36 Week Novelties

There are things about being really pregnant that I have found are all new teritory for me.

It’s the first time different people have repeatedly referred to my belly region as “adorable.”

It’s the first time my family has ever nicknamed me “Waddles.”  Not sure it’s a big improvement over “Spacey Stacey.”  Especially annoying when my brother loudly commands across the airport terminal, “Faster, Waddles, or we’ll miss our connecting flight!”

It’s the first time I’ve ever peed, washed my hands, then peed again.  Seriously.  In a row.

It’s the first time I’ve ever preferred to wear my husband’s shoes instead of my own.  His feet are bigger than mine, so his shoes are loose, but my cankles could smother his ankles any day.  I find it so bizarre to look down and see my calves go straight into my feet.

It’s the first time I’ve seen “the Jungle” since I went to college.  I’m a big fan of being completely shaved.  Makes me feel clean.  And it’s not from lack of effort … but if I keep just blindly whacking away down there, I’m likely to lose an important body part at some point.  There are some spots I’m just going to have to let go for a few more weeks.

It’s the first time I could actually blame my spaciness on something.  Pregnancy brain has kicked into high gear.  I’ve always been a bit spacey – hence the nickname – but pregnancy brain takes it to a whole new level.  I actually called work just before the end of January to be sure we were going to be open Feb. 1st.  “Cause we’re closed for New Years’, right?”  I think I actually heard crickets while my co-worker tried to figure out what the hell I was talking about. 

And then I decided to leave my purse in the car ’cause I was tired of carrying it in and out of the house.  I went in through the garage (have the door opener in my car).  The next morning I went to start my car … and my keys were in my purse.  In the car.

I can pour a glass of tea and instantly lose it.  I swear someone is playing a joke on me with invisible cups.

It’s the first time my favorite oversized Scooby Doo scrub shirt won’t fit over my ass.  Sadly, Scooby-Doo has been retired until further notice.  It’s also the first time I actually wore sweat pants to work.  I thought if I wore them with a scrub shirt no one would notice, but my boss was sweet enough to call me out on it (with a smile) as soon as I walked in.  “Going for a jog at lunch?”  No, but at least I can pull these pants up, thank you very much!

I’m sure as I approach the last four weeks ’til the due date I’ll be experiencing all kinds of new firsts.  Just can’t wait to see what sort of new indignity awaits. 🙂

34 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lifebytheday
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 16:37:34

    Omigod, I just laughed so hard…thank you for a glimpse at what I have to look forward to. I can’t believe that you’re already 36 weeks!!! Wishing you a quick and easy last month! 🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Feb 13, 2011 @ 02:10:07

      I’m so jealous your belly button popped out! I’ve always been curious what the inside of mine looks like! Maybe in the next four weeks the mystery will finally be solved … 😉

      Reply

  2. Kari
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 19:04:23

    I too cannot believe you are at 36 weeks!! How exciting!! Sooooooo soon!! Enjoy this last month, I couldn’t believe how much I missed those kicks and jabs when they weren’t happening in my belly anymore. Also pamper yourself and consider a wax. I sooooo wish I had before delivery. It would have made things much, much easier. 😉 But truly enjoy this time and I can’t wait to see the pictures when the little one arrives!!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Feb 13, 2011 @ 02:11:11

      I’ve been afraid of the wax, but I think it’s time to overcome my fear! Especially before I accidentally lose something I’ll erally miss! 🙂

      Reply

  3. Christy
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 20:35:46

    LOVE LOVE LOVE this.
    So excited for you.
    Cannot wait! Cannnnnooootttt wait to meet this little one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  4. My Bumpy Journey
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 23:03:30

    LOL! That is too funny! Are we going to get a belleh pic?

    Reply

  5. Katie
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 00:02:29

    You are soooooo close, girl! I hate to say it, but “preggo brain” gets even worse when it becomes “mommy brain”!! Can’t wait to hear all about your childbirthing adventures!

    Reply

  6. athena
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 07:19:03

    i hear you sister!! 😀

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Feb 13, 2011 @ 02:17:01

      Of about 15 women in my birthing class, I was one of about 3 that waddled. Why do all of the others look so classy and composed? How do they do that??

      Reply

  7. Pie
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 09:22:05

    Ahhh, the joys of the 3rd tri! Just so you know, the pregnancy brain just worsens and turns into “new mom brain” which might as well be a lobotomy. 🙂 And those cankles, they don’t go away right away, which surprised me. It took about 2 weeks post-partum for the swelling to go down, so keep hubby’s shoes handy!

    Enjoy these last few weeks!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Feb 13, 2011 @ 02:20:38

      Oh no! I was hoping to get my model figure back right away! 🙂 Actually, I knew the belly took months to go all the way back down, but I didn’t think about the cankles or other swelling. I should’ve figured on that!

      Reply

  8. katery
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 21:45:42

    is everyone telling you to sleep now, as if you can somehow store sleep for later and use it when you are tired from being awake all night with the baby? it is well meant, i’m sure, but also the stupidest “advice” ever!! anyway, i know it’s hard not to be anxious and dream about meeting the baby, but try and enjoy these last few weeks with your husband because this is the last time it will be just the two of you ever again!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Feb 13, 2011 @ 02:23:27

      YES!! Everyone keeps saying that and writing it in cards! As if I could sleep with the aching, the peeing, the wild dreams. My theory is that all that is just preparing me for operating on as little sleep as possible! 🙂

      Reply

  9. Kelly
    Feb 12, 2011 @ 03:55:25

    Wow! 36 weeks!! 🙂 This post made me literally laugh out loud. When I read the part about “the jungle” I thought I was going to wake my husband up from laughing so hard.

