Elsie

I’ve taken all your advice to heart!  I started the day with the advised oatmeal for increased milk production, followed by carrots for lunch, and Mother’s Milk tea all through the day.  I reasearched medicines that help increase milk production, and found lots of info on Reglan.  Before I call my OB and ask him more about it, has anyone taken it?  If so, did it help a lot?  It sounds like it has a lot of side effects, but if it really does help increase milk supply I’ll try it! 

I have to say, I’ve never felt closer to our friends the bovines.  I’ve been inseminated – just like they inseminate cows.  I drink a tea that smells just like grass all day long (like a lawn, peoples, not the other grass) – just like cows eat grass all day.  I hook myself up to a pump religiously every few hours – just like a faithful milk cow.  If I start growing black and white spots, well, slap my ass and call me Elsie.

And find me a really peaceful pature.  I could use a nap. 🙂

Dressed just for daddy today:

I got my Darth Vader "Who's Your Daddy?" onsie on today just for Daddy!

Onesie by Aunt JoAnn. Bows by Nana.

32 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ashley
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 21:53:06

    She is just precious!! I know how you feel, I felt like a cow as well. Speaking of cows, I produced the mother load of milk after eating red meat. My doc said she has never heard of that, but I kid you not, if I felt like I was lagging behind I would eat a steak or a burger and chug water and then the milk was flowing.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Mar 24, 2011 @ 20:45:22

      Red meat for dinner it is! 🙂 I’ll try anything! I’ve been a little lax on my water intake, too. I’ve been drinking so much cranberry juice lately I’d forgotten about keepinig up on the water!

      Reply

  2. Womded
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 22:17:52

    Funny, funny post. I did take Reglan. It didn’t work and you shouldn’t take it for more than 2 weeks. I’m about to send you an email.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Mar 24, 2011 @ 20:49:45

      I’m glad you told me about it! It’s got some really serious side effects. I’m so glad everyone has had so much great advice! It’s good to know I’m not alone in this particular issue. It’s felt like such a personal failure, it helps to be able to put it in perspective. Helps me to remember to focus on the sweet times I do have nursing my girl, and not worry about the times I can’t.

      Reply

  3. My Bumpy Journey
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 22:24:54

    Reglan has helped a lot of woman- but can have some trouble some side effects. Some people get really restless and get insomnia. I can’t take it b/c I get dystonic (all my muscles get rigid), but I have seen a LOT of women have no issues and lots of milk!
    I wish I had more to tell you on that.

    You sweet girl is so cute! I love that shirt!!!!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Mar 24, 2011 @ 20:54:53

      Wow, I think that’s one of the worst side effects! I’m so glad they went away! I love the Star Wars onesies, too. My sister-in-law found them online before she was born. There’s a “I Love Star Wars” one, the “Who’s Your Daddy” Darth Vader one, and a “Storm Pooper” one. They’re so cute! (I do realize I’m showing my geek side…:)

      Reply

  4. katie
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 22:35:28

    Reglan has been black labeled by the FDA. I took it for 6 years. There is a Canadian drug called domperidone that is used to treat the same gi issues as reglan. It is the” therapy of choice” per my gastroenterologist. I believe it is also used to stimulate milk production. All you need is a prescription from your doctor, and you can order it online. I get 500 pills for$ 86. Good luck!

    Reply

  5. Kari
    Mar 24, 2011 @ 00:49:42

    In the beginning I took Fenugreek and Goat’s Rue religiously. I was so terrified that I was having supply issues. LD seemed to get really gassy from all the things I was taking. I reluctantly quit the herbs and turns out my supply grew on it’s own just fine. I’m not sure how much you’re pumping or how much you’re making, but I was very surprised at how my supply seemed to grow on its own as time went by. I pumped 12x/day for the first 3 months, but I wasn’t nursing at all. The most important time to pump to increase your supply is between 1am-4am(sucks, I know), that’s when your milk making hormones are highest. I’m still pumping twice during that time(and I’m 8 months in). I know you aren’t exclusively pumping, but this is a great resource for information about pumping anyway. A lot of women here take Domiperidone and there’s lots of information for increasing supply and the beginner’s guide is a wealth of knowledge about pumping in general. http://forums.ivillage.com/t5/Exclusively-Pumping/ct-p/iv-ppexcluspump
    She’s just too precious!! You’re doing a fabulous job Mama!!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Mar 24, 2011 @ 21:05:56

      Thanks for the link, Keri! I can’t wait to get into it! Man, I thought I was comitted to making breastfeeding work, but you take it to whole whole new level, mama! 12 times a day – that’s religiously every two hours! Wow! You are a superstar! I try to breastfeed her each time she wakes, then I pump, then hand express to really empty my breasts. It’s been about 8 times a day. I’m going to try to up it to 10 now, though.

