A Post on the Princess

Davie (and mom) come home tomorrow!  Yay!  I’ve missed my little Princess!  My nephews Cayle and Andon we supposed to stay with us tomorrow, too, but their maternal grandparents (Oma and Opa) are in town so they’re going to stay with their mom (my brother’s ex-wife) instead.  I’m so disappointed!  We miss them when we go a whole week without seeing them!

We bought the Baby Bullet!  I’ve been wanting one, and I finally got a 20% off any item coupon to Bed, Bath and Beyond, so Troy and Mom went to pick one up last Friday (he had a day off but I was working).  We’ve gone bat-crap crazy making baby food every day since!  Of course, mom and I had to head straight to the ‘organic’ section of the grocery store, although I’ve never cared one way or the other before about buying organic.  I remember reading somewhere that it’s important that vegetables be organic – something about nitrates in fertilizers causing anemia in babies.  We bought organic apples, bananas, pears, peaches, nectarines and plums.  On the veggie side we got organic sweet potatoes, squash and carrots.  I was surprised there were so few organic vegetables, although there were a lot of fruits.  We’ll have to hit up a Sprouts or Whole Foods next time.  Anyway, we’ve been steaming, stewing and puree-ing ever since!

Davie has been a good sport about trying different things, but she’ll eat her store-bought baby food sometimes and doesn’t seem to care for it other times.  But she has LOVED everything we’ve made with the Baby Bullet!  I sound like an info-mercial!  But seriously, she’d eat a bite or two of banana baby food, but we could never convice her to eat more than that.  But she eats a whole serving of bananas that we made ourselves, every time!  One of the best baby items we’ve bought.  And, Davie’s pooping much more easily and regularly now.  Some day my child is going to hate me for posting her bathroom habits on the internet.

Speaking of more new foods, Nana and Davie shared an ice-cream brownie at Chili’s while I was at work.  Apparently it’s now on the top of her favorite foods list! 🙂

Why you holdin' out on me? Pass the spoon!

Now that Little Miss I-can-go-anywhere has begun longer and longer explorations of the house, we’ve invested in a really good wall-mounted baby gate between the kitchen and our laundry room/pantry/cat box/dog kennel room.  We had one of the cheap manual ones there before, but it was a pain in the ass to open, then we had to find somewhere to stash the gate ’til we needed it again.  The wall-mounted one is wonderful!  Mom has weak wrists and she can use it easily.  Sweet!  We got it at Babies-‘R-Us sale while gates were 20% off.

Davie is pulling up now!  Troy had to lower her crib again.  She LOVES it when someone will hold her fingers and let her “walk” all over the place!

Hi, Mommy!

 
I’m worn out!  Tonight I did two loads of laundry, and Troy and I together made blackened chicken alfredo for dinner.  Yum!  I also set out chicken to put in the crock pot tomorrow with an italian seasoning/mushroom soup sauce that has a tub of the green onion cream cheese in it.  It’ll be my first time to make it, I hope it turns out.  Hopefully I’m sleepy enough that I’ll actually sleep through the night tonight without waking up thinking about embryos and Davie baby!
 
 
PS – any post with Princess in the title wouldn’t be complete without a shout-out to my furry Princess Lila.  I miss you, furry baby girl.  Every day.
 

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. babybaker
    Sep 22, 2011 @ 03:35:53

    Ice cream brownie as a favorite food?! A girl after my own heart. 🙂

    Reply

  2. katery
    Sep 22, 2011 @ 12:30:46

    she is so cute!! the good gates are 100% worth the investment. ours are both pressure mounted right now but have to option of screwing into the wall as well.

    Reply

  3. celia
    Sep 22, 2011 @ 20:01:19

    Organic food is totally worth the investment. If you google the organic dirty dozen you will find a list of the most important foods to buy organic. We feed Peter about 90% organic and Mr. and I are at about 75%. Because ahem, sometimes we NEED Sonic. Or Tastykakes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

