Better

I was finally able to get some sleep last night, although I’m still exhausted today.  The pain has faded to a dull ache, and only hurts if I stand up or twist too quickly.  As long as I take it slow, I’m doing ok with out any pain meds, and I made it to work today.  My boss did send me help (since my co-worker Ellen is on vacation), which she doesn’t even know how much I appreciate!

The sinus infection is still a pain in the ass, but I’m surviving.  The pressure has let up a little around my eyes and cheekbones, so I bet I’ll sleep even better tonight.

Of the 16 eggs, 15 were mature.  Of the 15, ALL of them fertilized!!  I have FIFTEEN children in a petri dish!  OMG!!!  We’ll see how many keep growing.  I wish we’d get an update tomorrow! 

Tomorrow I start taking Doxycycline (antibiotic), medrol (steroid), 1 asprin a day and the crinone.  I’m also still taking the pill I’ve forgotten the name of that helps prevent OHSS.

Tonight, Davie and Mom come home!  We’re keeping my nephews Cayle and Andon, too.  My brother is out doing a training thing all week, and tonight is his night to have the boys.  His wife, JoAnn, is exhausted (I remember that part of being pregnant!) so the boys are coming to stay with us.  I think I’ll be hitting the sack as soon as Davie goes down, but I love it that the boys have so much fun staying with us.

My girlfriend Melissa called me last night to talk about the egg retrieval.  She was so excited she got to sit in on it!  Dr. Silverberg taught her all about the procedure, talking through the whole thing.  She said it was amazing to see the needle puncture the follicle on the ultrasound screen, then you could see a tiny white dot (the egg) float out.  Then they would take the test tube to another room and pour the fluid out into a petri dish, where they would look for the egg.  Then the eggs were ‘washed’ and were set aside to be checked by the embryologist to see if it was mature.

Melissa has been an andrologist for a while – she does semen analysis and prepares semen for IUI’s.  Now she’s thinking about studying to be an embryologist.  She’d be so good at it!  She’s so careful and meticulous and a little anal – perfect for that kind of work! 🙂  It was really neat to be able to share that experience with her, and to hear about it from their side of things.

Now that I’m feeling a little better, I’m getting really excited!  I’m ready for embryo transfer!  Saturday seems so far away!

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aisha
    Sep 15, 2011 @ 21:53:12

    Congrats on the egg feedback- fingers crossed for you!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Hope you feel better soon 😦

    Reply

  2. Anonymous
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 07:38:02

    Good luck!! I can’t wait to hear what happens…

    Reply

  3. katery
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 13:07:33

    wow, that is amazing!! i hope they all keep growing!!

    Reply

  4. iamstacey
    Sep 17, 2011 @ 19:49:39

    Thanks, everybody! It’s exciting and nerve-wracking at the same time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

