Three Weeks

It’s hard to believe that Little Girl will be three weeks old on Wednesday.  Having spent chunks of the first two weeks in the hospital, it feels like I’ve only had her a week, at most.  It’s fastinating how quickly she has trained three adults!  🙂  I love every moment with her.  I can’t imagine maternity leave coming to an end.  Just holding her on my chest is the most amazing thing in the world.  How can she already have expressions and preferences?  I still can’t believe she came out of me.

She can fall asleep anywhere, anytime.  Favorite naptimes are during all daylight hours.  Favorite party time is about 9pm – midnight, of course.

Naptime again

after-nap naptime

I’m feeling TONS better.  I’m almost done with the antibiotics for the kidney infection.  At some point during the pregnancy, my back and hips were out of alignment, which caused problems with the sciatic nerve in the left hip.  The OB recommended I continue seeing the chiropractor for now, and it really seems to help a lot.  I’m also having a weird pain in my abdomen, about three inches above my belly button and to the left side (around the bottom of my ribs).  It’s been hurting since the baby was born, but put on the back burner with the kidney infection and the hip pain.  It feels a lot like a torn muscle.  Mom thinks it might be a hernia.  I asked the OB about it but he said it was my ovaries kicking back in.  I let him blow it off, but I know it’s not ovarian pain.  It’s far above the ovary area.  So I’ve contacted his office about it and hopefully we can get it resolved before I go back to work.  While getting Baby Girl here has been worth every ache, I’m ready to be free of pain for a change if at all possible!

Breast feeding is still a work in progress.  I love every minute she’ll take on the breast.  Sometimes we have to work with her a bit, get her to take a small bottle then put her on the breast.  She still fights the left breast and usually won’t take it.  I pump after every time we feed her (if I’m at home), and it seems like my supply is getting a little better.  A friend recommended “Mother’s Milk Tea,” an herbal tea from the grocery store that is supposed to do wonders with increasing milk supply.  Several other friends have sworn by it, too, and I’m hoping it really makes a difference!  It kind of smells like a freshly mown lawn, and tastes a lot like green tea.  I think it has green tea, fennel, anise and something else in it.

We’ve been supplementing Davie with newborn Similac, which is what the hospital started her on before we left.  We’ve been using the already mixed up one, since it works best with the SNS.  Now that we’re not using the SNS, the pediatrician has recommended we go to Enfamil.  Apparently it contains extra vitamin D and DHEA.  We just started her on the powdered Enfamil tonight and she’s been really fussy.  I don’t know if she’s just having a fussy night or if it’s the formula, but I guess we’ll figure it out pretty soon.  It’d be nice if she’d go to the Enfamil as the powder is far less expensive than the ready-made formula.  Acutally, what would be really great is if I’d just start producing enough breast milk for her.

On Saturday, Troy’s mom Marilyn and his step-sister Lisa came down for the day.  It’s about a 3-hour drive from where they live up near Dallas.  I wish they would’ve stayed for the night but for some reason they wanted to just visit for the day.  I was a little disappointed they didn’t want to stay, but SO happy they did come.  They seem to have a great time just snuggling and holding Davie. 

Grandma Marilyn

Troy made a wonderful brisket by smoking it all night.  Sunday evening my brother Chris and sister-in-law JoAnn came and ate dinner with us.  We had such a great time just hanging out together and visiting!  I love how much they love Davie.  They always make such a fuss over her.  They announced to mom that they are formally “trying” and are following a book that has techniques for helping get a girl.  I hope they do have a girl.  Chris has always wanted one.  I think they’ll only have one child and I’d love to see Chris get to raise a little girl, and Davie would have a cousin close to her age.

Uncle Chris and Aunt JoAnn

In other news, Moo found the most awesome paper bag.  Ever.  Endless, noisiest entertainment.  Ever.

Best toy EVAH!!

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. My Bumpy Journey
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 00:17:56

    Awwww!I am so glad you all are doing well! I just can’t believe it has been three months already! YIKES!

    Craziness!
    She is so sweet, and isn’t amazing how they have their little personalities already? When do you have to go back to work?

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Mar 23, 2011 @ 21:14:27

      I was hoping to take off a full 12 weeks, but it looks like it’s going to be 10 weeks. That’ll be May 16, so I still have a month and a half to go, thank goodness! Every day with her is so amazing!

      Reply

  2. Kari
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 05:20:22

    Adorable!! Hoping you feel 100% better quickly!! Love the paperbag Mooster!!

