Full Term

37 Weeks!

Officially full term!  Due date is March 10, so really I have about 3 weeks to go.  The nursery is a work in progress, but it’s close!  Still need a few things – the biggies are the breast feeding pump and supplies, which I will get at the lactation shop inside the hospital, and a good monitor.  Other than that, it’s all small stuff – bottles (I’ve decided to go with the Breast Flow brand), some pack ‘n play sheets, a play mat, little things like that. 

Belly shots – I know I look really tired here.  Troy took the pic at the end of the day and I had already washed off my make-up.  And, truthfully, I was really tired.  By the end of the work day, my back usually hurts and I’m soooo sleepy.

37 Weeks

I can't wait to put on my pj's!

 This past week I’ve been having a lot of back pain.  Not just my lower back, which would possibly be a sign of early labor, but all across my back.  Especially on the left side, around my shoulder blade.  The day always starts out ok, but by about 1pm the aching starts.  By about 3pm it’s usually pretty uncomfortable.  Sometimes by the time the day is over, I can’t take a deep breath.

Friday I went to see the OB.  Everything looks great!  My ankles still swell, but the edema is not too bad.  I’m still limiting that salt, and my blood pressure is great, which is a huge relief.  Dr. Breen couldn’t estimate the weight by the ultrasound, but he did take some measurements that show the baby is in the 50th to 60th percentile, which is perfect for me!  The baby is growing at the right rate between each appointment, so I’m ecstatic it’s not a really big or really small baby! 🙂

The sonogram did show that the baby’s head is very deep in my pelvis, facing towards my back.  So the back of the baby’s head is pressing on my pubic bone, causing me to waddle worse than a mama duck with shin splints.  The forehead is pressing against my lower spine, causing a lot of the back pain.  Also, my belly is just plain heavy!  As I try to compensate by leaning back, it causes the upper back pain.  So does sitting too long in the office chairs, so I’m going to try to take short little walks more often around the office and not sit so much.  Shouldn’t be too hard as much as I have to pee!

My cervix is still perfectly closed, so no signs of labor yet!  I have a hunch that the baby will be about a week late.  I don’t know why, it’s just what I sense.  Even though I’m uncomfortable right now, I’m ok with it!  It gives me a little more time to prepare, time for the baby to grow and be strong.  And we’ll have a couple more paychecks banked, too. 🙂

Saturday night I had girls’ night with mom, BFFs Melissa and Judy and good friends Lorelei and Tina.  We all met at Tina’s house and ate ourselves sick, had mai tai’s (and punch for me), and played games.  We did paraffin dips for our hands and feet and they painted my toenails for me! 🙂  Sooo awesome.  It was so good to have some girlfriend time!  I loved it!

Sunday Mom and I scrubbed all the bathrooms (we have a 2 bathrooms and a half bath), changed all the linens, washed all the baby clothes and did all the laundry.  We vacuumed the whole house and mopped all the tile.  It felt so good to get it done.  The beginning of nesting, I guess.  Over this week I’m going to dust everything and clean all the glass.  Hopefully next week we’ll finish up the nursery.  Just need to hang a few things on the wall and organize a little. 

 Tonight I’m soaking up some of  The Bachelor – Brad is from right here in my hometown of Austin!  BFF Melissa actually ran into him in the Banana Republic once, but she was too shy to go up and say hi.  I’m actually supposed to be doing our taxes right now but instead I’m posting this blog and watching Brad make out!

In other news:  stretch marks … dey be happenin’. 

soooo sexy

My belly button still hasn’t popped out!  It’s sooooo close!  I don’t know why, but I’m totally curious what the inside of my belly button looks like!  I’m jealous of all the outties I saw in birthing class!

Next weekend I’m going to visit my mom and dad in Gatesville, about an hour and a half away.  Mom’s church (Dad is pastor) is throwing a shower for me.  I’m so excited to get to know the ladies in their church a little better! 🙂

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. linds
    Feb 21, 2011 @ 23:22:07

    Wow! You’re getting so close. 🙂 Can’t wait to hear how it all goes!!

    Reply

  2. Kari
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 00:15:13

    Yippee for full term!! It will be time before you know it!!

    Reply

  3. lifebytheday
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 07:24:57

    Yayyy for full term! Although you’re crazy to want an outie…give me 2 more weeks and you can have mine! ;-P So glad that everything is going well…can’t wait to “meet” this baby!!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Feb 22, 2011 @ 12:11:06

      lolol I don’t know what the fastination with the outtie is! I think I have a mole down in there. I’ve always been curious to see it! Silly, I know!

