Home Study

Our Home Study is done!!  Our case manager, Rebecca, arrived at 9:30 this morning to interview us.  It was so nice to talk with her.  It felt relaxed and natural.  We were each able to talk freely about our hopes from the program (adoption, of course!) as well as our fears (losing a baby we’ve come to love).  She asked us each about our childhoods, how we met, how our marriage has progressed, our path to parenthood, and our plans and hopes for the future.  We talked about parenting and discipline styles, strengths and weaknesses in our marriage, and our extended family and support system.  After that, we walked around the house and she asked to see where the foster child would stay (we have a crib in our bedroom and a spare room), took a peek in our medicine cabinet, and checked out our pantry and laundry room.  That was it! 

Next Rebecca will write up our biographies and our home study interview into a family profile.  It’ll take her about two weeks to get it done.  This weekend we have Davie’s two-year pictures scheduled, and we’ll throw in a family pic while we’re there.  I’ll use the family pic to finish our family collage photo (I’ve been trying to do one on Shutterfly but it’s not cooperating), and Rebecca will add that to our profile.  Then we’ll officially be on the waiting list!

I’m just so excited.  This is a big year for us, a year of change and growth.  I just feel so at peace.  I feel close to God.  I know there are no guarantees, but I am choosing not to let the fears win.  It’s a constant effort to stay in this place, but it’s worth it.  I’m so full of love for my husband and my daughter, and for the child(ren?) who will join our family.  I can’t wait to see how He will work in our lives, how the next member of our family will come to join us.  I feel blessed.

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Another Dreamer
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 21:09:22

    I’m so glad it went well! I am very excited for you all 🙂

    Reply

  2. Good Timing
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 22:34:41

    You are going to end up with a house full of babies! 🙂

    Reply

  3. iamstacey
    Apr 10, 2013 @ 11:58:01

    lol we might! that would be wonderful! It’s exciting to see what’s next for us!

    Reply

  4. Aisha
    Apr 10, 2013 @ 21:26:00

    Oh Stacey!!! I’ve missed so much!!! Got tears in my eyes for you and holding you in my heart and praying for good things to come!! xoxoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

