Drama Queen

Our female French bulldog, Dobby, is actually my dog.  I wanted a dog the whole time I was single, but I worked a lot and didn’t want a pet to spend days in a kennel.  So soon after we got married, I started pestering Troy for a dog.  He thought the cats were enough, so I sort of just snuck her home one day.  The first words out of his mouth when he got home were, “What the hell is it?!?”  To be fair, Frenchies are a bit weird lookin’ at the best of times and she was in that awkward, gawky teen-age phase.  Of course, now she and Troy are just likethis.  Two peas in a pod.

We wondered what the dogs would think when we brought Davie home.  I figured Dude would be the more interested one, and Dobby would be pretty much indifferent.  I was half right – Dude thinks Davie is just the most fastinating thing, ever!  He loves to sniff and smell her, and comes running from across the house to sit by her if she cries. 

Dobby was interested in smelling her for a week or two, then was indifferent.  She was much more interested in being with Troy.  Once we got past the hospitalizations and things started slowing down at home, Troy noticed Dobby seemed to have a little tummy ache.  The Frenchies have sensitive stomachs – they eat ANYTHING, but then end up throwing up, getting the shoots or little tummy aches.  While I was getting ready in the morning, planning to take Davie to a doctor’s appointment, I was trying to get the dogs in their kennels and thought Dobby was just ignoring me (she does that sometimes when she doesn’t want to do something).  I realized it was more than that – Dobby could barely walk!  I immediately called Troy.  She was stumbling up and down the stairs, and her little nose hung to the ground.  Sometimes she would pull herself across the floor with her front paws, like it was too hard to stand up. 

We panicked!  Mom and I threw Davie and Dobbie in the car and I called the vet on the way to Davie’s appointment (it was just a check-up).  As soon as Davie was done, we rushed our way across town to the vet.  (I started using our vet, Geana Ohlen, when she actually practiced close to where I was living at the time.  We’ve moved since, and she has a new practice farther from us, but we keep going to her because she’s been with us through it all!  Also, her in-laws are close friends of my parents, and I’ve been going to her for almost 10 years now, and she lets me pay it out if we have emergencies.  And she was so supportive when my kitty of 17 years, Johnny Doe, died.) 

So we rush Dobby into the office, and – low and behold, it seems she’s cured!  It’s a miracle!  She actually bounced off a wall!  She LOVES the vet’s office and they just adore her.  They fawn all over her and give her extra loves, special attention and treats.  She knows she’s the “supah-stah” when she’s there.  But since she’d been at death’s door just a moment before, they decided to keep her overnight for observation and a stool exam. 

So the next morning I drive 45 minutes to get back to the vet.  Turns out, she was FAKING the whole thing!  She was jealous whenever Davie was around, but fine when she’s on her own!  Geana just laughed and said she’d had a cat that did the same thing when she first moved in with her husband.  They checked her to make sure she didn’t have any intestinal problems, but $85 later it turns out she was just fine!  I took some soft dog food home to entice her to eat better.  What a little schmuck!

She was fine the whole day, so I thought she might be over it.  But as soon as Troy came home, it was back to death’s door!  It turns out she sometimes gets jealous when mom and I have Davie, but it’s mostly about Troy.  She still just ignores Davie, really has no interest in her.  But she immediately falls into a mope when Troy has her!  Dude is completely oblivious.  It’s just too funny.

It seems to be getting a little better, but she still has her times when she’ll put on a show.  Until Davie gets older, we’ll be sure she’s not alone with Dobby, but I don’t think Dobbs has any interest in Davie specifically.  We’ve been giving Dobbs lots of extra love and attention, and she’s loving getting her own soft dog food.  What a spoiled little shit, I’m telling you.

Here’s a couple of little clips showing Dobbs doing her “death’s door” act:

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. emily
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 13:35:54

    aww that is the most pathetic thing ever!!! what a cutie pie!!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Apr 29, 2011 @ 20:52:37

      She’s too funny! I hope it gets better, though! It amazes me when they show us they’re so much smarter than we ever thought they were. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Amber
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 14:47:15

    Wow- that is hilarious and sad all at the same time! But she is so cute!!! We have a cat that starts acting crazy if my husband doesn’t love on him enough. He’s 6 now but he still likes to lay across his chest and pretend nurse on his shirt. 🙂

    Reply

  3. lifebytheday
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 16:09:22

    Omigosh, that is hysterical and so pathetic! Our dog is so jealous of my DH (when he plays with other dogs, holds friends’ babies, etc.) and I’m foreseeing a similar problem. I think a baby doll is going to start living at our house very soon! ;-P

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Apr 28, 2011 @ 20:55:28

      Even getting another dog (Dude), and all the cats we fostered didn’t phase her! But in all fairness, a baby does take a lot more time and attention! 🙂 It’s so funny to see her go from hyper to death’s door in an instant when Troy comes home!

      Reply

  4. Wombded
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 21:02:46

    Hilarious! What a great story! She’s so busted!

    Reply

  5. Christine
    Apr 30, 2011 @ 22:31:13

    Awwww! That is so funny and cute! I’m surprised mine never pulled anything like that! They definitely pouted though. Now my son and our male dog are just best friends. It’s so cute to watch them play together!

    Reply

  6. katery
    May 01, 2011 @ 19:08:02

    that is so weird, i’m glad she’s ok but i hope she stays that way!!

    Reply

  7. Another Dreamer
    May 02, 2011 @ 20:47:25

    oh my word, that is hilarious!!! I’m sure very scary at the time though!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

