The Most Terrifying Moment in Parenthood So Far

It’s 3:30 in the morning.  I’m fast asleep, one arm hanging over the side of the bed.  From somewhere in the depths of my dream, I hear a soft “Mommy.”  I’m dreaming about zombies (new rule – no more watching The Walking Dead right before bed).  Why would a zombie be calling me mommy?  Never mind, keep running, that zombie is going to bite your ankle.

“Mommy.  Mommy.”  Soft and persistent.

Suddenly my eyes fly open, staring straight into TWO GIANT EYES, ALMOST TOUCHING MINE!  ZOMG!!!

Fortunately I managed to swallow a scream and scoop Davie up into bed with us.  I guess we’re in the new stage where she just gets herself up out of bed if she wants to!  We’ve always kept a baby monitor on, and she would wimper or call for us from her room, but this time she didn’t make a sound until her nose was touching mine!  A new era of parenthood, I guess.  Should be interesting.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sangela71
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 14:25:58

    I am behind on my blog reading, so I just found out that you are pregnant! With twins!! Congratulations!

    I don’t look forward to the day when our sons can get out of bed on their own. Maybe I can just keep them in their cribs until kindergarten? LOL

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Apr 15, 2013 @ 11:35:06

      Hello, my friend! It’s so funny to hear you say congrats, you’re pregnant with twins! I have the urge to look behind me and look for a pregnant woman. Honestly, I still feel exactly the same as I did the day of the transfer. Hopeful but realistic. In a holding pattern. Waiting to see what will happen. But thank you!

      I’m so sorry to hear about your recent loss. I was so, so happy and shocked when you posted your positive. You were the mythical dream come true, the naturally pregnant infertile. I know the pain, although it’s never exactly the same, it’s different for each of us but heartbreaking beyond description. It breaks my heart and I absolutely understand the need to step away for a while.

      Reply

  2. Another Dreamer
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 18:11:11

    Yikes. I dread that stage, honest. I mean it’s great that they grow more independent, but it’s hard and there’s so much more to worry about!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Apr 15, 2013 @ 11:36:32

      Oh, the worry just changes shape, doesn’t it? 🙂 Oh my goodness, my little girly girl is covered in bruises from tumbling around with my nephews. I still catch her eating paper. Who knows what’s next? 😉

      Reply

  3. Amber
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 21:14:25

    So funny you blogged about this because I am sooo easily scared and this is a huge fear of mine because paisley can get out of her bed now. I am afraid I won’t be so composed when it happens to me!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

