Hopeful

Here we are again, my old friend.  Hope is back.

Hope #1:  My TSH came back normal at 2.2.  My IVF nurse, Mandy, will call me on Monday to let me know if Dr. Silverberg has given me the official ok to go forward with this round of IVF.  If so, she’ll have the dates and the plan for me on Monday, too.  My endocrinologist, Dr. Bledsoe, wants to repeat the TSH in five weeks.  I might ask her if she’d do it sooner, just to be sure it stays in range through this round of IVF.  Hope against hope – that we get pregnant on the very first try.  (while I’m wishing, why not wish for the moon, right?)

Hope #2:  I should hear if I got the promotion early this week, hopefully on Monday.  If I don’t get the promotion, I’ll still stay with this company until we’re done with all our IVF tries.  They’ve been really good to us with all the time it takes to do the IVF, and staying where I’m at will allow me to focus on  IVF rather than worrying about starting a new job.

Hope #3:  We’re keeping our fingers crossed that Troy will get the promotion he applied for, too.  They’ve finally officially posted the job, so it’ll be a couple of weeks before they start the interviews.  I really hate being in limbo, but I’m trying to be patient and not ask him about it too much.  I know it’s on his mind, too.

Hope #4:  That dad will find a job here in Austin soon, so he and mom can move closer.  He’s got a few resumes out.  We all need to be together, we need each other so much. 

Hope #5:  That if all the other dominoes fall into place, I’ll be able to cut back on working the weekends.  I want to be home with my baby. 

That’s a lot of waiting and hoping!  Neither of which I am very good at.

We had another pet scare.  Friday night my folks and my nephews were at our place, so we ordered pizza for everyone.  Even the dogs got to eat the crusts – good times!  But then – we all got the runs, big time.  During the night while I was at work, Troy woke up with horrible cramps and ran to the bathroom.  On his way back to bed, he stopped to check on Davie, and suddenly there was crashing and banging all around him.  Dobby was thrashing around and banging into furniture!  He snapped on the light to find she was unable to control her hind quarters, dragging her back feet and wetting all over herself.  Troy pulled her into the bathroom and called me frantically.  She began wheezing and he thought for sure she was dying right in front of him.  Suddenly, she started vomiting all over the place.  Once the vomiting passed, she lay still for a little while, but immediently started breathing better.  Then she seemed fine!  She was able to walk just fine.  Troy took the dogs downstairs and gave them water, then they asked to go out and pee. 

It was so stressful  to go through.  Dobby is bonded to Troy the way Lila and I were bonded.  I just couldn’t imagine us losing another furry family member so soon!  And Dobby is only 4.  Poor Troy was sobbing on the phone, and I didn’t know if I should leave work so I could watch the baby while he took Dobby to the vet.  The bill for weekend emergency vet service would’ve been staggering, especially since we haven’t even gotten Lila’s bill yet.  We’re just so lucky she turned out to be ok.  We called our regular vet in the morning, and she suggested we keep an eye on her, and make sure she doesn’t have a seizure.  So far, she’s been fine all day, perfectly normal.  And she’s proven in the past to be very dramatic, so it could be she was just feeling really bad until she threw up.  And she didn’t show classic signs of seizure, like stiff limbs, glassy eyes or foaming at the mouth.  We’re watching her closely, though.

We will NEVER eat Double Dave’s again for the rest of our lives.

OMG I need a vacation, just a week to stay home and hold my daughter and hang out with my husband and kiss my pets – with NO DRAMA!!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. linds
    Aug 14, 2011 @ 08:43:54

    Wow, this sounds great – Many, many things to have hope for! I have lots of hope for you too! This all sounds like it will work out. 🙂 (Minus the bad pizza and the sick Dobby – that is awful!!!!)

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Aug 15, 2011 @ 12:52:17

      Argh, the Dobby scare was awful. But she’s been her usual self ever since, so we’re hoping it was just a freaky one-time thing!
      Here it is noon on Monday, and no news on the job or the IVF yet. Argh! I hate suspense!

      Reply

  2. Another Dreamer
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 11:50:24

    First, hoping with you that all your hopes work out!

    Secondly, omg about the food and the scare! How terrifying and awful! What on earth did they do to that pizza?!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Aug 15, 2011 @ 12:53:24

      It was a large, half all cheese and half supreme. It could’ve been the ranch dressing. Who knows? I really don’t want pizza for a long, long time now. 😉

      Reply

  3. katery
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 14:10:12

    good luck!!! and i hope everyone is feeling better, yuck!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

