Almost Memorial Day

This past week was a tough as I thought it’d be.  Mom ‘n Davie left Tuesday, but I worked an extra shift in the evening so the day flew by.  Wednesday I missed her like crazy, but Troy and I went out to eat with our friend Melissa after work.  It was so fun to catch up with her and to try a new restaurant, the day went fast.  By Thursday, I missed her like crazy.  I had a couple of crying jags during the day, just missing her.  By the time I got home she ‘n mom were waiting for me, and I just couldn’t soak up enough of my baby.

Overall, I still feel it’s a good plan.  I know she’s safe and adored every minute.  She’s always with someone who loves her.  And she’s really good for my mom and dad, who are going through some really hard times right now (financially, and my dad’s work is difficult).  I think it time it’ll get easier, and I think we still need to give the schedule time to work.

She learned something new this week – she reaches for things now!  It’s a vague and clumsy reach, but she manages to pull things to herself!  She wants to put everything in her mouth but she just isn’t quite skilled enough for that yet.  So whenever she gets ahold of something, she ends up squeezing it tight and trying to fit it in her mouth with a giant bear hug!

I'm gonna getcha!

 
.
 

Now I'm gonna eatcha!

 
Troy and I had a bit of a fight Tuesday night.  I think we’re just still getting through the financial stresses of maternity leave.  That’s the one thing I’ll be sure to do differently if we’re lucky enough to have another baby – I’ll be sure I have more paid time off saved up first, and that we have more in the bank.  It started when we were climbing into bed, and I jokingly squirted him with breastmilk.  Stupid, I know.  It hit him in the eye and he freaked out!  It’s weird, he was always been a serious boob man, and I thought he’d love all things boobie.  But breastmilk just seems to make him uncomfortable!  I interpreted it as him not liking my body now, but really, he was just stressed about catching up on the bills and he took it out on me.  We worked it out and all is fine now, but now I know to put the guns away at night! 🙂
 

You did WHAT to daddy?

 
At least I know there’s someone who will always appreciate the girls!
 

My favorite spot in the whole world

 
I’m so grateful to have a long weekend to kiss and snuggle with my girl!  There’s nothing more amazing in the world!
6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. linds
    May 29, 2011 @ 10:33:53

    I think the arrangement is good for you and for lil Davie. It sounds like your mom is taking really good care of her. Money seems to be such a big thing these days, doesn’t it? Everyone is always trying to save up for something and it is so hard! Glad you and Troy cleared things up! I thought of you the other day because my friend just recently started seeing a guy named Troy! 🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      May 30, 2011 @ 19:19:53

      I love the name Troy! 🙂 We will always work it out, as much as it sucks to fight. It was so silly, we were really having two completely different fights about our own different insecurities! But it was good to get it all out in the open and move past it.
      If only I could win the lottery! I’d stay home with my sweet baby every single day!

      Reply

  2. Pie
    May 29, 2011 @ 12:03:06

    Awwww, she is just too much!! She’ll be getting things in her mouth soon enough, everything you own will be wet! Enjoy the cuddles this weekend.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      May 30, 2011 @ 19:23:50

      We’ve already started the droolies, and I’m sure it’s going to get worse! She can make a wet spot as big as my shoulder in just a minute! 🙂

      Reply

  3. lifebytheday
    May 31, 2011 @ 07:39:11

    Gorgeous pictures! Glad you had the weekend to soak up your baby girl 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

