4 1/2 Months

Davie had her 4 month appointment with the pediatrician today.  She is 14 pounds and 25.5 inches long – in the 90th percentile for height!  Good news for little girl since her daddy is so short, and I’m average.  Hopefully she’ll take after me in the height department. 🙂  Oh!  Davie can push her upper body all the way up when she’s on her tummy!  She can hold her arms out perfectly straight.  I can’t believe how much she changes, and how fast!  It makes my head spin, I can’t keep up!

She also got her shots today, which broke my heart.  I spent the rest of the day checking to see if she had a fever, but she came through it like a trooper!  Since she’s been eating rice for about a month now, the doc said in the next two weeks we can start introducing some baby food.  I’m not in any hurry, it’s something we can do slowly, when she seems interested.  Dad let her lick a fudgecicle a couple of days ago, and she went crazy for it!  She squealed for more!  (not the food I would’ve chosen to start her on)

My seven year old nephew has been staying with my mom and dad quite a bit this summer.  He prefers it to daycare – who wouldn’t?  He just adores Davie, and she thinks he’s da bomb!  She just breaks into big smiles and giggles whenever he talks to her.  And when she gets into a crying fit, he’s great at calming her down.

 The only thing that’s been worrying me is that he picks her up freely.  I want him to ask me permission first and to only pick her up with assistance.  It’s not too worrying at my house, as most of the house is carpeted.  But most of my folks’ house is mostly hard tile.  Last year Cayle’s younger brother, Andon, fell and broke out his front tooth on the tile.  I’ve talked to mom about it and she has promised me she is always there when Cayle picks Davie up, and she won’t allow it on the tile at her house.  But next week the folks’ will have Andon, too (it’s vacation Bible school at dad’s church).  Cayle and Andon are typical little boys – always rough-housing and teasing each other.  I’m terrified Cayle might trip over Andon while holding Davie.  I’ll talk to mom about it again before she takes Davie home on Monday.

I bought these colorful peace sign pj’s back when we first started TTC.  Here we are 4 1/2 years after we first started trying, and here my baby is wearing them.  I still can’t believe it sometimes.

Peace, Baby!

 
Nana got me a new bow.  I look hot in red!
 

I'm gonna stick my wet finger in mom's ear in just a moment!

 
She likes her new teething toy – although she’s holding it while sucking her fingers.  Go figure.
 

fingers are nummy!

 
20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Low Fat Lady
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 10:17:19

    Happy 4 months! LOL at the fudgesicle. I am sure she enjoyed that 😉 cute pics!

    Reply

  2. linds
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 12:16:20

    I love the peace PJs and that you have a baby wearing them after so many years of trying. 🙂 I do love a happy ending!

    Reply

  3. katery
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 13:59:33

    hand to eye coordination takes a while! lol!

    Reply

  4. Pie
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 12:11:23

    She is such a darling! And so big – my girl is 25.5 inches at 6 months! And love the fudgecicle story – Daddy knows what a girl will like – chocolate!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jul 14, 2011 @ 15:38:26

      She’s such a long baby! We had to go up a size in diapers ’cause the 1’s were too short and she kept peeing out the top of them at night.

      Reply

  5. birdsandsquirrels
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 14:21:41

    Aww, what a cutie pie! I can’t believe she is 4.5 months already!

    Reply

  6. Ashley
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 17:24:25

    She is too cute! I think a fudgecicle is the perfect first food. 🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jul 14, 2011 @ 15:40:03

      Dad said it’s a GrandDad’s perogative to get to try new foods on grandbabies. 🙂 They loved to watch my nephews eat lemon slices when they were babies. He said Davie had it all over her face!

      Reply

  7. MrsB
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 20:52:38

    Sounds like she’s growing like a weed!

    I was worried about John’s height as my hubby is only 5’6″, but I am 5’8 Luckily it looks like he is taking after my side as he was 24.5in at his 2 month check up (95th %). So I am very happy about that.

    Reply

  8. Another Dreamer
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 22:02:38

    Awww, she’s so cute!

    Reply

  9. Katie
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 15:13:28

    Oh my gosh- that picture with the red bow is just toooo cute!

    Reply

  10. iamstacey
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 15:43:14

    That’s all Nana! There’s a matching bow for every outfit!

    Reply

  11. Shannon
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 22:05:37

    Davie is so, so cute! I love bows, too. They melt me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

