Week of Easter

 
The Baby Reunion for the Texas Fertility Center and Austin IVF was a lot of fun!  BFF Melissawas there volunteering with her co-workers from Austin IVF.  It was fun to catch up with her and her friend Jennifer, who actually helped her get the job at Austin IVF.  OMG, I’ve never seen so many twins in one place!  There were all versions there – boy/girl, two girls, two boys.  I didn’t see any triplets or higher order multiples, though.  It was encouraging for me to see a few families who had kids of different ages, all concieved at TFC.  It gave me hope for #2!  The oldest IVF “baby” there was 24 years old!  Their oldest IVF baby is actually 36.  Wild!  The youngest was 2 weeks old.  We got to take a picture with our hero, the man who knocked me up, Dr. Silverberg. 🙂

Baby Magic Man, Dr. Silverberg
Jennifer and Melissa

Little Miss Thang slept through the whole thing. 

It's my part and I'll sleep if I want to!

 Monday Mom, Davie and I went for our Meet the Baby/Consult appointment with Dr. Silverberg.  My IUI nurse, Keri, wasn’t able to go to the Baby Reunion so it was nice that she got to hold and play with Davie at the appointment. 🙂  Although Dr. Silverberg had said in the past that our only chance at a family was IVF, since we did get pregnant with Davie from an IUI he felt it would make sense to try another one first before IVF.  The bad news:  I have to stop breastfeeding before we move forward.  But, the good news: right before we found out we were pregnant with Davie,  United insurance had told me that I would have to switch to another fertility doctor, but now they have been making exceptions for treatment at TFC to be covered at the in-network level on a case-by-case basis.  Dr. Silverberg encouraged me to register for an exception right away, so I did that as soon as I got home.

Over this past week, poor baby Davie has developed a ton of congestion.  She’s usually stuffy in the morning, but by the time we feed her the first bottle, it’s usually gone.  But now she’s also sneezing, coughing, and making tragic choking noises.  Needless to say, I didn’t get much sleep.  Every hour I didn’t hear her breathe I had to get up just to touch her!  I finally called the nurse at the peditrician’s office, and she told me pretty much what I thought, that we were already doing all we could to make her feel better.  Lots of Little Noses saline drops and suctioning, using a wedge pillow, breastfeeding, using a cold steam humidifier and monitoring her temperature.  She hasn’t had a fever, thank goodness.  I just feel so bad for my poor little girl.

I did find two things that seemed to soothe her:  warming her formula a little more to loosen the congestion; and breastfeeding. I know it sounds contradictory that being forced to breathe through her nose while breastfeeding would help, but she just instantly seemed to breathe easier when she was breastfeeding.  When she just couldn’t seem to sleep in any position, she would fall asleep almost immediately if she was lying on my chest or stomach with a nipple in her mouth.  So I let her sleep on my tummy and nurse as much as she wanted to.  This helped clarify in my mind that I’m not ready to stop breastfeeding yet.  She still needs what little I make, and the comfort of it.  And I love the bonding.  I think we both need it for a little longer.  If I start to lose my milk after I go back to work, I’ll let it go naturally.  But if I can keep it going, I’ll nurse her until June, July at the latest.  I definitely want to start TTC #2 no later than July, I feel sure of that.

This morning I went to meet the reproductive endocrinologist that United wanted us to switch to, Dr. Arredondo.  I wanted to get to know him and his staff, and for him to be familiar with my history, just in case we have to switch to him at the last minute.  I have to say, I really liked him, the facility and his nurse.  Honestly, the only drawbacks are:  1. I’m already familiar with Dr. Silverberg and his process (not to mention we’ve been successful with him) and 2. Dr. Arrendondo’s clinic only does IVF in San Antonio, over 105 miles from Hutto (we live in Hutto, a suburb just north of Austin).  We would have to travel to San Antonio if a monitoring appointment or an IUI fell on the weekend, and for egg retrieval and embryo transfer for IVF. 

We talked about doing another IUI first versus pursuing IVF right away.  He made a great point that I hadn’t thought of – ovarian reserve drops off sharply between 40 and 45, and I’ll be 40 in June.  His advice was that I go for the maximum chance of retrieving an egg now rather than going for an IUI and hoping for the best.  He showed me research on the issue, and it helped clarify our path for me.  I feel confident that going straight to IVF is the right choice for us.  He also advised that I stop breastfeeding before pursuing #2.  I told him my plan about stopping in July at the latest, and he thought it was great that I had a plan that felt right to me.  I appreciated his enthusiasm and his outgoing personality.  I have to say, I’d feel totally comfortable being under his care if it became necessary.

