Two Steps … uh, Backward, One Step … Back

Guess where I am?  If you guessed ‘in the hospital,’ go buy a lottery ticket, quick!  Yep, I just couldn’t stay away. 

Ever since the birth, I’ve had an achy/crampy feeling in my lower abdomen and my lower back.  Just above my hips in the back I would sometimes get a stabbing pain that made it hard to walk.  I figured it was normal – just everything falling back into place after the birth.  As long as I took the pain meds right on time (every four hours), it was manageable.  But if I missed a dose, it got really bad.  A few times, I ended up curled on the couch in pain, unable to move or breathe deeply.  Once I even cried, and I didn’t even cry during labor!  (due to pain – I did cry at one point when I was scared, and a little bit out of happiness once she was born)

On Friday, mom, Troy, Davie and I trekked down to south Austin.  I used to work in south Austin, and I left many good friends behind when I began working up in north Austin.  BFF Judy still works at the south location.  Troy had his yearly physical check-up, and he still likes to see the same doctor even though we’ve moved north, so we accompanied him to his appointment then headed over to my old office to show off Davie. 

I woke up in pain, but figured it was because I had missed my pain meds dose during the night.  Once I took the pills, I assumed the day would get easier.  But the pain just got worse and worse.  I managed to make it through Troy’s appointment and to show Davie off to a few of the people I used to work with, but then we had to leave.  I could barely stand, mom and Troy had to help me to to car.  I don’t know how I hid it during the visit.  We drove straight to the hospital ER from there.

Troy half-drug me to the ER window, and when we told them I had just recently delivered, they whisked me off to L&D.  From about noon ’til midnight, it’s all a haze of unbearable pain.  I thought maybe my appendix had burst?  They thought at first I might be trying to pass a kidney stone.  It took three tries for them to start an IV, each attempt more painful than the one before.  A pelvic exam that was torture.  I couldn’t sit still, I just writhed in pain.  The pain would make me shiver, my teeth wouldn’t stop chattering, and I puked constantly even though I hadn’t eaten anything since the day before.  Even now, from a place of comfort looking back on those hours, it’s hard to describe the pain.  At one point, I remember mom, Troy and myself, all three of us were in tears.  Several hours and tests later, they discovered I had a double kidney infection.  They probably introduced the bacteria during all the attempts it took them to get a catheter in after the baby was born when I was so swollen.

My mom called my sister-in-law JoAnn and asked her if she’d be able to drive her home (to mine and Troy’s house) with Davie if I was admitted for the night.  JoAnn called my brother, Chris, and he immediately took the rest of the day off and the two of them headed straight over to the hospital.  They are so good to us and to our family.  They set up camp in the waiting room and took over Davie’s care while Mom and Troy watched out for me. 

Davie and Aunt JoAnn

Uncle Chris

Finally, sweet morphine.  Over the past 24 hours they’ve given me IV antibiotics, Clindamycin and Gentamycin, saline and morphine.  Today I slowly transitioned over from the morphine to Norco (hyrdrocodone) and Motrin.   When I was finally being wheeling into the post-partum room where I’ll be spending the rest of my stay here, I was pleasantly surprised to find two wet spots on the front of my gown.  I hadn’t breastfed since early morning, and my boobs were leaking!  The ER doc was so kind and ordered a Medela Symphony pump for me to keep in the room.   The only plus side to being here has been that I’ve amped up the number of times I’ve been pumping, hopefully increasing the demand.

 The pain started easing a lot this morning, and I feel SO much better yesterday and today.  Mom and Dad brought Davie and stayed for about 5 hours.  I just wanted to hold and snuggle with her.  I wish I could’ve breastfed her, but I’ve gotta pump and dump until all the morphine is out of my system. 

The doc finally came and visited us at 6pm tonight (Sunday night).  My last does of antibiotics is tonight, so I’ll be going home tomorrow morning.  They’ll send me home with antibiotics and Motrin.  I’ll be so glad to be home!  I just miss my little girl so much.  I feel like I’m missing her entire newborn stage!  I’m really afraid when I get home she won’t want the breast any more.  It’ll break my heart if she doesn’t want to breastfeed.

