Happy New Year!

Happy New Year, everyone!

Christmas with Troy’s family was wonderful!  They spoiled baby girl rotten. 

Guess whose stocking is in the middle?

 
Davie and Gramma
 

Check out my new wheels!

 
Davie LOVES her new walker.  She’s not walking freely yet but she goes everywhere with her walker!  She can even get un-stuck if she walks it into a corner.  She has taken a few random steps on her own but not more than three in a row and she did that only once.
 

Check out all the bells and whistles on this baby

We were able to meet with Troy’s childhood friend Ben and his wife at Ben’s mom’s house.  Ben and Julie have a six-month old baby girl, Charlie, that they had after IVF, too.
 
 
Davie is eating great!  She ate turkey, stuffing, green beans, a roll, mashed potatoes (her fav!), pasta salad and baked mac ‘n cheese.  Then she ate again when we got home!

My party animal

 
Her hair is getting longer!  She won’t leave bows on anymore.
 

there's some wild bed head goin' on there!

 
After playing with all her new toys, she needed a nap bad!  But all the beds are really high in the house (we were staying out in a camper trailer and her pack ‘n play was out there) so we covered the dogs’ bed with a quilt and put her down for a nap.  She fit perfectly!  And in my defense, Marilyn (MIL) has an industrial size washer and dryer and I had just washed the dog bed and taken it out of the dryer.

hopefully she'll never find out

 Sunday we had to head home ’cause Troy had to work Monday.

Monkey is Awesome!

 

Finally asleep ... moments from home

 
 
 Monday night we had Christmas with my family in Austin.  Chris, JoAnn, Cayle and Andon all came over and Mom & Dad stayed with us.  We had chili and opened presents.  We gave Andon 10 vintage military matchbox vehicles we found on Craigslist that were still in the package from 1986.  He LOVED them!  Military matchbox are his favorite, and it was neat to find models that they don’t even make anymore.  Troy bought Cayle his first Swiss Army knife.  For Davie we got a car riding/push toy, a dragon toy that she can drop balls into, a V-tech kitty that rolls on tile and “talks” to encourage babies to chase after it.  Troy also bought her a Vermont teddy bear with a bib that says “Davie Ann’s First Christmas.”  Davie discovered Troy’s white elephant gift from my work Christmas party:
 
 

We start 'em early in Texas 😉

 
The next day Mom, Davie and I caught some after-Christmas sales.  I just love a great sale on clothes for baby girl!  She’s 10 months but her 12-month size pajamas are tight between her shoulders and toes, so I stocked up on some 18-month size pj’s.  She’s just so long and her toes end up poking out of the feet!
 

mmmm, pretzels

 For the rest of the week, Davie, Cayle and Andon went home with Mom & Dad.  They went to the Children’s Museum in Waco and spent the rest of the time building forts in the living room and playing war.  Davie was even promoted to sargent – Sargeant Baby Cakes!  All went well until an unfortunate incident where she stole all of Andon’s bullets and shot him in the leg.  Apparently the army needs to work on it’s teamwork skills.

moments before the mutiny

At the museum with PopPop:
 

I'm jealous! I wanna go to the children's museum!

 
All tuckered out after all the excitement:
 

Such an angel when she's sleeping

 
Davie turned 10 months today!  
 

Ten Months Today!

 She has so much personality now!  She’s so funny.  And soooo cranky when she gets tired (just like mommy!).  She took her first steps two days ago, three in a row away from Nana (Nana was going to take her car keys away from her ;).  When she sees us coming to take something away that she wants to keep, she stuffs it in her mouth and starts crawling at light speed away from us (always a pain when it’s toilet paper … it’s almost impossible to get it all out of her mouth).  She’s trying to talk now, too.  She says “Pah” for PopPop, “bah” for ball, “bahbahbah” for bottle, Dadada, Mamama and Nana.  She says ‘haaaay” for hi, which always amuses people in the grocery store.  I swear, it’s impossible to shop fast with her, everyone wants to stop and say hi to her!  She continues to be such a little helper.  Helping with the laundry and the cooking are her favorite!

 

Once we get it all out we'll know what to cook

 

Gotta get that last sock

 
 
Saturday afternoon we took her to her first movie, Sherlock Holmes 2.  Aaaand, now we know she can’t sit through a movie yet.  Mom mostly played with her in the lobby while Dad, Troy and I took turns relieving her and watching the movie.  I have to admit, I really didn’t get into the first one, but I really enjoyed this one.  I guess I need to go back and watch the first. 
 

Not sure she's into the whole movie thing

Sunday we went to church with my folks.  Today I was off but Troy had to go back to work.  In the evening I left Baby Girl with my folks and headed back home to Austin.  Mom will bring her home Thursday and we’ll keep the boys Thursday night.  I know it’s only two days, but I can’t wait for Thursday!  We have some shirts for the boys that didn’t make it here in time for Christmas.  They’re MouthMan shirts, one is a shark for Cayle and a dragon for Andon.  I hope they like them!
 
I can’t believe Davie girl is just two months away from her first birthday!  We’re going to get her picture taken in a dress I had my first birthday taken in!  I think we’re also going to do pics of her in a tutu eating a cupcake.  Should be a nice mess for the photographer (and us!).  I found another dress on etsy that I’d LOVE to get for her 18 month pics.  It’s just so princess-y and adorable!
 

I want this dress!

 

Have a Happy New Year, everyone!
11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aisha
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 23:06:29

    Happy New Year Stacey! The pictures are so sweet! She is getting so big now!!!!!!

    Reply

  2. Katie
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 23:20:19

    Sounds like you are a great holiday! I can’t believe how grown up Davie is getting!

    Reply

  3. mkwewer
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 09:41:38

    We have the same walker and Zoey loves it! I would also highly recommend the Dino walker that converts to a sit on riding tike…she’s in love with that too. Happy New Year!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jan 04, 2012 @ 16:26:46

      I’m so glad you stopped by! Hope you all had a great holiday! I think Davie will be into the riding toys next, so I’m glad you sent the suggestion! We want to get her one soon. I can’t believe my baby is almost a toddler!

      Reply

  4. Hope
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 06:43:30

    I just said that about the grocery store! Every grandma in the store wants to stop and talk to her. I feel so rude but if I stop to talk to everyone we’ll never get out of there. I’ve started going “say hi” and then we just keep walking – ha!

    Reply

  5. Another Dreamer
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 22:29:28

    Sounds like it was a great holiday all around for you 🙂 I hope you get that dress, it’s beautiful!

    Reply

  6. Andrea
    Jan 16, 2012 @ 17:51:35

    So happy you had a wonderful 1st Christmas with your baby girl. We did too! So very glad both our dreams came true. It was a rough road but we made it. Take care.

    Reply

  7. Stacey
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 18:24:22

    Happy New Year to you too! So glad you had a wonderful Christmas with your sweet girl! (HOW is she already 10 months?!?) She’s so adorable.

    I’m so sorry for all the hard times that the end of last year brought for you, but hoping that 2012 will be much, much brighter.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

