Last Week At Home

These last couple of weeks of maternity leave with Davie have been amazing.  These last couple of weeks of maternity leave have been financially draining.   With all my heart, I wish I could take the full twelve weeks FMLA allows for maternity leave, even though it would be unpaid.  Hell, I’d take two years if they’d let me.  But financially, it’s time to get back on the clock. Past time.  I’ve been doing some part-time work in the evenings on the weekends, but the full time job’s paycheck has been sorely missed.

I’ve pretty much been able to turn a deaf ear to the ticking clock and have made the most out of every minute.  The house was a mess, and I got down to my last clean pair of underwear, and Troy was out of clean socks, but Davie and I had a blast.  Last weekend we went to Midlothian (a suburb of Fort Worth) where Troy grew up and his mom still lives.  Marilyn and her bestie Edie put on a baby shower for Marilyn’s friends and family.  She was so proud to show off her grandbaby.

We snuck in early on Friday and surprised her at work.  I was amazed how many of her co-workers knew our story and had prayed for us and cheered us on all through the long years of TTC.  We brought her a Mother’s Day card and a tote back I found at the Cracker Barrel with a verse about blessings through the generations.  It has a pocket on the front she can put a picture of Davie in.

The shower was Saturday morning at Edie’s house and it was beautiful!  It was so much fun to catch up with Troy’s cousins and their wives and with his best friend since childhood, Ben.  (Edie is Ben’s mom.)  Ben and his wife, Julie, are expecting their first daughter in July after 4 years of TTC.  She finally got pregnant on their first try at IVF (after many years of Clomid and IUI’s).  It’s amazing how similar our stories are!  Now two boys who have known each other for 30 years will each have a baby girl just months apart!  Davie is named after my dad, and they’re naming their baby after Ben’s dad, Charlie (she’ll be Charlie Marie).  Marilyn was so proud to hold Davie.  It amazed me all the details she remembered about our years of TTC and my pregnancy, especially since we don’t get to see them as much.  Everyone was so generous, and we are so happy to have brought home some sweet new outfits for Davie and tons of diapers! 🙂

Wednesday was Davie’s two month appointment, and she got her first shots.  She did amazing!  She cried a little, I sobbed a lot.  Thank goodness mom was there!  We sat in the room a little bit after the appointment and I was able to breastfeed her, which soothed us both.  She never ran a temperature or anything!  Thank you, Lord!  One of my mom’s closest friends has a 36 year old daughter who reacted badly to the pertussis virus when she was six months old, and mentally she is still the same age.  Her mom is still an advocate of vaccinating babies, but she warns all parents to be aware of any signs of reaction to the vaccination, such as a rash or temperature.

Thursday night my brother Chris was at work (cop) and his wife is out of town on business, so mom kept my two nephews at our house.  Thursday is one of Chris’s nights with the boys, but usually when he’s called into work their mom keeps them, of course.  But just a few days before she broke her leg while moving into a new house! 😦  We were thrilled to get a night with the boys!  We baked cookies, then had army men spread from the kitchen to the living room (often with the help of Moo, our cat), did homework and watched the animated Green Lantern movie.  Just too much fun! 🙂

Later that night we got a call from Troy’s mom Marilyn that Troy’s Uncle Glenn had died after a long battle with diabetes and it’s complications.  Uncle Glenn was Troy’s dad’s brother, but he divorced Troy’s aunt about 15 years ago and had been estranged from the family ever since.  Apparently he was often aggressive and was a fairly unpleasant person to be around.  While I’m glad it wasn’t hard on Troy emotionally, I do feel badly for his cousins.  Troy headed back up to Midlothian for the viewing Friday evening and for the funeral on Saturday.  I’m glad he could be there for Garren, who is Troy’s closest cousin and one of his best friends.  I think it’s been hardest on Garren as he had a lot of unresolved issues with Glenn.  Troy said there were strippers at the viewing, but at least they came and left early before most of the family came.  I guess they were Glenns’ closest “friends” at the end.

I stayed home as I’m working this evening and tomorrow evening.  I spent the whole day just talking to Davie and breastfeeding.  I love how she coos and “talks” now.  She just brightens up when she realizes she has someone’s full attention and they’re talking just to her!  Her favorite word now is ‘nnngoo.’  I love it. 🙂  Melts my heart every time she says it, then breaks into the brightest smile when I say it back to her.  She always says it when I’m telling her, “I love you,” so in my mind, she’s saying it back to me.  I’m so in love, it just breaks my heart.  Even when she napped we lay on the couch together with her head on my shoulder and her little body streched across mine.  I love feeling her breathe and her heart beat while she sleeps.  And I can kiss and smell her head that way. 🙂  Mom took Davie home with her tonight and will keep her tomorrow, too.  Davie and dad called me twice tonight, and I can tell they’re having a blast together.  I’m so blessed to have parents who are so into my favorite person in the whole world. 🙂 

Just nine weeks old, and already four adults’ worlds revolve around her.  She’s the boss of all of us.  And we love every minute.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aisha
    May 14, 2011 @ 12:35:16

    Going back to work is bittersweet 😦 Sounds like ou made the most of your time and kept your priorities in check! Love ya and so happy for ya 🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      May 14, 2011 @ 21:24:32

      thank ya, Aisha. You always got my back. 🙂 I’m sad to be going back to work, but I’m so happy Davie’s gonna be loved and adored every day by my parents. We couldn’t be luckier!

      Reply

  2. Katie
    May 14, 2011 @ 13:53:27

    I’m sure you’ve heard this before but it does get easier once you are back at work for awhile. You get used to the new normal. Good luck with the transition!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      May 14, 2011 @ 21:25:24

      Oh my gosh, I hope it gets easier. To add to the drama, I’m already scheduled to work overtime the first two weeks back! 😦 But then it’ll be Memorial Day and I’ll get a whole day of Davie love! 🙂

      Reply

  3. babybaker
    May 15, 2011 @ 18:50:37

    Awe, what a sweet post. I’m sorry you have to go back to work but it sounds like the two of you have bonded beautifully. Just think of the stories and nnngoos she’ll have for you at the end of your work day! Good luck!

    Reply

  4. Ashley
    May 16, 2011 @ 10:44:25

    I second that it does get easier! I’m glad your time has been so blissful. We all just need to win the lottery so we can just work because we enjoy it!

    Reply

  5. Stacey
    May 16, 2011 @ 14:30:55

    Thinking of you on your transition back!!! I second (or third, or whatever) the comment that it DOES get easier.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