      Reply

  6. lifebytheday
    Mar 24, 2011 @ 06:33:17

    LOL, at least you’ve still got your sense of humor. No advice to offer, obviously, but wishing you lots of luck! Hugs!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Mar 24, 2011 @ 21:46:48

      I got a bra just for pumping that has open circles around the nipples. The pumping devices fit through the circles and the bra holds them on so it’s sort of hands-free. When I detach the pump lines I look like I’m wearing a freaky, risque Madonna cone bra! It totally cracks my mom up. Thanks, Mom.

      Reply

  7. Pie
    Mar 24, 2011 @ 10:44:59

    Love the onesie!!

    I feel like a cow too, often. I’m sorry I can’t help with increasing supply, as you know, that has not been my issue. I do eat oatmeal or oatmeal cereal every morning, geez, I didn’t know that was something that increased supply. Whoops. Well, it worked for me!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Mar 24, 2011 @ 21:48:16

      I think I’m doubling up on the oatmeal from now on! 🙂 Even when the issues we’re dealing with are different, I love it that we can still all be there for each other. I do love my IF sisters!

      Reply

  8. katery
    Mar 24, 2011 @ 17:23:46

    you are doing great mama 🙂
    xoxo

    Reply

  9. Another Dreamer
    Mar 24, 2011 @ 17:41:56

    She is adorable, and I LOVE the onsie! lol

    Hope your milk supply picks up soon. I know it’s frustrating, and I hope something works soon.

    Reply

  10. linds
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 14:21:18

    BAHAHAHA! I love your comment about just call me Elsie, that made me crack up! I hope these tricks the other ladies told you will help you out, they sound like good things.

    Thank you for your lovely comments and support on my blog the other day. 🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Mar 28, 2011 @ 18:18:01

      I love keeping up with your story – especially when we get Loki pics! 🙂 He should be a model for greeting cards! 🙂 I’m so glad you stopped by and your birthday was so wonderful!

      Reply

  11. Katie
    Mar 28, 2011 @ 11:58:05

    Keep the pictures comin’!

    I felt the same way when I pumped. In fact, I used to “moo” sometimes at my husband when I did. 🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Mar 28, 2011 @ 18:20:01

      bwahahaha! That cracks me up! So I did it to mom yesterday, so she just had to find one of those “How Things Are Made” shows where they showed dairy cows being milked! I swear, no respect. 🙂 If I had one of those industrial milking machines, it’d pull my boobs off!

      Reply

  12. Leah
    Mar 29, 2011 @ 13:32:28

    She is so precious! I just had the time to sit and really look at your blog. You live in Austin? We are north off of Parmer Lane. Are you north or south?
    Small world, huh?

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Mar 29, 2011 @ 18:59:34

      It IS a small world! 🙂 We live in Hutto and hubby works off Parmer and I work for a cancer treatment company. I travel around to our different offices in Austin and surrounding areas – wherever they need me for the day. 🙂 Our first is just now almost a month old! We’ll be seeing Keri and Dr. Silverberg in April to hopefully start working on #2! 🙂

      Reply

  13. Lindsey
    Mar 29, 2011 @ 15:36:38

    The pictures are so cute!

    Reply

  14. Low Fat Lady
    Mar 29, 2011 @ 19:27:07

    Very cute! I hope that all the things you are trying help!

    Reply

  15. birdsandsquirrels
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 14:13:14

    I started to write in another comment that I took both fenugreek and reglan. Reglan did work for me, but I kept getting blocked milk ducts, and the increased milk made me even more miserable. Plus, it can cause depression or make depression worse, so that’s why it is recommended to only take it for a short period of time. I was not ever able to get anyone to prescribe domperidone for me, so I never tried it (though I have heard great things about it). I ended up taking fenugreek for many many months. I hated the taste of the milk teas, so I took straight fenugreek capsules, the nature’s way brand. I ended up building up to taking 12 to 16 capsules a day and it helped a lot. As she got older, the actual breastfeeding got way easier.
    Good luck!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Apr 11, 2011 @ 23:39:59

      You know, I read and read about fenugreek and then I forgot all about it! I’ll get some at the grocery store on Wednesday! I’m so glad you reminded me! I’m going to the OB that day, too, so I’ll find out if he’ll give me the Domperidone or not. I hope he’ll at least give me a prescription, ’cause the Reglan is really doing great but like you said I can’t take it long, and I’ve heard so much better things about the Dom.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

