38 Weeks?

Yesterday I left work early to go to this week’s OB appointment.  I’m supposed to go to the OB every Friday, but since he’s gonna be out Thurs and Fri this week he had me come in early on Wednesday.  No cervical check, so I haven’t experienced that drama yet.  According to their calculations, I’m 37 weeks and something days.  Dr. Breen said everything looks great, but he kept measuring my stomach over and over and poking at my belly ’til I thought I’d pee on the table.

Finally, he decided he wanted me to go to the Texas Perinatal Group today for a more thorough ultrasound to measure size and weight.  That’s where we had our genetic screen and our 20 week anatomy scan, and where I went for the non-stress test a month ago.  At that time, they had the baby’s size was measuring in the 50th percentile, about 4.5 lbs – right down the middle, not to big, not too small.  Which is perfect – I want the baby to be the right size to be healthy, but a little on the smaller side suits me fine! 😉

The Perinatal Group fit me in right away, at 8:10 this morning.  My boss at work was so kind to let me come in late, especially since I left early yesterday for the OB appointment.  They have me at 38 Weeks today – they said that I should count it as a new week every Thursday, which is a few days earlier than the OB.  Eh, close enough.  I’ve made it to full term, which makes me happy!

The big news is:  baby is now in the 86th percentile and weighs 8.5 lbs!!  How did that happen?!?  I lost 2 lbs at my last OB visit, and a pound and a half this week.  I’m not trying to lose, I eat when I’m hungry, but I’ve cut out salt and am drinking tons more water.  So how did baby pork out?  OMG!!!  At least it’s head measures right down the median and isn’t big. 

Texas Perinatal will send the results over to Dr. Breen, but since he’s out for the next couple of days I don’t know if I’ll hear from him ’til next week.  I have another appointment with him next Friday.  I wonder if he’ll want to induce?  I wonder if I’ll go into labor before then?  My perfect outcome would be a vaginal birth where I go into labor on my own.  Second choice would be an induced vaginal labor.  Third choice would be the c-section, although if the doc really felt it was the best option for the baby I wouldn’t fight it.

On Sunday I’m heading to Gatesville for a baby shower at my mom and dad’s church.  I hope the baby doesn’t come until next week, at the earliest!  I can’t believe I just said that.  I’m going to bring a baby home?  Me, the hopeless infertile?  It’s seems like such hubris to actually assume I’ll bring a baby home.  So many things can still go wrong.  Horrible things that are always floating around in my head and haunt my wild, vivid dreams. 

But all of the sudden, in a flash, this seems real – not an abstract dream, not just a hope, another daydream.  Just maybe … this could actually happen.  I’m afraid to blink.

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ashley
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 13:42:36

    I wouldn’t panic too much just yet, those scans aren’t very accurate, at least not for myself or anyone else I know in real life. My friend just had her baby, they told her he was going to be almost 10 pounds and he was 7 pounds! You are almost there, it’s so amazing! I just can’t wait to find out what you’re having! Those thoughts can be so scary, especially with all their is to read out there, but I just know you are going to be bringing home a super healthy and super cute munchkin. 🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Feb 24, 2011 @ 14:41:36

      I have to admit, it’s a relief to hear that! Eight and a half pounds is about as big as I’d wanna go, if I got to choose! And hopefully those non-working epis were just anomalies, right?

      Reply

  2. christina
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 13:47:00

    Wow! Big baby, but sounds nice and healthy!! It sounds like this place does more thorough testing, but I will share that they convinced me Wren was going to be nearly 9 pounds and she was 7 lbs. 7 oz. So there’s always a chance!

    I can’t wait to see how things happen! It’s such a fun time, but definitely scary and even a little annoying at the same time. I, too, had nervous thoughts about all of the “what if’s” because I couldn’t fathom that this was really actually happening to us. Then I was so anxious and almost annoyed with the mystery of when it would happen. I hated waking up every day not knowing. But mostly it is so much wonderful fun! I still remember specific things about those last few weeks…take it all in. I loved taking nice long baths (and am normally not a fan) and watching my belly dance around, I remember how great it felt to put lotion on my swollen feet and ankles. I remember the faces of strangers who wanted to ooh and goo over me…just take every second in! I miss it so much and it is such a sweet and wonderful time, albeit uncomfortable (for me at least)!

    I hope everything comes back all good on the doctor end and can’t wait to hear progress!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Feb 24, 2011 @ 14:43:30

      that does make me feel a lot better! Wren is just too much cuteness in one baby! 🙂 You’re right – I’m getting ahead of myself. I really do want the extra time before the baby comes. But I just wish I knew which day it would be so I could be sure to have my nails done and shave before I go into labor! 😉

      Reply

  3. lifebytheday
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 15:04:38

    LOL, Stacey, you are too funny! Although, I also would be thinking about the shaving, etc. situation… 😉

    I think you can officially relax and enjoy…you WILL be bringing a baby home in just a few weeks (or days)! Keeping my fingers crossed for a perfect size baby and a vaginal delivery after Sunday! 😉 Enjoy your baby shower!!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Feb 24, 2011 @ 15:28:53

      Oh! I also had the thought – I JUST got my prescription for pregnancy chiropractic care and massage! My appointment is tomorrow! Please don’t come before mommy can get a massage! How bad is that? 😉

