a better pic, BB might be as as big as Baby A.  And, even 6w4d is well within range – they want the fetus to be at least within a week of gestational age.  Any smaller than that they expect a miscarriage.

So, repeat and return in one week.  I do know that we’re not as confident about BB.  Dr. Silverberg ends every appointment on an encouraging but cautious note, and I appreciate that.  When we left today, he gave me a big hug and said, “I think you’re going to prove me wrong!”  meaning, I may make it into those “over-40-but-miraculously-pregnant-with-twins-after-IVF’ statistics after all.

Getting to see two heartbeats today was encouraging.  What am I saying, it was thrilling!  I know we put 4 embryos in.  But I honestly expected to lose them all.  I daydreamed about getting pregnant, but I didn’t believe I would be – especially with more than one.

 BB still measuring behind is concerning.  But growth and a heartrate of 119 is encouraging.  I guess the two balance out.  I feel calmer and more at peace.  More than ever I have confidence that God is in control.  If He wants BB to join us in this life, then (s)he will.  If not, He will call BB home to be with Him.  Either way, I’m grateful for the time I’ve had with BB and am hopeful it is God’s plan that (s)he comes and joins us in nine months.

And I’m so happy to see Newt (Baby A) right on target!  Estimated due date is 12/12.  I’m at least vaguely nauseous all the time now.  It’s disconcertingly comforting, if that makes sense.

Edit to Add:  HCG 16,729, Progesterone 13.  From here on, we’ll only check the progesterone and estradiol.  So happy to be off the HCG rollercoaster.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Another Dreamer
    Apr 23, 2013 @ 16:30:15

    That is great news! I am hoping so much that things continuing going well.

    Reply

  2. Myndi
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 14:15:39

    Ok, so I commented on your last entry before I realized I had one left to be truly caught up and now I’m even MORE excited! I know everything is really tenuous right now and I remember how stressful that is, but I have high hopes for you and those little babies. 😀

    Reply

  3. iamstacey
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 15:32:56

    I saw your comments and I thought “Yaaaay! Tenatiously TTC updates!” but noooo new news yet. 😉 I’m so glad you stopped by and I love hearing about your sweet babies!

    Reply

  4. katery
    Apr 26, 2013 @ 15:30:24

    i hope for you that baby b makes it but louise had a twin too, she was baby a and baby b didn’t make it, but you know, we were okay with that, it just wasn’t strong enough and that’s okay. hoping your a and b are both strong! and girl, if you want a coke, DRINK ONE. it’s not going to hurt the babies, i promise.

    Reply

  5. Good Timing
    Apr 27, 2013 @ 10:10:54

    YAY!! Such great news. 🙂 best I’ve heard all week. And I have a good feeling about BB! Keep on growing babies! And woohoo for no more
    HCG bloodwork!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

