IVF #2 and Crawling

IVF this time around is so very different.  It’s exciting, and I feel that old hope and anxiety, that longing for the elusive BFP.  But it’s not quite as all-encompassing as it was the first time around.  Partly, because I know what to expect, and partly because this time, the stimulation cycle is going really smoothly.  And partly, I think, because these days any obsession has to share brain time with Davie. 🙂

Last time, I kept careful notes, and had everything in tabbed sections of a binder I carried with me everywhere.  This is my “organization system” this time:

Last appointment, my estradiol was in the 1200’s and I had a lot of follicles, the biggest being 13 mm, I think.  I go again in the morning (Sunday) for labs and an ultrasound.  There have been no big jumps this time,  it’s been a slow, even, steady increase in my estradiol level and in follicle growth.  It’s just frustrating that it took four IUI’s and my second IVF to get it all just right!  Egg retrieval and embryo transfer will probably be THIS week! 

Unfortunately, work is going to be tricky this time.  My co-worker has a planned vacation this Thursday and Friday, so if I have to call in, someone else will have to come from another department, leaving them short-handed.  And – I haven’t told anyone at work about this IVF cycle.  I’ve been able to schedule all my ultrasounds for early in the morning.  My family knows, of course, but since I was trying so hard for the new job, I kept our reproductive plans quiet.  I know IVF is the priority, and I have to call in sick.  I’m hoping egg retrieval will fall on Wednesday, with embryo transfer falling on Saturday.  We’ll have to pay the weekend rate, but it’d be worth it.  I’m nervous about how this is going to affect work this week.

Speaking of work, it has taken a lot of my attention and focus off obsessing over this IVF cycle.  We’re finally all set up and are slowly figuring out where we put everything.  There’s still some fine-tuning and growing pains I know we’ll need to make it through, but so far, I’m loving it.  I didn’t realize how much I needed to be challenged!

My favorite part of the lab is the wall of windows to the right!  Us lab rats actually get to see daylight!

Davie girl is getting too smart for herself!  She just owns the world now that she’s crawling.  There’s no where she won’t go – including into the dog food, the cat box … you name it.

There USED to be a pretty vase right here ...

 
She can sit up in her bed in the morning now.  She likes a little Elmo’s World or Baby Einstein with her breakfast.
 
 
This is MY view of the TV these days … cat tail usually included.
 
 
Imagine a baby in the crib, looking thru the bars at her parents … nope, we haven’t tried to partake in any nookie since then …
 
 
 
And now for the most exciting news of all … we’ve discovered FEET!
 

You've gotta try one of these! I'll share.

 

My mother-in-law Marilyn and her husband’s (Troy’s step-dad’s) twin daughters, Sharon and Lisa, came to visit this weekend!  It was wonderful to spend time with them!  They LOVED watching Davie show off all her new skillz! 

On Saturday, our foster kitty Twinkie was all set to go to her first adoption event.  I had worked Friday night, so I was taking a nap.  Troy came in and woke me up to tell me that my SIL Sharon had decided to adopt Twinkie!  We went by the adoption event so she could finalize her adoption and make it official.  Sharon named her Lucy.

I’m sure y’all have seen about all the wildfires in Texas on the news.  They are really close to us.  Austin Pets Alive, the animal rescue group we volunteer with, has been working hard to help save pets and strays from the fire-ravaged areas. At the same time, they’re still trying to keep the local shelters from euthanizing cats and dogs to take more room.  So many animals are pouring in!  Since we are foster-less now that Twinkie was adopted, we took in another little kitten named Emi (I think the intake peoples thought he was a girl).  He’s an adorable little pale silver kitten!  I’ll post pics of him soon.  He’s so adorably cute, I know he’ll get adopted fast!

 

I finally talked to my boss at my part-time weekend job.  Next weekend is supposed to be my last full weekend shift!  After that, instead of working both Friday and Saturday nights, I will work only Friday nights.  With the exra hours I work at my regular job now, it turns out I’ll only be short 4 hours a week.  It doesn’t sound like much, but it adds up to 16 hours a month, which is significant, financially speaking.  It’s worth it just to have the extra time with Davie and Troy, though!  Again – IVF may interfere with work next weekend.  Just be praying I don’t lose either of my jobs over calling in!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ashley
    Sep 11, 2011 @ 16:10:00

    I hope your job isn’t a problem with IVF, I know that is such a pain in the rear! Good luck with everything!

    Reply

  2. Myndi
    Sep 11, 2011 @ 22:47:59

    OMG, so exciting that you are already this far in. Holy cow, the time flies!

    And I’m feelin’ ya on the crawling. I’ve got one that’s pulling up on everything and transferring between objects while standing, and two that are crawling at 700 miles an hour. I find them under and crawling over everything. Exciting and terrifying! Go, Davie, go!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Sep 14, 2011 @ 06:06:49

      Oh my gosh, we can barely keep up with Davie, I don’t know how you keep track of three! I’m so scared of the pulling-up phase, but I know it’s right around the corner!

      Reply

  3. Aisha
    Sep 11, 2011 @ 23:02:41

    It is a lot easier the second go around in the way that IF takes over ones life- I totally can second that.

    And what a cutie!!!!!! How is she crawling? She’s not old enough? No! Time isn’t flying this fast! It can’t be!!!!

    Reply

  4. linds
    Sep 12, 2011 @ 08:24:36

    Retrieval and transfer this week?! I can’t believe you are almost there already! I just have such a good feeling about this for you. 🙂

    Love the pics of your office, it looks great. Hope all goes well with work and appts, etc!

    Crawling sounds like all sorts of fun and trouble! Davie’s a mover and a shaker now! 😉

    p.s. Thanks for the heartfelt congrats on my last post, that really means a lot to me!

    Reply

  5. babybaker
    Sep 13, 2011 @ 10:58:07

    slow and steady wins the race! so glad to hear things with your cycle are progressing well. excited for you! don’t stress too much about work. if you’re “sick”, you’re sick. people get sick — it’s always inconvenient and no one has to know the real reason. good luck!

    davie is such a doll! i am not prepared for crawling at all! good thing i have some time. 🙂

    can’t wait to meet you new kitty! oh, and to hear about your upcoming BFP! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