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. athena
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 20:59:22

    Hugs!!!!! You poor thing!!!! Hope you feel better soon!

    Reply

  2. Kari
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 21:29:20

    (((Big Hugs))) So sorry you’re dealing with all of that. Stacey she’s so my beautiful!! I hope when you go home tomorrow things go prefectly from then on. I hope pumping helps your supply. In the beginning I thought my supply wasn’t ever going to be enough but hopefully soon your supply will be ample.

    Reply

  3. Bumpy Journey
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 00:43:48

    UGH! Kidney infections are so horrible. I Have had three or four in my life, and I had ONE doctor that gave me Ultram. Yippe. I am so happy they treated you right!!!!

    Glad you get to go home soon and be back to cuddling with your sweetie pie!!

    No wonder you got to catch up on some blogs. 🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Mar 14, 2011 @ 00:50:24

      I’d never had one before! Now that I know what I’m feeling, I’ll never let it go so long again! But hopefully it’ll never happen again! Aargh, it was awful.
      I can’t wait to get home and snuggle in with baby girl! It’s just the most fun to be had! 🙂

      Reply

  4. Pie
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 08:52:15

    OMG, you poor thing! I hope you are feeling much better this morning and are on your way home to see and snuggle your little girl. And don’t worry, you have plenty of newborn time ahead of you, you haven’t missed anything. And good job boobs!

    Reply

  5. Christine
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 19:20:06

    Wow! I’m so sorry it was such a rough beginning. So glad your baby could come and visit! Hope your bfing relationship didn’t suffer, but don’t beat yourself up over it no matter what happens! Once you are feeling back to your best, you’ll find there are lots of ways you bond. In a few weeks she’ll love getting baths and will smile and coo and feeding her will not seem so big!

    Reply

  6. Aisha
    Mar 15, 2011 @ 10:01:23

    Oh no 😦 I’m so sorry! Don’t worry about that- she’s still young enough to not prefer one over the other- and if she does- you can bring her back to the breast- me and my son battled it out for three weeks [he wanted bottle] but he eventually gave up! lol. Davie is still a newborn! 🙂 No time has passed!!! Enjoy and soak up each moment. Glad you are better now!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Mar 17, 2011 @ 20:32:05

      I’m so glad you told me about your experience. I thought of it a lot this past week while we’ve battled it out ourselves! It’s getting better. It helps if I give her a little from a bottle first to take the edge off, then breastfeed her. It’s still my favorite thing! I just love breastfeeding her.

      Reply

  7. Jeannine
    Mar 15, 2011 @ 11:45:35

    Oh sweetie, I am so sorry!!! I’m late in commenting, so it sounds like you’re starting to feel better already…but I hope that you get home and settled in with your little girl VERY SOON! Hugs 🙂

    Reply

  8. Ashley
    Mar 15, 2011 @ 23:04:21

    I am so sorry, that sucks!

    On another note I was so happy to read through your posts once I got back from vacation! I love the name you chose and your daughter is so beautiful.

    Get well soon!

    Reply

  9. Christy
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 19:28:40

    OMG! Oh, no! Stacey, I am so sorry!
    I hope you’re already home and back on a routine w/beautiful davie

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Mar 17, 2011 @ 20:37:20

      Mom brought her up to the hospital for hours every day, but I still missed her so much! The doctor was almost 6 hours late on Sunday coming in to check me out of the hospital, and I ended up just sobbing for the last two hours because I wanted to leave so badly! It was really hard to be away from her. I’m so glad to be home!

      Reply

  10. Stacey
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 23:54:49

    So relieved to see in the comments that you are HOME and doing better. How awful! Mine weren’t as serious as yours, but I had some complications after returning home from the hospital when I had my baby and it was so sad having to leave her so often to go to doctor’s appointments. I remember all I wanted to do was just stay home and hold her. (And having to “pump and dump” is the pits!!)
    At any rate, I’m happy that it’s behind you now and you can get back to enjoying your precious girl. She looks so snuggly!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

