IVF Update

I’m still waiting for the results of today’s HCG.  I did an HPT this morning and it was still faintly positive, so that pretty much told me nothing!  Or that nothing has really changed, anyways.  The IVF on-call nurse Pam said that in all her years at Texas Fertility, she’d only seen one HCG of 8 turn into a viable pregnancy.

I did do two things that felt encouraging and pro-active.  I wrote my IVF nurse Jamie and asked her about what Dr. Silverberg would recommend we do next.  We have one embryo on ice, but I wouldn’t want to pay for an FET out-of-pocket for just one embryo when we still have an egg retrieval left that insurance will pay for.  So I asked her if Silverberg would rather us go forward with our last IVF immediately, or would he rather we wait ’til next March?  If we wait ’til March, we’ll have the money saved up to pay for the embryo transfer up front (without using credit cards), and it’ll give me the chance to lose as much weight as possible.  Jamie took the email to him and came back with an answer this morning:  he would rather we went forward with a fresh cycle immediately.  It helps to have a plan, a direction to go in.

Next, I called Michelle at Austin IVF to go over prices.  Insurance will pay for the egg retrieval, but we will have to pay for the embryo transfer out-of-pocket.  It turns out, it’s not going to be as crazy as we thought!  The cost we’ll pay will be:  to Texas Fertility (Dr. Silverberg) $510, to Austin IVF (embryology lab) we’ll pay $220, and for use of the operating suite at St. David’s Women’s surgical center, we’ll pay $620.  That comes to a total of $1, 350.  Far more manageable than I thought it would be! 

We have to pay Austin IVF up front and be re-imbursed later.  Their cost is about $5200, and we have $3000 to put towards that.  They’ve offered to go ahead and bill insurance for the rest, and will refund us the $3000 after they get their full re-imbursement.  So eventually, even after we pay the $1,350, we’ll still come out ahead!

Lots of good news to cheer me up! 🙂  And, we’re in a similar situation to how we got Davie – we had our first IVF, got pregnant but miscarried almost immediately, then got pregnant on the very next try (an IUI)!  So maybe we can re-create the same events and lightning will strike twice.

I did do one more thing – I RVSP’d to the Resolve General Infertility support group meeting  this Thursday.  I’m hoping Mom and Troy won’t mind watching Davie so I can go.  I think it will help to surround myself with some sisters, ya know?

So … still waiting.  I’ve got the hymn, “Tis So Sweet to Trust in Jesus” stuck in my head.  “Jesus, Jesus, how I trust thee;  How I’ve proved Him over and over;  ‘Tis so sweet to trust in Jesus;  Oh, for grace to trust Him more.”  Lord, please send me more grace!  I’m sorry my faith is so weak.

 

Edited to add:  My HCG came back at exactly 7 again.  Dr. Silverberg felt it was highly unlikely it would be exactly the same number twice, so he has asked the lab to repeat the test.  In any case, it didn’t go any higher, so I think it’s ok to let go of hope.  For now they want me to continue the meds and repeat the HCG in a few days.  Hopefully (there’s “hope” again :() the HCG will be back to zero before my next cycle so we can start the next round of IVF.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. S
    May 08, 2012 @ 16:19:47

    Wow, I’m behind on my blog reading; didn’t even realize you were cycling. I’m so sorry your cycle didn’t work. 😦

    It sounds like you have a good plan in place. Yea!

    Reply

  2. katery
    May 08, 2012 @ 16:24:54

    i’m sorry to hear your hcg came back so low, maybe the lab messed up? either way i’m glad you will be doing another round right away, who wants to wait for a whole year???

    Reply

  3. Kari
    May 08, 2012 @ 18:14:32

    Sorry. 😦 Hoping you 0 out quickly so you can cycle again ASAP.

    Reply

  4. Another Dreamer
    May 08, 2012 @ 19:02:46

    Sorry for the inconclusive test results and how bad it looks. Thinking of you hun.

    Reply

  5. Pie
    May 08, 2012 @ 19:30:48

    I’m sorry for another 7, that it’s not higher, that it’s not moving.

    Glad you have new direction, and hooray for it costing less than you thought. Hoping to see a Davie repeat soon!

    Reply

  6. Sweet Georgia
    May 08, 2012 @ 20:42:54

    I’m so sorry that you didn’t receive better news. Thinking of you.

    Reply

  7. Good Timing
    May 10, 2012 @ 10:00:01

    Ugh. Beta hell! I think we’ve all been there. 😦 I’m sorry to hear the results came back the same. 😦 Good news about the ivf costs and I’m glad you have a plan, that always makes me feel better!

    Reply

  8. Ashley
    May 10, 2012 @ 10:59:03

    I’m so sorry. 😦

    Reply

  9. iamstacey
    May 11, 2012 @ 14:32:27

    Thanks, everybody. Y’all are so sweet to send some love! It’s been tough, but I’m working through the worst of it. I know this weekend full of family time and Davie love will help tremendously!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