    Thanks also for your kind words on my blog. You have no idea how much better they made me feel. Really.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Feb 13, 2011 @ 02:27:50

      It’s sad what IF takes from us. It’s a mark we’ll always have! It’s ok to freak out. It’s gonna happen. I think my OB’s office just came to expect a call from me every 10-14 days after I graduated from my RE. That’s about as long as I could go before I needed more reassurance!
      Sorry I babbled so much in your blog, I didn’t realize not all my thoughts came out coherently! I just read your post and knew just where you were coming from, ’cause I’m there, too!

      Reply

  10. Womb For Improvement
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 05:38:48

    I guess the I think that your call about the start of Feb was perfectly reasonable … for Chinese New Year!

    Oh dear.

    Only a few more weeks of waddling to go.

    Reply

  11. Andi
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 17:37:51

    Hi Stacey,

    I found your blog after looking for reviews on Texas Fertility Center. I am a fellow infertile. I live in Corpus Christi and we are about to jump into IVF after over 2 years of trying. I have an appt with Dr. Vaughn next month. I’m excited and nervous, but I feel like we are finally going to do something about it! I just wanted to ask you about your experience with the clinic, any tips, etc. I appreciate it very much and you give me so much hope!!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Feb 14, 2011 @ 15:47:16

      Hi, Andi! I sent you a long email. You’ll love Dr. Vaugh and the Texas Fertility Center. I’m so excited for you guys as you start this new journey! I hope you find fast success! Write me any time and check out all the blogs to the side of my blog. You might want to start one of your own, too, so we can keep up with your progress! My IF sisters have been my cheerleaders, my support system and a wonderful source of practical advice. I’m so glad you stopped by!

      Reply

  12. Low Fat Lady
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 18:26:11

    You are doing so great and I bet you look very cute too. I probably should shave soon since soon I will be having issues myself!

    Reply

  13. Amber
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 18:10:35

    That is hilarious!! I needed these giggles today. 😉

    Reply

  14. Hope
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 15:06:25

    Any news? I keep wondering if you’ve had that baby yet!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Feb 17, 2011 @ 15:14:34

      Oh, no – no signs of baby yet! 🙂 I’ve got pics to post but I’m always so sleepy by the time I get home, I crash out! But I’m working the night shift tonight so in my downtime I’ll make a new post with pics. And I promise, as soon as there are signs baby is coming I will definitely post! I want to try to post while in the hospital. I’d get hubby to do it but his spelling is soooo bad….

      Reply

  15. Katie
    Feb 20, 2011 @ 22:37:59

    Its quite a trip, isn’t it?

    I can’t wait to read that your little one is out and see some pictures! Can you believe that day is almost here?

    Reply

  16. Txgirl
    Feb 21, 2011 @ 11:57:41

    Hi Stacey-I’m so excited that you’re getting so close! fyi-about your previous post about breastfeeding/pumping–I also had a breast reduction, but way back in early 1990s. I was lucky in that I was able to pump milk from both sides, although maybe not as much as if I hadn’t had the surgery. I pumped when my first baby was born early/hospitalized in 1998, then she was able to catch on to breastfeeding a bit when she got home, but I still did alot of pumping and feeding by bottle. This time around with the twins, I started pumping a few hours after my c-section and kept it up every 2-3 hours. Initially I was only getting drops and gave them that while they were in the NICU, but by day 5 I think, it was alot better — still didn’t seem as much as I might have gotten w/o surgery, but I took whatever I could get. Since being home the twins haven’t caught on to the breastfeeding so it was the pump for me mixed with formula (it was usually 1/2 and 1/2). Occasionally the boy would breastfeed when he was fussy/tired and it would put him out like a light. It’s true that breastfeeding gets out the milk so much better than a pump. I always felt a letdown when he would feed, and sometimes wouldn’t feel it with the pump. The twins are 5.5 months now, and I stopped pumping at 5 months. I couldn’t take the pressure of having to always spend every free minute on the pump. Didn’t help that I didn’t feel more support for pumping from my husband and older daughter, but it is what it is. So bottom line for me–I think the surgery affected the amount I was getting, but as far as everything working, it seemed to work. Hopefully with a full-term baby, you won’t have as much of a problem with breastfeeding right away. Just be patient for a few days for the milk to come in. Also, the lactation consultant told me: Stay hydrated, eat more calories, and get sleep. I totally believe in those three things to help with bf!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Feb 22, 2011 @ 12:03:56

      Hi! I’m so glad you wrote! I can’t believe your twins are 5 1/2 months! That’s crazy! 🙂
      Thanks for telling about how it went for you! The plastic surgeon said he felt very positive that I’d be able to breast feed as he didn’t have to cut any of the major vessels or links during my surgery. I’m feeling really good about it, I can’t wait to try! I’d be happy doing a combination of BFing and pumping. I’ll need to pump anyways when I go back to work.
      I’m definitely going to give it a good hard try!

      Reply

  17. Txgirl
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 13:57:17

    I also should have said that I was pumping enough for a single baby, just not twins. 😉

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Feb 22, 2011 @ 15:46:05

      I used to think, “aw, if only we’d had twins, we’d be done trying now.” But now I know, one is ALL I can handle – and the baby isn’t even here yet! I don’t know how you do it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

