Oopsies, Owies and Uh-oh’s

Oopsies:

Lately we’ve been fighting going to sleep at night. Naps and middle-of-the night feedings are easy, she just slides right into sleep. But for some reason, from about 9 ’til 11 she justs fights it, no matter how sleepy she is! Last night I decided not to fight it, I’d just lie in bed with her and watch TV and wait it out. I propped her up on her tummy on a pillow, and was floored to find her fast asleep just 10 minutes later! I slid her right over into her bassinet. It’s probably a fluke, but we’ll try this position from now on!

watchin' the boob tubekonked out

I’ve become obsessed with TLC’s new show, Extreme Couponing. I’ll never become the couponer those women are, mostly ’cause of the time it takes and because none of the grocery stores in our area do double or triple coupons. šŸ˜¦ But, I’ve gotten some great tips! Yesterday I got a email coupon from Babies ‘R Us for $10 off two packages of Huggies, count or higher. It expires this Saturday, and we’re leaving town this weekend to visit Troy’s folks’ for Mother’s Day, so I rushed off to the store. I found two 84 count packages for $18 each. They gave me the $10 off coupon, plus I had two coupons from Huggies for $3.50 off each package, so at $17 off I basically got two packages for the price of one! Yay me!

Finally back home I went to get Davie out of her carseat and found her like this:

take the bow off next time, mom!At least she was asleep the whole ride! I'm such a bad mom! Owies:Davie LOVES her bouncy seat. We turn it on and she becomes transfixed by the turing wheels, the flashing lights and the nursery rhymes (which we already have memorized, in order). three blind mice ... the wheels on the bus ... pop goes the weasel ... mary had a little lamb...

Troy was trying to move the seat (with her in it) and a little bracket popped off, causing the white bar to fall forward and bonk Davie right in the forehead. Oh, the screaming! Mostly from Troy. A little breastfeeding, and Davie was all better. She just has a little bitty bruise above her left eye. Troy may never recover from the trauma.

Sometimes after a nap Little Missy can get very impatient while waiting for her snack. This afternoon she was fussing and in just the time it took to make the bottle, she made an inch-long scratch over her left eyebrow! I feel so bad! So I filed down her nails. She tolerated it for seven fingers, then much fussing and crying for the last three. šŸ˜¦

You can’t even see the bruise or scratch in pics, so chances are good she’ll recover. šŸ™‚ <I would insert a clever pic here but I forgot to upload it from my camera.>

Uh-oh’s:

I’ve been driving around with the rent check – for five days. Why can’t I remember to just drop it in the mailbox? What has happened to my short-term memory?
Last Friday I went for my HSG (hysterosalpinogram). The one I had in 2009 expired, so to go forward with IVF this summer I had to get a new one. I carefully watched the screen during the procedure, and saw my uterus appear, then ONE perfect tube with spillage at the end. Even after some twisting and rolling, the other tube never appeared. So apparently, I have a tube blockage.
I sat in my car after the procedure just panicking. Why another roadblock? What would we do now? I had one ovary that performed better than the other. Which one was it? With my luck, it’d be the one with the blocked tube. I called my IVF nurse at the Texas Fertility Clinic, Amanda, and left a long, rambling, panicky message.
Amanda called me back as I drove home. First, they’d like to actually get to see the films first before declaring my tube blocked. Plus, many women have blocked tubes and there are procedures to fix them. Secondly, aren’t we planning to do IVF next instead of an IUI? If so, we don’t even need the tubes. So, deeeeeep breaths. Dr. Silverberg was currently out of town but they would contact me shortly to let me know what they’d like to do next.
Lastly, I think my milk supply might be dwindling. I breastfeed and pump religiously all day long, but I’ve noticed Davie wants to suck for a shorter time, and I’m getting less when I pump afterwards. I’m not going to panic about this one, though. I’m just going to keep pumping and feeding and soaking up every minute of it. I love that time we share together, and that I can still comfort and soothe her with the boob.
11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeannine
    May 03, 2011 @ 17:18:52

    Omigosh those pictures are so cute! And thanks for the stories that illustrate you’re a real life mommy. šŸ˜‰

    Reply

  2. Myndi
    May 03, 2011 @ 22:48:52

    Oh my goodness, your bow picture is similar to something that happened to me today. The babies and I were at Target and I was carrying Juliet in the Moby in a forward-facing position. She had a little white sunhat on, but, of course, I couldn’t see her because she was forward facing. By the time we got to the car, I realized it had fallen in her face at some point. Boy did I feel like a bad Mommy! And I can’t believe no one said anything to me (granted, they were probably too busy picking their jaws up – you’d think they never saw triplets before!).

    It is disappointing about the tube, but if you’re doing IVF, it really doesn’t matter from a functional perspective. I can’t believe you’re doing it this summer. It seems so soon! I keep thinking about when we might want to start again…and I just can’t think on it too long these days. Here’s hoping the first round takes!

    Reply

  3. Pie
    May 04, 2011 @ 07:55:35

    I’ve learned to take my girl’s hat off after I put her in the car, because so many times she would have the hat totally over her eyes! She’ll be fussing in the backseat, and I’d just keep driving. Ooops, bad mom here!

    And the nails! The Critter is constantly scratching herself – and I’m trimming and filing her nails all the time. Even with the most diligent care, and she will give herself a nasty gash. I’m sure everyone looks at me like I torture my child or am a bad mom. Sigh…

    Just stories from the front, right? Glad to be sharing my mom stories and reading yours!!

    Reply

  4. linds
    May 04, 2011 @ 08:56:58

    Love the new pics of Miss Davie, the one with her headband is just too funny! Let me know what they say about your tube, I would be stressed out if I were you too! I have my appt with the RE today so I will post what she has to say…

    Reply

  5. Low Fat Lady
    May 05, 2011 @ 06:52:01

    Yea for going to sleep easily, I hope she is able to repeat it. I have watched the extreme couponing show as well. It’s amazing and I have looked a tiny bit to see if I could replicate any of it on a smaller scale. haven’t gotten too far yet. I am sorry about your hsg results. I hope that on a second look they think it’s not blocked or that with ivf you won’t have to worry about it anyways.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      May 14, 2011 @ 01:18:39

      I think I could do the couponing better if we had a place that doubled or tripled coupons, but the only place that does is Kroger and they’re only in the Houston and DFW areas – too far. šŸ˜¦ I’m doing my best to keep up with it, though! I’ve gotten to between $30 and $50 off on our really big grocery days. Every little bit helps!

      Reply

  6. MrsBushey
    May 11, 2011 @ 13:55:08

    I also have a blocked tube and bunk ovary, luckily they are both on the right side. But we managed to get pregnant with timed intercourse with only one. So I’m sure IVF will go nice and smooth with just 1 tube, especially since you don’t need it. Guess it just means IVF is the way to go, weren’t you trying to decide to do an IVF or IUI again? I thought I had read that here. So that just makes the decision for IVF the right one.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      May 14, 2011 @ 01:20:19

      I DID really clarify that for me! I think we really just got lucky with the IUI, and history is not likely to repeat itself. So it’s on to IVF for us! Lookin’ at July, probably. Maybe June – depends on the breastfeeding. If I still have milk in June I’ll wait to July for IVF, just to get in one more month of breastfeeding with Davie.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

