I *Heart* Mom ‘n Dad

As soon as the clock struck 4:30pm on Thursday, I was out the door and on my way to Gatesville to see my baby girl at my folks’.  I was holding her in my arms and covering her head with kisses by 6:30pm.  I spent the night and most of Friday with my folks, and I’m so glad I did.  It showed me just how blessed I am.

Every moment of their day is centered around baby girl.  Mom gets up with her early and feeds her, then she naps.  The dad gets up and plays with her.  He used to be in the office by 8am, but now he goes in at 9 or 9:15 so he can have the extra time with her.  Before he leaves, he lays out a changing station for her with a changing pad, powder, desitin, wipes and a fresh diaper.  It’s the cutest thing.  After he’s gone, mom plays with her and talks to her all day.  This baby is going to be a Chatty Cathy, they talk so much!  They practice tummy time and sitting up.  Mom plans everything around Davie – when she eats and naps, etc.  Then dad gets home and it’s back to play time!  They make up songs and go for walks around the neighborhood.  Then together they give her a bath, feed her, then Dad rocks her until she falls asleep.  Then again together they tuck her in for the night, in her little bed at the foot of their bed.

I asked mom, “Your and Dad’s whole day revolves around her!  What do you do when she’s not here?”  “We sit around and talk about how much we miss her,”  Mom replied.

There’s no daycare in the world that could give her that kind of individual love and attention.  Not being with her for three days in the middle of the week seems a little easier.  No, that’s not right – it’s not any easier, but the decision seems  more right.  I love my parents even more than ever for loving her so much.  I see what a difference it makes to my mom and dad to have that time with her each week.  She’s so blessed to get to grow up in a multi-generational family.

Hopefully we will all be living closer to each other soon.  But in the meantime, the arrangement seems a little more manageable and my heart is a little more at peace.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stacey
    Jun 05, 2011 @ 20:48:28

    It’s great that you have such an amazing support system with your parents. Davie is one lucky girl. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Amber
    Jun 05, 2011 @ 22:44:02

    My mom worked full-time when I was growing up and she went to college classes at night so I stayed with my grandparents a lot. I never felt sad about my mom being gone, but I LOVED time with my grandparents. Now that we’ve lost both of them, I appreciate that special time even more.

    You’ve got a great situation worked out and Davie will look back on it fondly.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jun 06, 2011 @ 08:33:11

      I hope you’re right, Amber! I’m feeling better about it all the time. Thanks for telling me what it was like for you – that really helps!

      Reply

  3. katery
    Jun 06, 2011 @ 14:06:43

    she is so lucky to have them as grandparents and you and your husband as parents, she will always be loved 🙂

    Reply

  4. Womb For Improvement
    Jun 06, 2011 @ 15:34:01

    That is brilliant. I saw my mother in law this weekend (who I get on really well with0 and she told me she hoped that soon she had reason to come and visit more often (they live 6 hours away). I hope so too.

    Reply

  5. Low Fat Lady
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 07:21:26

    Aww 😉 What a great bonding experience.

    Reply

  6. My Bumpy Journey
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 00:04:15

    that is so wonderful!!! I believe this is a wonderful way to raise a child, and I am so happy you are able to do this. Davie is truely getting a experience that is invaluable! Can I say I am a little jealous?:) In a good way- Your parents sound amazing, and obviously they have raised a great daughter…they will carry the tradition on with your sweet baby. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

