Because Enough is Just Never Enough

… there may be a kink in the IVF TTC plan.  Today, my endocrinologist, Dr. Bledsoe, got my latest TSH back and found it was too low.  Now this doesn’t surprise me – I didn’t develop hypothyroidism until I was pregnant, which is when I was referred to Dr. Bledsoe.  During my pregnancy, they had to up my dosage once.  Since Davie was born, I’d just been coasting along, refilling my prescription without thinking about it. 

But now, not only am I no longer pregnant, but I’ve stopped breastfeeding, too.  So it makes sense that my body might actually return to normal, and I don’t need the Synthroid anymore.  Which is A-Ok with me!  So Dr. Bledsoe had me stop taking the Synthroid altogether, and I made an appointment to go in and have it checked again early Friday morning, and then I’d see her Friday at 10am.

But just a few hours later, my IVF nurse, Mandy, called.  Dr. Silverberg had also done a TSH in my initial IVF work-up, and he also noticed it was low.  He wanted to put everything on hold and have me see an endocrinologist immediately.  No problem there, I told her – I have an appointment on Friday to do just that. 

And then she said something that really scared me – she asked, “Are you ok?  Are you going to be ok with this?”  Making me think, they mean I’m out completely this cycle. 

I think now that I’m not taking the thyroid medication any more, my levels should be back to normal on Friday, and I tried to explain this to her.  But she felt that it might take time to get it leveled back out, and Dr. Silverberg won’t proceed until he gets the ok from Dr. Bledsoe.

This sucks.  I’m hoping for the best on Friday, but my luck hasn’t been good lately.  I’m so ready to move forward.  Please be praying this can all be sorted out easily on Friday and Dr. Bledsoe will give Dr. Silverberg the ok to go ahead.  In the meantime, I’m still taking my birth control pill every day.  I’m not giving up.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stacey
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 23:00:36

    Oh no… I’m really hoping that the levels are okay for you to proceed. Cancelled cycles are the worst.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Aug 09, 2011 @ 22:32:43

      I’ve had two cycles threatened to be cancelled, but this would be the first. I hope it turns out to be something we can work on as we go along!

      Reply

  2. Kari
    Aug 09, 2011 @ 11:43:41

    Since my multiple miscarriages and a family members multiple miscarriages when we both had issues with TSH I don’t take thyroid issues lightly. I would be sure you feel comfortable with your results and I would insist on testing early in your pregnancy to be sure your meds are dosed correctly. Moms TSH levels can impact developing babies in a very bad way. Not trying to scare you. Just making sure no one experiences what I did if it can be helped. I delayed my cycle to get my thyroid under control and that was the cycle that led to LD. I know its hard hard when you have to delay but sometimes its the best. Hoping for good news though!!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Aug 09, 2011 @ 22:34:53

      Hey, Kari,
      Hearing your experience has helped me come to terms with us maybe having to cancel this cycle. We only have three more tries – I’d rather it be the best cycle it can be, and the safest possible one for the baby. I didn’t realize TSH levels could cause miscarriage. Thanks for sharing your experience. It will still suck if we have to cancel, but it helps understanding why.

      Reply

  3. Another Dreamer
    Aug 09, 2011 @ 15:02:27

    Oh no! I hope that things go good at the appointment on Friday, that things are okay, and you can proceed. I’ve been on Synthroid since right before this last cycle so we’ve been testing mine periodically, they can really play a big part. So I really hope they can get your levels straightened out quickly.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Aug 09, 2011 @ 22:35:52

      Me too! I hope it’s mild so we can work on it as we go, instead of cancelling the cycle. I was pretty upset at first, but I’m trying to come to terms with it while still praying we’ll get good news on Friday!

      Reply

  4. paulakeller
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 19:36:53

    I really hope that it’s better on Friday. It does take a while for the levels to change. I think two or three weeks. Also, I was told to not eat for like 45 minutes after taking synthroid (upon waking in the morning), to avoid antacids in the AM, and take my prenatal in the evening – because of the iron. I was seriously hypothyroid, and had three miscarriages, but the doctors didn’t think it was my thyroid. Again, I SO hope your levels are ok and you can stay with this cycle! I know how hard skipping a cycle is. Best of luck!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Aug 13, 2011 @ 22:46:32

      Hi, Paula! Thank you so much for telling me about your experience. I just didn’t realize how important a normal TSH is to a successful IVF try, and to fetal development. It was a good lesson for me! It helped me feel calmer about having to skip this cycle.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