      Reply

  4. Kari
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 15:37:34

    Another one who doesn’t put too much faith in those measuring ultrasounds. I know someone whose doctor made her feel like an unfit mom because her baby was supposedly so big according to the scans, almost 10 pounds, in her final weeks of pregnancy. When baby came he actually weighed only 6 pounds. HUGE difference. I’m sure they must be right sometimes otherwise why have the scans done, but I hear more often than not they are a little too generous at their estimates so don’t fear too much. And I completely second the savor every moment of these final weeks. It’s so hard I know because it’s all up to baby from here on out when D-day is but enjoy, enjoy, enjoy those sweet but uncomfortable kicks. You’ll miss them when they’re on the outside. These are the last days where baby is all yours so enjoy those precious moments between the two of you. Once baby is here everyone wants to hold baby and you have to share, sometimes more than I like to. 🙂 Although during the fussy times people sure don’t seem to fight ya as hard to keep baby. Anyway you’ve made it Mama, the finish line is in sight, you’re about to begin the ride of your life and it’s the greatest thing ever!! I promise. Can’t wait to hear about your shower and anxiously awaiting Birthday as well!! Wishing you the smoothest, most amazing, delivery experience that exceeds every one of your hopes and dreams!!

    Reply

  5. Siera
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 19:42:45

    I hopped over here from Emily’s blog and I’m with every one whose says they over measure on those scans. I see it on a baby story all the time, the over estimate by 2 lbs scare mom into having a schedule c-section and that 9 pounder is 7lbs. Has baby dropped yet? If not try climbing up and down lots of stairs and hills. My baby hadn’t at 38 weeks, and I did A LOT of hills repeatedly in my neighbourhood going around the block over and over. My neighbours must of thought me crazy. When my water broke 5 days later he had dropped. Also to avoid baby being postier (Sunnyside up, spine on spine) try to spend a lot of time on all 4’s. Scrub your floors on your hands and knees, watch a half hour TV show if you can. Your baby’s back is the heaviest part of his/her body and gravity will naturally pull that to the lower part of your body. Think of your tummy like hammock and you want his back to your belly. I’ve heard *but can’t attest* that if you want to induce labour use a really good electric breast pump for a 2-3 hours to stimulate your nipples. You can rent them from hospitals and pharmacies if you don’t want to buy one. Good Luck!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Mar 10, 2011 @ 17:10:12

      I’m so glad you stopped by from Emily’s! 🙂 I did end up renting one of those hospital pumps, and I’m so glad I did! Thanks for the advice!

      Reply

  6. Christy
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 20:37:33

    Same thing with Avery-they told me 9 lbs 12 oz and she was 8lbs 6. I don’t think it’s accurate at ALL! But at the same time, it could be off in the other direction, ya know?
    At any rate—-THIRTY EIGHT! just cannot wait-for pictures, a gender, a name! Cannot wait!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Mar 10, 2011 @ 17:11:17

      Turns out, she was just 1/2 a pound less than they thought. I’m so glad she was! The doc said any bigger, and she wouldn’t have been able to fit in the birth canal!

      Reply

  7. My Bumpy Journey
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 21:00:16

    AHHH!!! I can’t believe you are almost there! Y*IPPPPPEEE!!!! If it helps, I think ALL estimates of all my friends were measured over.
    Love it!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Mar 10, 2011 @ 17:12:25

      I think you’re right, almost everyone has told me their babies were over-estimated. I’m so glad she wasn’t any bigger! My aunt had two babies OVER 10lbs!

      Reply

  8. Jenny
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 09:49:19

    Yeah Stacey – you’re almost there! Like everyone else, the scans can be wrong. My ultrasound tech explained that they get more inaccurate the further you go along, which is why they check the anatomy at 20 weeks, because that is when they can get the best imaging. Don’t let the current weight estimate freak you out!

    I remember how strange it was for us to say that we would be coming home with a baby. After all the fertility stuff, and then we went calmly and quietly to the hospital for an induction, that it just seemed so weird. On our drive there, we said, when we drive back from here, it will be with a baby. Its crazy, but now my guy is almost 1 year and I can’t imagine it any other way!

    I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you get another week before baby decides to make his/her debut…enjoy the time! Good luck!

    Reply

  9. Low Fat Lady
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 17:21:34

    You are so close! 8lbs is great, and he/she will be healthy! Enjoy the shower!

    Reply

  10. athena
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 16:40:27

    i can’t believe i’m holding my son right now.. i know exactly what you’re feeling.. it’s just beyond insane to imagine everything being okay! hugs and love! i’m so excited for you!!!!!!!!! 😀

    Reply

  11. Shannon
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 20:43:19

    You are on the home stretch… and, um, at 2 months TA weighed 9 pounds.

    And I am so stalking your blog!!!

    Reply

  12. Katie
    Feb 27, 2011 @ 12:30:24

    Hey! You are sooo close! My little guy arrived at 38 weeks, so it can be any day now. Can’t wait!!!!!

    Reply

  13. linds
    Feb 27, 2011 @ 13:22:25

    Yikes! You must getting so nervous! Or at least i would be! And I can’t imagine what it must feel like to almost be bringing a baby home, I know I would be in disbelief! Can’t wait to hear the good news. 🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Mar 10, 2011 @ 17:26:23

      I got really nervous about labor right before she was born. Come to think of it, it really didn’t hit me ’til about a week before labor, and all of the sudden it was all I could think about. Weird, huh?

      Reply

  14. Aisha
    Feb 27, 2011 @ 23:01:55

    Dont worry yet- they predicted a nearly ten pound baby for me and W was 7lb12oz LOL you’ll be just fine!

    You are SO close! I am SOOOOOO excited for you Stacey!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

