Back Pain

Yesterday we took Davie to JC Penney’s for her 2 yr old photos.  We also need a family pic to go with our adoption profile, so you know, two birds.  Davie slept great Friday night and woke up easy Saturday morning, but for some reason within an hour of waking up she was in a HORRIBLE mood.  We did not have much hope the photo session would go well, so I called Mom and asked her to say a prayer for us.  She went above and beyond – she showed up to help us!  She was a miracle worker!  It took some work, but we made it thru the session.

By the time it was over, I had an intense burning sensation in my back on the left side.  I’ve had some weird sensations going on the left side, usually in the lower front.  This was the first time my back really gave me trouble.  I thought either it was a harbinger of things I don’t want to happen – either a UTI or even worse.  So I gave the after-hours staff a call at Texas Fertility, and they were immediately as sweet as ever.  They encouraged me to come right away.  I got a lab slip to take a urine specimen to the lab, and then they decided to do an early sonogram just to check things out.

I knew it was unlikely that if it’s an ectopic that I would be feeling symptoms yet.  Dr. Berger confirmed that usually an ectopic can’t be felt until 7 or 8 weeks.  But she still felt it was worth checking out, so bottoms off and feet up in the stirrups.  I saw it immediately … two dark spots in a sea of white static.

One measured closely on target at 5w3d (I was 5w4d yesterday), and the other is lagging at 5w0d.  Both had a yolk sac and are positioned high in the uterus.  We couldn’t see a fetal pole or anything else but it’s really early and I’m heavy so it’s hard to get a good look even under the best circumstances.  Dr. Berger felt the larger one looked really promising and strong, but she didn’t feel hopeful for the smaller one, even though it has a yolk sac.

So, that’s two embryos accounted for.  We’ll keep praying, keep focusing our eyes on the One in Control.  Hopefully the back pain was just an oddity and will pass.  I will get the results of the urinalysis today so we can either treat that or rule it out.  As far as an ectopic, we’ll just have to wait and see.

And keep praying that it is His will that both little ones will come join us in this life.  Please grow, grow, grow.  We’ll see them again on Tuesday when we have our “official” six-week ultrasound.  Hoping for two fetal poles and two beautiful heartbeats.

 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hope
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 08:04:03

    Even though you said your ultrasound was on Tuesday, I’ve been checking everyday hoping to see a post with good news! Yay for 2 sacs! Let me just say that for me being pregnant at 39/40 has been SOO much harder than it was at 37. I’ve had every symptom in the book including back pain and they started early, before we saw the heartbeat on ultrasound. I didn’t have any symptoms the first time around so it’s been quite the shock. I don’t say this to scare you, it’s still worth it (of course). I can’t remember what, if any symptoms you had with Davie, but apparantly every pregnancy IS totally different. Praying for you that they stick!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Apr 14, 2013 @ 09:22:13

      Hi, Hope! Thank you so much for the reassurance. The feelings on the left side feel a lot like the stretchy round ligament discomfort I felt later in my pregnancy with Davie. It’s far too soon for that, though! But if we get to pick a different set of symptoms with each pregnancy, I pick NO NAUSEA this time!! 🙂
      Of course, we’re hoping and praying that both will stay with us. It’s taking a lot of prayer, but we’re chosing to be hopeful and happy and wait to see what God’s plan is for us! (But secretly, I can’t WAIT ’til we get to 14 weeks and can tell everyone! 🙂 I don’t know why, but that’s my mental safety zone!)

      Reply

  2. katery
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 17:23:29

    holy crap!!!! that’s so exciting!!! congrats, i’ll keep my finger crossed for you ❤
    xoxo

    Reply

  3. Another Dreamer
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 18:10:17

    Sorry about the back pain and possible UTI. I’m glad one of them is right on track, and I hope so much they both are. At this point they can still measure off by up to a week, it’s sooo early, so I think there’s still hope! Keeping you in my thoughts!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Apr 15, 2013 @ 11:40:38

      I’m really hoping the one that’s lagging behind just implated later. They say it can be behind as long as it’s consistently growing from week to week. If the lag gets greater and growth slows, that’s the bad sign. So we’ll know more after Tuesday. I keep sending lots of encouraging thoughts to my uterus! 😉

      Reply

  4. Anonymous
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 21:08:39

    Oh, I am so,bad at commenting but I have been reading. I am praying so, so hard for you. Im so glad and I will go to sleep tonight hoping for those babies to snuggle in. Love to you. Yay!!!!!,

    Reply

Leave a Reply