A few hours after I got home, the nurse that is handling my exception case at United called and finished my registration.  She had already reviewed my file and had determined that we are eligible for an exception!  She feels certain that we will be approved to be treated at the Texas Fertility Center AND Austin IVF (the andrology/embryology lab) at the in-network level!  This time we won’t have to pay Austin IVF up front for IVF servies and be re-imbursed later (which is what we had to do the last time); instead, Austin IVF will simply file with United like TFC does!  Now that the process has been started, all I have to do is call her on the first day of my cycle where we pursue IVF!  Which will be as soon as my milk dries up or in July, whichever comes first!

Last bit of good insurance news:  we are now covered for THREE IVFs!  When we started this process, our coverage was for three IUI’s (which we’ve exhausted) and three IVF’s.  We used all three IUI’s and one IVF, so I thought we had two IVF chances left.  But, Time Warner made a global change in their fertility coverage policy with United this yea:  everyone gets three chances at conception TOTAL, whether the tries be IUI’s or IVF’s.  Because it is a global policy change, in January of this year everyone started fresh with the new policy.  I realize this is really bad news from some folks who hadn’t used all their IUI’s yet.  But it’s good news for us – since everyone is starting over fresh, we have three more tries at IVF in our pocket!  I know how insanely lucky we are to have any insurance coverage for IVF whatsoever.  God is so good!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ashley
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 22:08:25

    I am SO insanely jealous of your insurance coverage!! Mine didn’t even cover pregnancy tests! You are awesome for already getting on the ball with this, I am still traumatized from the first 6 months of infancy and the twins will be one tomorrow!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Apr 23, 2011 @ 01:12:35

      One newborn is traumatizing, I can’t imagine having two! I think you’re brave, and the twins are beautiful! Happy One Year to them! 🙂
      I know, I really know, we are beyond lucky with our fertility insurance coverage. We didn’t even know about it until we found out we were infertile! Troy already worked for Time Warner by then. We owe them for little Davie! She wouldn’t be here if not for them!

      Reply

  2. Low Fat Lady
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 15:47:35

    Great insurance coverage! Glad the changes in feeding helped her to feel better.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Apr 23, 2011 @ 01:16:18

      We are so lucky to have the coverage we do, I know it!
      I just love breastfeeding. It makes me feel so close to Davie, and I’m so glad it makes her feel better, too. I hope this congestion passes soon!

      Reply

  3. Womded
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 20:49:47

    What good news! You may be able to start back nursing Davie during your pregnancy. Also, you’ll have an easier time breastfeeding next time b/c your boobies will continue to healb/t now and then. For women who’ve had reduction, it is always better with subsequent babies. If you choose to bf while pg, your chances of it going well with #2 are even better.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Apr 23, 2011 @ 01:22:44

      Hey, Wombded! I was wondering about exactly that! Do you think I could resume breastfeeding if I stop for a while? What if I stop making milk while we’re TTC? How do I get it going again? Also, the first month of IVF is taking BC pills. Can I still BF while taking the pills and before starting Gonal F?
      The RE said that BFing during TTC could interfere with egg production and implantation. How soon after pregnancy is confirmed (hopin’ I do get preg again) is it save to start BFing again?
      I’m so glad you brought this up, I’ll definitely ask the RE about it!

      Reply

      • Womded
        Apr 24, 2011 @ 20:39:09

        I doubt the RE will be very supportive about the BF. If he is, give him an award! I don’t know that much about it, but I know I read messages from a lot of women on IVFC who BF right through cycling and through the subsequent pregnancies and lied to their RE’s about doing it. I don’t recommend that, but I’d imagine that pregnancy is the only thing that would make restarting after stopping possible for someone who’s had BR. I’ll get my books out this week and read up on it.

        Reply

        • iamstacey
          Apr 28, 2011 @ 13:15:48

          Ok, you were totally right. The RE and his IVF RN Amanda both recommended waiting until after stopping BFing. I’m going to keep BFing for now – both Davie and I seem to need it. I’ll re-evaluate at the end of June if I’m still able to BF by then. I just enjoy that time with her so much.
          I had thought about just keeping it going without saying anything. The RE said it can interfere with implantation, however.

          Reply

  4. Wombded
    Apr 24, 2011 @ 20:39:58

    Just noticed I had my “name” spelled wrong!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

