January Check-In

Oh my goodness, how did three weeks go by so fast? I can’t believe I left my blog on that stupid diarrhea post. Glad that’s over with, though.

Troy and I were both off on New Year’s and we spent the day putting away Christmas decorations and scrubbing the house. It felt so good to have everything clean! Until I sat down in the living room last night and realized I missed the living room fan. Even though it’s kinda hard to miss with all those cobwebs trailing around and around behind the blades.

Our foster-to-adopt application has been submitted! I finally got everything emailed in on Monday. The application was so huge I had to break it up into three emails! And then … *crickets.* Absolutely nothing. I even sent a follow-up email asking if they’d gotten everything ok and if they needed any more information, and I haven’t gotten one response. I’m hoping it’s just that someone is on vacation, or they’re really busy.

Last week they did send out a group email letting us know when their PRIDE training classes begin. I’m not sure what PRIDE stands for, but I think the classes are all about fostering, raising foster and adopted children, safety, etc. It’s every Monday night from 6-9pm for 5 weeks starting the beginning of Febuary, and one Saturday class towards the end from 9am to 5pm. Hopefully we’ll hear something back before the first class! I’m sure if I don’t hear anything this weekend I’ll call on Monday.

We’re still waiting on United insurance to finish paying for last year’s IVF treatments. As soon as that is done, I’m ready for the next FET! I will probably give it ’til Feb., then if it’s not paid we’ll probably pay for it ourselves so we can move on with the FET, and wait for United to reimburse us. It blows, though, because it will take almost all we have saved for the FET to pay off what United still owes from last year.

I’ve had two upper molars, one on each side, that have been aching for a while. I HATE going to the dentist, though, so I’ve been trying to ignore it. I finally gave in and went last week, and found out that I have a cavity between my teeth on one side, and need a root canal on the other. Last Tuesday I went in for sedation dental surgery. I ended up being there for SEVEN hours – they even had to sedate me twice, it took so long!

They put in two fillings where the cavity was between my teeth, and they found one other small cavity on that side that they fixed. Fortunately all my teeth on the bottom are ok. I’m super bummed, though, that they didn’t get the root canal finished. It’s all done except I have to go back and have the tooth filed down and fitted for a crown. Then they’ll put on a temporary crown until a permanent one comes in.

The doc recommended that I get a gold or white gold (silver) permanent crown. He said the porcelain ones aren’t strong enough to withstand the biting forces on the back teeth (it’s my farthest back one on the right), and they often end up cracking and will cost another $500 to replace. So I picked white gold (silver), but OMG I hope it doesn’t show! It makes me feel so … gangsta. I might as well get some teardrop facial tattoos and start doing crack. Gaaa.

Davie Ann is talking so much now! I swear every day she learns a new word or phrase. I’m so fastinated by her. I love being able to communicate with her – it reveals more about her amazing personality every day! I am so lucky.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MrsBushey
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 18:19:39

    John is talking a lot now to and it’s so amazing isn’t it! I love that I can ask him “want an apple” and he will say yes or no. They are turning into real little people, lol.

    Reply

  2. Kari
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 20:58:21

    Ick I hate the dentist too. Sorry you have to go back. Good to hear from you!!

    Reply

  3. Another Dreamer
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 21:45:43

    I hate dentists too. I hate the cost of fillings and root canals even more. Ugh.

    I hope you hear back about your application soon, and that the reimbursement hurries up and goes through!

    Reply

  4. katery
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 23:24:37

    i haaaate the dentist, i don’t even want to tell you how long it’s been since i’ve gone.

    Reply

  5. Myndi
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 13:00:03

    Yup, I hate the dentist, too. I take such good care of my teeth, and yet I always need something done. And insurance doesn’t ever cover enough of it, and the whole thing just makes me sick to my stomach.

    Thank you for the post you put up on my site around Christmas. Nice to know I haven’t been forgotten even though I sort of disappeared. It goes both ways. I think of all my IF buddies all the time and wonder what’s going on and time just slips through my fingers. But I’m trying to catch up and start writing again. And I’m crossing my fingers for you on your future cycle. Take Care!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

