No Transfer Today

This will be short, I worked last night so I’m on the way to bed! 

All 15 embryos are still growing, but not all 15 are top quality.  Dr. Silverberg had decided that if we had at least 6 “pretty” embryos today, he’d move us to a 5-day transfer.  We still have 10 pretty ones!  And 5 are so-so to poor.  So Monday will be transfer day!

Here’s how it breaks down, although I need to do some research tonight and figure out what this means:

1  8-cell, Grade 2, compacting

5  8-cell, Grade 2, not yet compacting

1  7-cell, Grade 2

1  9-cell, G 2, compacting

1  9-cell, G 2

1  11-cell, G 2

1  8-cell, G 2.5, some fragmenting

1  9-cell, G 3, fragmented

1  7-cell, G 3, fragmented

1  5-cell, G 3, fragmented

1  3-cell, G 4, fragmented

I think the last five are doomed, but Pam (the IVF nurse who called me with the news) feels that we should have 2 to 3 great ones to transfer on Monday, and we may even have a few to freeze!  I’m so … freaked!  Amazed and terrified!  I never made it to a five-day transfer.  I never had any make it to freeze.  It’s scary to know they’re still out there in a petri dish – it seems like they should be back in me by now!  But I’m excited and happy, too – but it seems too good to be true!  I know that’s the years of IF talking.  I’m scared to hope we might actually get lucky this try!  It’s scary to be this hopeful!  I sound like an idiot.  I should probably get some sleep.

 

 

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. emily
    Sep 17, 2011 @ 10:05:17

    so exciting!!!!!!!!!! 😀

    Reply

  2. katery
    Sep 17, 2011 @ 12:24:19

    that is so great, you don’t sound like an idiot at all, those are numbers to be proud of 🙂

    Reply

  3. Stacey
    Sep 17, 2011 @ 12:57:47

    Those are amazing!! We got our twin girls with 5 & 6 celled embryos on Day 3. You’re way above that with amazingly strong little ones!! WOHOOOOO!! So excited for you! How many are you putting back?? What happens if you get twins or more? 🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Sep 17, 2011 @ 19:54:01

      Did you put back exactly two embryos? And they both took? Hmmm, this is a hard decision! We sort of just let Dr. Silverberg pick how many to put back last time. We’ll definitely take his advice. We could handle twins, but triplets sound overwhelming!

      Reply

      • Stacey
        Sep 18, 2011 @ 01:31:16

        We put back two. I am SO happy we had the girls, but as you remember getting here was VERY difficult. Our first set of twins ended with a birth at 27 weeks after a month of bedrest and even then our little boy Connor didn’t make it and passed away at 2 days. And Colby spent 3.5 months in the NICU– and a few weeks of that was on a vent. His prognosis wasn’t very encouraging at the time, but we got so very lucky. And the second time around I spent 10 weeks on bedrest and had the girls at 34 weeks. So while this isn’t a typical outcome, it is a possibility & very hard to deal with. The after though… having twins & a toddler (and Davie would be much younger than Colby was when the girls were born) is BUSY and a LOT of work. Super fun, amazing work, but still a lot of work. I only put back 2 the second time around because the grade of the embryos wasn’t the greatest. 🙂 Of course it’s completely your decision (and Troy’s & your doctor’s) and I hope you get exactly what you want!!!! It’s so exciting to be here in such a good place, isn’t it?

        Enjoy your Sunday… hopefully your last NOT PREGNANT day! 🙂

        Reply

        • iamstacey
          Sep 18, 2011 @ 03:06:46

          Argh, that’s right. I came into your story right about when the girls were concieved, and I forgot that part of the story. I’m thinking that if the quality of the cells is good, it’d be better to go with less transferred even if I am older. I know there were times you missed Colby so much, and I already feel guilty at the time that TTC has taken me away from Davie, much less pregnancy and another newborn.

          Reply

  4. Pie
    Sep 17, 2011 @ 14:39:08

    Wow! That is a great Day-3 report – I’m jealous (that old IF envy dies hard!)! So how many are going back in?? We could be talking multiples here….very exciting!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Sep 17, 2011 @ 19:55:30

      It’s definitely at the front of our minds! I think the doc will put less embryos back this time, since they’ll be more advanced. I want to maximize our chances but I definitely don’t want to be an octomom!

      Reply

  5. Ashley
    Sep 17, 2011 @ 15:31:33

    Good luck, that is wonderful news!! 5 transfer is a great sign and I’ve got my fingers crossed for you!

    As a mom of multiples, which I love my twinkies, I am going to give you unsolicited advice to NOT transfer three. 🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Sep 17, 2011 @ 19:56:38

      Did you transfer two, Ashley? I can’t remember now that the monkeys have been here a while! Seems so long ago! If you could choose, would you choose one at a time rather than twins?

      Reply

  6. Katie
    Sep 17, 2011 @ 21:55:15

    Good, Good luck Stacey! Praying for you!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Sep 17, 2011 @ 22:25:52

      Thank you so much, Katie! Tell me, would you back and transfer just one, or are you happy you had twins? It seems so hard! I’m really struggling with how many embryos to put back. I’m 40, so I want to maximize our chance of pregnancy, but I also want to have a healthy pregnancy, too!

      Reply

  7. Ashley
    Sep 17, 2011 @ 22:52:06

    If I had to go back in time, I would definitely still transfer two because we were self pay and it was really our only shot (we had enough left over for one FET if it didn’t work). If I had fully expanded blasts again (as good as they get) and an older child (Davie is still a little baby) that makes things a little different. I can truly not imagine the beginnings of a twin pregnancy (I was sick as a dog) and then bedrest and being out of work followed by twin infants plus another child. BUT- there are four mama’s like that on my infertility board and they are surviving. Good luck deciding, I know it’s so tough! What does your husband think about it? I think it’s an awesome sign that you got pushed to a 5dt!!!! The other good thing is I heard so much stuff about how scary twin pregnancy’s and stuff are but although very uncomfortable, as you know, O&E were full term and went home with us so that was awesome and my dream come true. Being a parent to twin newborns is a million bazillion times harder than being pregnant with them, IMO. 🙂

    Sorry for the novel. 🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Sep 17, 2011 @ 23:13:02

      Ashley, I appreciate the novel! 🙂 And any advice! I think we won’t transfer more than two. Maybe we’ll have frozen embryos, so if I don’t get pregnant we’ll still have time for an FET before I get too old. It IS a hard decision! But ending up pregnant with triplets or more would take too much of me away from Davie.

      Reply

  8. Myndi
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 10:56:15

    Stacey, that is fantastic news! To have options…it’s truly priceless!

    Reply

  9. linds
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 12:43:48

    Wow, I came here expecting bad news when your title said no transfer today, but then saw all the good news!! 🙂 You have so many good lil embies growing! Can’t wait to hear how tomorrow goes for you! So exciting!

    Reply

  10. iamstacey
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 20:47:43

    Thanks, Myndi and Linds! It’s exciting and nerve-wracking! We’re keeping our fingers crossed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

