IVF Run-Down

On Sunday April 22nd I had the egg retrieval.   It broke down like this:

We got 19 eggs

18 were mature and ICSI was done on all 18

16 fertilized

The egg retrieval wasn’t bad.  I had some nausea and aching for the rest of that day and the next day, but fortunately I had taken Monday off so I was able to rest all day. 

We had a 3 day transfer on Wednesday, April 25th.  At the time we had 6 8-cell, grade 2 embryos (minor fragmentation) and 8 embryos of lesser grades and cell numbers.  As I was taken in for the transfer, there were five clear front-runners, and I lobbied HARD to have all five put in.  There I was, spread-eagled on the bed, putting out all my best arguments:  I’m just a month away from 41, this is our last embryo transfer that is paid for by insurance and we may not be able to afford another one, etc.  But Dr. Silverberg held strong to the SART guidelines, which state that four embryos are the max if I’m under 41, so that one month cost me the battle, and four were transferred in. 

The fifth embryo made it to freeze, so now we’re just patiently cruising through the two week wait. 

HAH!  You know I’m totally lying.  But – I have to admit, so far I haven’t been quite as obsessed as last time, although I did lie awake until 3 in the morning the night after the transfer.  I just couldn’t stop hoping and planning and praying!  And cruising Google for ‘IVF success stories over 40. ‘

 w a  i   t    i     n     g         S        U         C          K           S!!!!

Mother-in-law Marilyn came and stayed with us during the egg retrieval and kept Davie.  My folks had a wedding out of town they’d been looking forward to for a long time.  (My parents were missionaries for 17 years and I grew up mostly in Asia.  The young woman getting married was a baby when we were kids, and my parents were so happy to have this opportunity to reconnect with wonderful old friends!)  Marilyn and Davie had a great time together!  I’m so glad Marilyn was here – the night before our egg retrieval, our giant freezer in the garage went out!  After the retrieval, they put me to bed (yay, Valium!) and went out and found a great sale on freezers at Lowe’s.  It was Earth Day, so they got 10% off for getting an energy-efficient freezer, and since the model they wanted was out-of-stock, they got another 20% off for buying the floor model.  Free delivery AND free carting-away-of-the-carcass of the old one, too!  Yay  We laid around the rest of the weekend and watched We Bought a Zoo, Chronicle and War Horse.  They’re mostly hazy to me, I slept a lot. 

Last weekend Mom and I made a couponing trip to Target.  I got $250 worth of groceries for $140, and mom got $125 worth of groceries for $61!  She cut her bill by half!  I found some great freebies, too – we got 17 bottles of salad dressing at Randall’s free (split between three families – and we’re from Texas, so Ranch goes fast, y’all), 6 bottles of Frank’s Buffalo Wings hot sauce and 2 packages of Carefree panty liners free at Dollar General (and I got 7 boxes of Gain dryer sheets for $0.47 each), and 7 Reach dental floss free from Walgreens.  Woot!

I’ve been voraciously wolfing down the Hunger Games novels.  I’m in the middle of the last one now.  Although I’m not as consumed with them as I was the Harry Potter or the Twilight series, I’m really enjoying them!  Troy and I had a date night last night and went to see the movie.  I have to say, they did a really good job of depicting the book! 

BUT …… SPOILERS!!!….

I really feel it should’ve been an ‘R’ rated movie to really bring out the impact of the book.  Trying to make it a PG-13 movie really lessens the horror of forcing children to kill each other in gruesome ways.  I did appreciate that the movie cut out some of parts of the book that drag, namely when Katniss was going through her freak-out, wishy-washy or wussy phases.  She does a lot of that in the 2nd and 3rd books, and I hope they cut it out of those movies, too.  Lastly, I think they left out a MAJOR plot point by not having the muttations at the end be made up of the dead children, like in the book.  If anything was going to incide a nation to revolt, I would think the fact that they’re not only making them give up their children to fight to the death, but they’re also mutilating and reanimating their dead bodies!

Ok, that’s waaaaay too much thought put into a children’s book.  I should really read something for grown-ups next.  I think I just managed to move one obsession to another!  So much for being mature and, well, sane this time ’round the ‘ol IVF block.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kari
    May 01, 2012 @ 15:47:14

    Great numbers!! I wish you luck!! Sending lots of baby dust and sticky vibes your way!! And the power to make it through your 2ww’s. I’m in the midst of first trimester u/s 2ww’s and it does SUCK…I hear ya on that. Hunger Games helped get me through some of the earlier 2ww too. Haven’t seen the movie yet. I didn’t think they held a candle to Twilight though. I keep saying I have to read Harry Potter but always forget at the library and end up with something else.

    Reply

  2. katery
    May 01, 2012 @ 17:36:24

    haha, i learned about ranch dressing from one of my very good friends who just so happens to be from texas! of course, now i am totally addicted to it 🙂
    good luck, it sounds like the retrieval went really well! did you say only one out of all those embies made it to freeze? that’s a little surprising but you’re not going to need them anyway as i’m SURE this transfer is going to work!!

    Reply

  3. Ashley
    May 02, 2012 @ 11:25:14

    Good luck! Yowza, 4 is a lot of embryos, I hope one or two sticks! When is your beta? Will you pee on a stick first?

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      May 03, 2012 @ 14:18:29

      I thought I could be strong but I’ll probably be peeing on stick any day now! Beta is Sunday but I’ll probably just wait ’til Monday morning.

      Reply

  4. Pie
    May 02, 2012 @ 19:46:48

    Sending many good wishes for a fast 2ww, and for 2 lines of course!! Will you POAS at some point or just wait for beta?

    And you don’t cycle like a almost 41 year old! Great numbers!

    Reply

  5. Good Timing
    May 03, 2012 @ 12:57:18

    Wishing you loads of luck!! When is your beta? I hope thse embies are burrowing in, well at least one! 🙂 I loved The Hunger Games too! I thought they dd a good job of the movie, but IMHO the books are always better aren’t they?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

