Well, I survived my first week back at work.  Work really went fine, and it was great to see everyone.  I missed Davie terribly, but it went alright.  It was so good to hear how much Dad and Mom adore her and how spoiled she is every day.  It surprised me how much it depresses me to be apart from her.  The days are less … sparkly, more dull and routine.  But it won’t be that way every week, some weeks Mom will keep her here in Austin Tuesday night, Wednesday and Thursday morning. 

But – next week is going to be another rough one.  I’m working quite a bit of extra time at the part-time job to help catch up on bills.  It’s going to be a LONG week, but then we’ll make it to Memorial Day and I’ll have a whole day with Davie.  After that, we should fall into a more regular routine and I won’t be working as much.  Hopefully I can survive this next week.

Moo has discovered the little net basket under the stroller.  It’s his new favorite spot to hide and jump out at us or Lila (my older kitty) as we pass by unsuspectingly.

Nana promised to take me for a walk

 We tried Davie out in her exersaucer that Daddy finally put together (after much grunting, cussing and failure to read the directions).  She seemed to like it!

This isn't half bad!

 Pooped out after a long day of shopping for new bows with Nana in my cute new overalls.

Rockin' the overalls

 Still lovin’ every minute we get to breastfeed.  The girl does love the booby.

Love da boobie

Got a new toy for the car seat.  She’s starting to hate it when we buckle her in (although she instantly falls asleep when the car starts moving).  She really liked the mirror on her new toy!
 

that baby in the zebra mirror is cute!

 
We tried her out in the high chair while I was putting groceries away. I just put away the stuff that goes in the fridge, and when I turned around, the poor thing had conked out! Bad mommy. :( She’s definitely too small for the chair yet without a rolled-up blanket to hold her up. We have to use one to hold her up in the exersaucer, too. She’s not really into her play mat for more than a few minutes, either. I’d say the bouncy seat is still her favorite so far. new things are just too exhausting!
 

This chair is booooring

 

 I’m noticing this girl already likes the boys!  Dad (PopPop), Troy and my nephews are her favorite peoples to laugh at.  My dad can get her going!  She “talks” up a storm to him.  She grins and flirts with Troy.  And the boys just make her squeal!

This Dude’s a riot!!

The childcare situation is still new.  I feel good about it overall, although being apart from her is far harder than I realized it would be.  I feel like I need to give it more time, see if we all grow into it.  One day at a time!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. linds
    May 21, 2011 @ 10:49:37

    Glad to hear you survived at work, sounds like you are going to be pretty busy. At least you know Davie will be in good hands when you are at work. That must bring some comfort. Love all the pictures you posted, she is sure turning out to be her own little person! 🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      May 23, 2011 @ 09:52:36

      She really is! It’s the only good thing about her getting bigger -as she grows, we see little snippets of her personality coming out. I can’t wait to see who she becomes! 🙂

      Reply

  2. Aisha
    May 22, 2011 @ 22:33:46

    Kudos on surviving going back to work 🙂 And how cute is she? And how does she already look so much bigger! [but just as cute as always!!!]

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      May 23, 2011 @ 09:51:42

      I don’t know how she’s growing so fast! I just want to keep enjoying this size, but she keeps getting bigger! *sigh* She’s gone from newborn size thru 0 and now she’s getting too big for 0-3 months!

      Reply

  3. emily
    May 23, 2011 @ 08:23:15

    what kind of exersaucer is that? she is SO ridiculously cute! 😀

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      May 23, 2011 @ 09:50:39

      You know, I’m not sure! I’ll check tonight. Whatever it is, I know it came from Target. She loves the flashing lights and the music!
      We think she’s awfully cute, too! 🙂 And you can’t beat Owen for butterball adorableness! 😉

      Reply

  4. Jessica
    May 23, 2011 @ 14:01:57

    Stacy, your daughter is beautiful!!

    I just wanted to thank you for keeping up w/ my blog and leaving supportive comments. Lately its been hard for me to follow blogs that have made it through infertility but I know I will be able to eventually. Thanks for hanging in there with me.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      May 24, 2011 @ 16:33:21

      Oh, Jess, don’t worry about that! You know I’ve been there, I understand! And I wouldn’t keep reading if I didn’t want to. I’m just so sorry about the last try, I really thought the stars were all aligned for you all! I just feel like you all will be parents some day, one way or another.

      Reply

  5. Low Fat Lady
    May 27, 2011 @ 06:11:56

    Glad work went ok. I bet it is hard to go back. My parents always put me in the car to get me to go to sleep so I’m not surprised it works with her as well 😉 Have a great memorial day!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      May 29, 2011 @ 03:26:25

      It’s hard, but it’s working! I still feel like it was a good choice. I sure do miss her during the week! The car trick works great for getting her to sleep, but she doesn’t stay asleep, sadly. As soon as we stop at a light, she perks back up!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