    Reply

  3. athena
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 07:21:40

    cuteness!! glad you’re feeling better.. hope you get that other pain figured out! we’re at 5 weeks and every day, about a billion times, i think i can’t believe he came out of me.. i think we’ll be feeling that for a long time!! ah, yes our party time is also 9pm-12am!! 😀 fun!!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Mar 23, 2011 @ 21:17:46

      what is it about the late night hours? No matter what we do, we can’t seem to move it back! *sigh* Maybe I’ll get the hang of it soon!
      Turns out, I tore an abdominal muscle on the left side of my belly button. If it wasn’t covered in inches of fat, it would be part of the “six pack” muscles (hah!). I’m supposed to take Alleve and Motrin for five days, then start doing core exercises to strengthen the muscle. It’ll hurt, but it’ll feel good to get some strength back! 🙂

      Reply

  4. Txgirl
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 10:17:29

    For BF–apparently carrots are not only good for eyesight–http://www.sprogblogger.com/2011/02/05/daucus-carota-galactogogue/
    Couldn’t hurt to eat a bunch! Glad to hear you are feeling better-

    Reply

  5. Pie
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 13:44:34

    She is too cute! Enjoy the sleepiness now, I remember thinking at that point “what is everyone so up in arms about? my kid sleeps so well!” Ha!

    I’m glad to hear you are feeling better, and had some good family time. And my cat loves paper bags, we actually call it “Bag o’ Cat” where she gets in and my DH carries her around by the bag handles. She loves it!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Mar 23, 2011 @ 21:19:17

      Poor Moo is traumatized now – Mom filled the paper bag with stuff to take home (we’re going to my folks’ for my dad’s birthday). I’ll have to get him a paper bag all his own! 🙂

      Reply

  6. Womded
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 20:16:12

    OATMEAL!!! I can’t believe I forgot to say it before. Oatmeal made a huge difference in my milk supply. The tea is works, but not as well. Do it all! It all adds up. Also, I have a ton of Domperidone leftover and it won’t expire for a few months. I know it would seem crazy to take a drug from a complete stranger, but if you want it I’d love to give it to you. Email me if you do. It would make me so happy for it to be used by someone who really needs it rather than have it go to waste.

    I’m so happy you girls are having fun! Enjoy! Hope your aches and pains are gone soon.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Mar 23, 2011 @ 21:20:48

      I already added in the oatmeal for breakfast! It’s a good idea anyways – it always keeps me full longer than cereal. And it’s good fiber! Thanks for all the advice! I’ll send you an email shortly. My email is Daisy6671@aol.com.

      Reply

  7. Womded
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 20:19:39

    One more thing…Our NICU nurses spent a lot of time talking to us about how much harsher powdered formulas are on their little tummies than the ready-to-feed. We bit the bullet and paid for the ready-to-feed for the whole year. It hurt! However, it gave me some peace. It was hard enough to have to supplement at all.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Mar 23, 2011 @ 21:22:21

      You know, she’s been fussy all night tonight. Normally she’ll take a bottle over the boob, but tonight she wants the boob more than the bottle. I love that – I LOVE to breast feed – but I wonder if it’s a sign that you’re right and the powder formula is hurting her tummy. You know it felt wrong to me to go from the ready-made to the powder. I should’ve followed my instincts.

      Reply

  8. babybaker
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 15:59:31

    so glad you’re starting feeling better! davie is super sweet. i LOVE her naptime pic. so cute!

    Reply

  9. Katie
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 20:10:43

    Thanks for sharing the pictures! I’m so glad you are feeling a lot better too!

    Reply

  10. Jenny
    Mar 24, 2011 @ 16:19:33

    So glad its going so well with Davie – she’s adorable! Don’t knock the sleeping – my lil guy slept a lot too, and then he learned to move! He is 1 yr old today and keeps us very busy chasing him!

    Keep up the good work with the BF – its tough, I know. I had to pump tons to keep my supply up b/c he wouldn’t nurse. I took Fenugreek pills – they worked really well, even if they do make you smell like maple syrup. 🙂 I tried the Mother’s milk tea – I did it for a few days and didn’t see a big difference and i couldn’t stand the taste, so I stuck with the Fenugreek. But do whatever you need to make it work for you.

    Enjoy this time – I know you will, it flies by fast!

    Reply

  11. Low Fat Lady
    Mar 29, 2011 @ 19:27:51

    So cute! glad you are feeling better!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

