Oooo!

Thursday Davie got her six month shots and they cleaned her ears (she had a lot of wax build-up).  The ear-cleaning was far more traumatic for her than the shots!  She hated being held down.  With the last immunizations she had a high fever and she cried inconsolably for hours.  It was awful!  I was sooo worried, that I took the day off to stay home with her.  But then I got the promotion, and the office I will be working in moved to a new building on Friday.  Of course, I had to be there for the big move, so mom came and stayed with Davie.  Fortunately with regular doses of baby fever reducer, she sailed right through!  She was a little fussy at the end of Friday, and she woke up around 3 in the morning both Thursday and Friday night.  The last time she had her shots it disrupted her sleeping for about a week, which I’ll take over unconsolable crying and fever, any day!  I feel so lucky it all went so much better this time.  It might be the Nana factor – she’ll definitely have to be here the next time, too!

Davie was six months old on Friday.  Six months!  She crawls everywhere.  Her favorite activity is crawling after the kitten, Twinkie, and after Dude and Dobby.  With all this mobility, she’s already discovered some things she’s not going to be allowed to touch, like the fireplace, or the buttons we step on to turn the lamps on and off.  We’ve starting saying, “Davie, NO” to let her know if something is off-limits.  And we’ve discovered, she knows her name!  Whe we call out her name she looks up at us!  It’s so amazing! 

On the IVF front, we’re still sailing along!  Thursday afternoon I went in for my baseline ultrasound, and I had lots of follicles and no cysts.  Thursday night I started the first dose of 225 units of Gonal F.  I inject that twice a day, along with .05 of Lupron in the morning.  Sunday morning I do lab work (Estradiol level), then at 11 I have an ultrasound to see how I’m responding to the Gonal F so far.

Poor Troy, the past year has been a bit dry for him.  I was sick so much of my pregnancy.  And he did admit to me after Davie was born that having sex when I was really, really pregnant did freak him out a little bit.  Then I tore during the delivery, followed by an infection, and it took me about 3 months to get all healed up from that. 

Through it all, I had the desire, but it was difficult to get in the mood.  There’s so much drama when the hormones are flowing!  Going back to work was traumatic, then there was the heart-ache of giving up on breastfeeding, followed by losing Lila and the stress of interviewing for the promotion.

Now things have gotten much calmer, thank goodness.  (of course, who knows how long that will last, now that we’re back on the IVF bandwagon.)  Troy decided to make his big move today.  Davie and I were taking a great nap – Davie’s gotten too big for her pack-n-lay, so we moved her crib into our room at the foot of our bed.  Davie was asleep in her crib, and Troy snuck in and quietly began his moves.  We were all caught up in the moment when suddenly, we hear, “Ooo!’ – and look up to find Davie sitting up in her crib, with her little face pressed up against the bars, her blue eyes huge, watching our every move!  OMG, please tell me they never remember anything from six months!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stacey
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 23:09:39

    I’m SO glad that things are moving along with this IVF! I’m really hoping it works for you guys and Baby #2. And yay for getting through Davie’s shots without much of a reaction. And HAHAHA WAY too funny about Troy & Davie. 🙂

    Reply

  2. MrsB
    Sep 04, 2011 @ 08:03:25

    That’s one of the reasons John went straight from his bassinet to his crib in his room, lol.

    Glad to hear your IVF cycle is moving right along…I hope it work for you the first month and we hear BFP results soon!!

    Reply

  3. Pie
    Sep 04, 2011 @ 09:40:41

    That is why her crib is not in our room! Ack!! I know they don’t remember, but I do!

    I can’t believe she is crawling so much!! She is an over-achiever for sure, and will be a star athlete!

    Good luck with the IVF meds and such, crossing my fingers for a smooth cycle.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Sep 10, 2011 @ 21:42:04

      Oh my gosh, I just hope she doesn’t start pulling up on stuff! I wasn’t ready for crawling, much less standing or walking! It’s been a mad scramble to baby proof!

      Reply

  4. katery
    Sep 04, 2011 @ 10:16:35

    lol, she won’t remember and has zero knowledge of what was actually going on 🙂

    Reply

  5. linds
    Sep 04, 2011 @ 11:43:45

    Wow, things are sure moving right along, aren’t they??? 🙂 And so funny about Davie going “oooo!” – she totally won’t remember, but you will! 😛

    Reply

  6. Ashley
    Sep 05, 2011 @ 21:37:14

    Good news on the IVF cycle front! And good for you for even attempting to do the deed, even if your kid was watching. 🙂 We didn’t have sex during IVF, I was too grouchy and bloated.

    Reply

  7. Aisha
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 20:26:28

    LOL did she really say OOOOh. ROFL- yeah, she won’t remember a thing- but that is hilarious.

    Can’t believe she’s getting so big!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

