Twinkie

We have a new foster kitten from Austin Pets Alive, a three-month-old kitten named Twinkie!   She’s our first foster since before Davie was born, and since moving into this house.  Twinkie was born with a congenital defect that causes her eyelashes on her left eye to grow into her eyeball.  Ouch!  It has caused a little damage to her eye, but with surgery they were able to save her eye and correct the growth of her lashes.

We thought her name was Winkie at first. It kinda fits!

 

I'z gonna bite ur toe!

 
Her surgery hasn’t slowed her down one bit!  She chases Moo and the dogs all over the house.  She watches Davie but usually keeps her distance – unless they both go for the same toy!
 

Excuse me, I was using that turtle ...

 
I hope we find her the perfect family soon while she’s still so little and cute!  She’s a lover!  Having a kitten around doesn’t make me miss Lila any less – that pain is as sharp as ever.  But it does feel good to be giving back, to be making life better for another furry being.  I miss you, Little Mouse.
 
This week is flying by!  Yesterday I worked my last day at the far-away office that’s an hour and a half from home.  I’m so glad I won’t be making that drive anymore, but I will miss the people so much!  They are good people with good hearts.  I’ll still be the back-up for that office, though, so I’ll be able to stay in touch.  I’ll work there from time to time when the regular person is out on vacation.  Today I worked at the office that will be my new assignment, starting next week.  I focused on packing up the lab, as the office is moving to a brand spankin’ new building on Friday.  Everyone is sorting and purging and packing like crazy! 
 
Tomorrow Mom and Davie will be home!  And my nephews are going to come have dinner with us Wednesday and Thursday evening!  I love it when they come to visit.  My older nephew, Cayle, actually called my mom and asked her if he could come over to our house this week!   It’s been my nephews’ first week back at school, and I think it’s been tough on Cayle (he’s 7).  He’s shyer and it takes him longer to make friends, while his younger brother Andon is really outgoing.  I know my brother Chris loves his boys, but he’s really strict with them (I’m sure it’s the law enforcement officer in him), and I think sometimes they feel more relaxed in our home.  Cayle seems especially comfortable talking to my hubby, Troy.  And we LOVE having them over, and Davie adores them.  Cayle is the one who got her crawling!  She wanted to be by him so badly she just took off!
 
Thursday Davie’s six-month appointment is at 10:45.  I’m not looking forward to it.  I hate it that she has to have so many shots, and that she’ll feel bad the next day.  She ran a fever last time, so I’m going to keep a careful eye on her this time.  She’s been batting at both of her ears for the past week or so, though, and it’ll be good to get that checked out.  She doesn’t cry, but we’ve just never seen her reach for her ears before.
 
Thursday afternoon is my baseline ultrasound with Dr. Silverberg.  I will have been on Lupron for just over a week, and I finished the last of the birth control pills last Saturday.  If all looks good at this ultrasound, I’ll start Gonal F Thursday night!
 
Troy found out today that he didn’t get the promotion he went out for.  I’m so disappointed for him!  But the boss took time to take him aside and to let him know that there are going to be more openings in the coming months, and he does want Troy to apply again.  In the meantime, they’d like to see Troy take on some more volunteer projects.  I’m really hoping that he’ll take advantage of the time to really show some initiative, and I think he will.
 
Although the extra income would’ve been nice, and I would’ve loved for Troy to be doing work that he would enjoy more, there are some pros about him not getting the job right now.  The hours would’ve been really weird, and we wouldn’t have been able to carpool (which saves us tons on gas).  Also, he would’ve been working Sundays, so we wouldn’t be able to join a church together, something we’d really like to do.  And, there’s a new department opening up that he’s even more interested in than the one he applied for.  Since he has more time to do those extra projects and impress the bosses, I’m hoping by the time the new department opens up, he’ll be the perfect applicant for it.
 
A definite con to Troy not getting the promotion is not getting the raise that comes with it.  It’s not a lot, but I’d really like to cut way back at my weekend job.  I’ve been working 32 hours at my regular week-day job, but with this new position, I’ll be going to 40 hours.  Also, since I’m not commuting so far and now we’re carpooling, that’ll cut our gas budget.  If Troy had gotten the extra income, I really would’ve felt comfortable about cutting my weekend hours.  But now, I’m not sure how much to cut back, and I’m nervous that if I ask to cut back, the boss will be so irritated that he’ll cut my hours too much.  He’s been promising me he’s going to hire an extra person for over a year now, and I feel that with Davie and now trying to get pregnant again, it’s time to call him on it.  I just hope I don’t regret losing the income!  I know I won’t regret losing the hours away from my family.
 
I’m typing this in bed before going to sleep, and Troy had already dozed off beside me.  Twinkie won’t leave him alone, though.  I don’t know why, she’s fastinated by him.  She’ll bypass everyone else in a room just to go bite Troy’s toes.  Right now, she keeps waiting until he just dozes off, then she creeps up and tickles his nose with her whiskers, and he jumps in the air!  They’ve done this a good dozen times in a row now.  I have a feeling Twinkie is about to be ejected.  But damn, if I can put up with the combination of Troy, Dobby and Dude snoring, he can put up with a tiny kitten, right?  Ooops, Twinkie: 13, Troy: 0.  <heeheeheesnicker>
 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Another Dreamer
    Aug 30, 2011 @ 23:34:51

    Aww, Twinkie looks so sweet 😀

    Hope you can get a cut back on hours, but not too much. Sometimes time is more important than money, but then again you have to pay your bills. It’s a tough line, and I hope that things even out somewhere for you soon.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Sep 03, 2011 @ 19:54:31

      It’s been hard to balance. I find myself thinking, if only I’d done things differently when I was younger, made better financial decisions! I think we’ll find a new balance. Change is always hard, even when it’s for the better!

      Reply

  2. Pie
    Aug 31, 2011 @ 13:08:07

    Sweet Twinkie! Another cutie!

    And the ear batting may be a sign of teething. My girl does this all the time these days, and the doc says as long as no fever or other illness symptoms (signs of ear infection) it is most likely some jaw pain from teething, and pulling on/rubbing her ears helps with that. Poor girl, but nothing to worry about. You’ll see it a lot more in the coming months, I’m sure!!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Sep 03, 2011 @ 19:55:42

      Turns out she’s not teething yet, but you were right, she’s been batting at her ears a lot more! It may be a combination of her hair getting a little longer and tickling her ears, and of her just plain ‘finding’ her ears! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a comment