December

Davie’s first Christmas is almost here!  It’s been a busy month!  We have all her presents bought, but I still need to get a couple more things for my SIL’s and nephews.  Usually I’m one of those early shoppers, but here I am rushing to get it all in before next week!  Yeah, NEXT week!

Poor Baby Girl has had an ear infection, her first one.  We took her to a different pediatrician here in town (we were taking her to one closer to my office).  I LOVE the new doctor!  I do feel a bit guilty for making the change, but I’m so much happier with the new office and doc.  Davie is taking an antibiotic (her first prescription!) and acetaminophen.  Nights are rough, she gets all mucousy and wakes up choking and coughing. 😦  It helps if we let her sleep on our chests so she’s elevated.  My poor baby, I wish I could just help her blow her nose.

But other than the mucousy nights, we’re all doing great!  We had family pics taken the other weekend, and they went great!  I was hoping Troy’s family could be in the pics, too, but his folks are having a lot of medical problems and traveling isn’t easy for them.  We’re planning to do her one year pics in Midlothian (where they live, close to Dallas), so I’m hoping everyone will be able to be in them.  I’d love to have a generational photo with Troy, his mom and Davie Ann.

We’ve been really enjoying our Sunday School class and church!  I’m so excited we’re getting to know everyone better.  The Christmas party was a lot of fun.  Even Troy had a great time and he’s shy in new places and around new people.  We went to my work party, too.  It was good to catch up with all the people who work at other offices that I’ve worked with in the past.  We did a gift exchange, and I got a lump of coal!  Literally!  Someone in my office is a smartass, is all I’m sayin.’ 😉

This Thursday Troy and I will go to my folks and spend the night (they’re half-way between Austin and my in-laws).  Friday we’ll head on up to the the inlaws’ and spend a few days there.  I can’t wait for them to see how much Davie has grown!  Sunday we’ll have Christmas morning with Troy’s family, then we’ll leave late afternoon and head home (Troy has to work Monday).  We’ll meet up with my family and have a little Christmas of our own at home.  Then I’m off  ’til Wednesday!  I’m going to soak up tons of Baby Girl time! 🙂

I’m still struggling with those last BFN’s.  I’m trying to move past it but I’m just so sad they all died.  I miss Lila so much.  It’s hard, but it’s getting better.  I want to lose some weight before we try again.  We could try right away in January, but I think I want to wait until after Davie’s first birthday in March.  It just seems right.  And it feels good to have a plan.  Get some weight off, enjoy Baby Girl, celebrate her first Christmas and birthday, then look to trying again.  In church on Sunday there was a couple a few rows in front of us who had an infant baby girl they recently adopted.  My heart just longed to experience new life again!  The desire and longing have only grown.  I think about embryo adoption a lot, it seems more like the right choice every day.

I know God has a plan for us.  And I know He wants us to have peace and joy.  I just keep praying that the two align!  It’s always the waiting and hoping that’s the hardest. 

I hope everyone’s holidays are wonderful!  Merry Christmas!

We coordinated outfits! Yay!

 

butt ... is ... so ... cold ...

 
(the snow is from a snow machine.  it’s still in the 60’s-70’s here :))
 

Bro Chris, SIL JoAnn, Cayle, Andon, me & Troy & Davie, Mom & Dad

 
 
 

just too much cuteness!

 
10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christy
    Dec 18, 2011 @ 20:27:07

    So good to get an update from you. I like that you have a plan, too! 🙂 I cannot BELIEVE how big your sweet little girl is getting. She is super tall!!!!! I can’t wait to see and hear about her opening all her amazing gifts.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Dec 20, 2011 @ 17:54:34

      I finally followed your advice and made my first Shutterfly book! 🙂 It took me forever but it turned out great! Next time I’ll know what to do and I think it’ll go faster.
      Thinking of you, hope your holidays are wonderful!

      Reply

  2. katery
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 14:33:40

    great to hear from you! davie is so cute! merry christmas 🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Dec 20, 2011 @ 14:53:24

      I’m so glad things are getting better and you’re finally feeling a little better! Bless your heart, it’s been a hard road for you lately. I LOVE Christmas, too! Giving presents is my favorite thing! I just wish we had more so we could give tons more!!

      Reply

  3. Hope
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 22:09:39

    Your hair looks great in those pictures! I feel like I have bad hair all the time now – ha! I was looking at Quinn’s baby pictures the other day and I too am ready to have a new tiny life. That time goes so quick. Merry Christmas!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Dec 20, 2011 @ 14:45:59

      It’s so good to hear from you! I’ve been wondering how you all were doing. It’s weird how fast the baby bug came back. We’ve got two more tries, we’re hoping for the best! It’s strange to be in a place where I’m so happy and fulfilled by Davie, but still have so much longing for another!

      Reply

    • iamstacey
      Dec 20, 2011 @ 14:54:23

      And – thanks on the hair! 🙂 I just got about five inches cut off! It was time to try something new. Only now, I miss being able to just throw it up in a pony tail and forget about it! 🙂

      Reply

  4. iamstacey
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 13:58:52

    I’m so glad you guys are still out there! It’s great to hear from you. I hope you all have a wonderful Christmas! Thank you so much for saying hi!

    Reply

  5. Amber
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 16:01:34

    She is so precious! I love that last picture the most. Melts my heart. 🙂 Merry First Christmas!!!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Dec 20, 2011 @ 17:56:08

      Thanks! My FIL builds a Christmas town every year with a train. I can’t wait for Davie to see it – but I’m sure I’ll spend the rest of the holiday keeping her out of it! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