      Reply

  4. Christy
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 08:20:00

    OMG!!!!!! STACEY! I can’t believe how fabulous you look. Seriously.
    I am OVER the moon happy for you and just cannot wait to hear the news. You best be updating this thing like a.s.a.p. after that bambino arrives.
    Hey, if you get a sec, could you send your address to my e-mail?
    almostamother@gmail.com

    thanks, yo!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Feb 22, 2011 @ 12:12:03

      I’ll definitely keep everyone up to date! I’m hoping I can get Troy to post, too. His spelling is terrible, though! 🙂 I sent you my address!

      Reply

  5. birdsandsquirrels
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 16:15:45

    Yay for full term! I am so excited for you!

    Reply

  6. Stacey
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 22:33:00

    I am so bad at commenting, so I think this is the first time I have actually written (but I have been reading!), but YAY for full term! In less than a month you’ll have a BABY!

    I’ll be following… here’s to a SMOOTH couple of weeks!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Feb 23, 2011 @ 10:57:36

      oh my gosh, I hope you do, too! I hope you find a doc you like much better. Bless your heart, you’ve got too much going on to not be able to fully trust your OB! I’m so glad you stopped by and said hi! 🙂

      Reply

  7. Christine
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 22:50:37

    I’ve been lurking and reading your blog since right before you found out you were preggo. So glad you are full term! I don’t know if your insurance covers breast pumps (mine did), but if not I have a practically new pump-Medela double pump-in-style. I would be happy to give it to you. I know how pricey they are! I’m assuming you can see my email, feel free to email me!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Feb 23, 2011 @ 11:01:13

      Hi, Christine! I’m so glad you de-luked to say hello! 🙂 If you have a blog, send me a link and I’d love to catch up on your story!
      Also, feel free to drop by any time and give me any new mom advice you might have! I’m excited about the breast pump – I sent you an email from my home email Daisy6671@aol.com.
      Thanks for your support and for saying hi!

      Reply

  8. Katie
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 14:19:08

    Yay! SO excited for you and you are getting so close! I will keep you in my prayers as you wait out these last few weeks!

    Reply

  9. katery
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 22:07:07

    omg, stacey, i feel your pain, get ready for tmi… louise was very low for a very long time, my doctor couldn’t even check my cervix because she couldn’t get her fingers around louise’s head without causing me excruciating pain. anyway, as a result of this, my lady bits were incredibly swollen, when i finally went into labor the nurses all thought i was having an allergic reaction to latex, i was like, nope, it’s been that way for quite some time, it’s just from pressure, but they wouldn’t listen, they were totally convinced it was from the gloves. IT WASN’T FROM THE GLOVES!!!! i saw those lady bits every day, they were swollen for like two months!! ok… maybe i didn’t SEE them, that might be an exaggeration, the only way i could see them was with a mirror, but i could feel them damnit! and i got a hemorrhoid too (still have it as a souvenir)!!! anyway, i hope that baby comes soon, but not too soon 🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Feb 23, 2011 @ 22:44:21

      Aargh, that’s horrible! Omg, I hope that doesn’t happen! I’m just getting impatient, I think. 🙂 Next appointment (a week from Friday) I start getting cervical checks. I’m dreading it!

      Reply

  10. katery
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 00:00:56

    if it hasn’t happened to you yet i don’t think it will, i was like that for the last couple of months, don’t worry mama. this baby is going to come out and it’s going to be hard and it’s going to hurt but you can do it. women have been giving birth for a looooooooong time, we were made to do it and you don’t even really need to learn how, your body just takes over. maybe you’ll be one of those people who has a short labor and a fantastic epidural, those are my wishes for you. but either way, you can do it.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Feb 24, 2011 @ 12:08:30

      I’m a total wuss … my overall concern should be that the baby be born healthy, and it is – but, I totally trust my OB and I think the baby is in great hands. So if I’m honest, I have to admit my real fear is that the epidural won’t work! Have you seen One Born Every Minute? It’s a new series on Lifetime where they record live births at a hospital. There have been TWO episodes now where the epidural doesn’t work! Aaaargh!

      Reply

  11. PJ
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 11:21:35

    Soooo close! I know you’re excited!

    Awesome belly shots! And, GO YOU for still working!

    I had a big heating pad on my back every night after work for about an hour. It had auto shutoff, and I’d just fall asleep that way. I made sure to put it on the medium setting, because I was always paraonoid about roasting my girls!

    Reply

  12. Low Fat Lady
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 17:23:01

    You look so great! I know your almost done, but have you tried those belly band things that are supposed to help with back pain?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

