Speeding Along

The last week and a half has flown by.  It all seems like a blur!  Dad and I flew back from Indiana together after the funeral.  We spent quite a bit of time in the Chicago airport due to bad weather.  I hear it’s even worse there now, and Indiana is completely under snow!  Waaay too cold for me!  We escaped just in time!

Here are some pics from our time in Indiana:

my brother and cousins carrying the casket

My cousin Andy and his sweet fiancee

Cousin Joey (Andy's bro), wife Anissa and their beautiful family

Joey and Andy's folks Aunt Bonnie and Uncle Rick

Dad's brother Uncle Martin, wife Aunt Diana and cousins Adam and Aaron

Mom, Dad, bro Chris and me

Dad's sister Susan, Uncle Rex and cousin Michelle

all four Barclay siblings

Dad made a snow "lump"

Moo is happy mom is home! Sleepin' on my legs.

 

Last Saturday my sister-in-law JoAnn held a baby shower for me!  It was so amazing!  Everything was red and white, like the baby’s room decorations and bedding.  Even the cupcakes were white with red sprinkles!  Every detail was thought out!   There were red and white balloons everywhere.  My relatives in Indiana had all sent gifts to the party.  I wish they all could’ve been there.  Troy’s mom Marilyn and step-sister Sharon came down from the Dallas area.  I just loved spending time with old friends and family! 

It’s amazing how much more real it all seems now.  I think it took so long ’cause for the first 7 months I was so nauseous and sick all the time.  It’s just been in the last month that I’ve gotten big and I feel better, and now I’ve got a room full of baby bling!  Mom and I are going to try to get the room decorated this weekend.

My next OB appt. is supposed to be tomorrow, but I have a feeling it’ll be cancelled.  Because Austin is actually getting ice and SNOW!  Crazy!  We get a lot of rain in the winter, and sometimes ice, but it’s rare to ever see snow.  It’ll be an adventure driving home after work!  My OB’s office closes if the Austin schools close, so I’m sure I’ll be rescheduling our appointment.  I’m a little disappointed – I was really looking forward to seeing the baby again.  It’s been a while!

On Sunday we had maternity photos taken.  There’s a woman who takes maternity photos in our home, then sends them on a disc after they’ve been edited with a release form so they can be reprinted.  She had a son born four years ago with a genetic heart defect who only lived about a month.  They donate the majority of the profits from their photography business to research and treatment programs for his diagnosis.  I can’t wait to see how the pics turn out!

Monday Troy and I went to Newborn Care Class at St. David’s Hospital, where the baby will be born.  We learned how to swaddle, diaper and bathe a newborn, and watched videos on cord care and how to install car seats.  On Saturday we have Birthing Class from 10-4.  It’ll be a long day!  But I’m excited to learn more about the process of giving birth at St. David’s.  We’ll get pre-registered, too.

Today, I am 35 weeks.  Five weeks to go!

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lifebytheday
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 07:39:30

    Yay for 35 weeks! And showers, maternity photos and pre-registering…wow!! 😀

    Reply

  2. athena
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 08:10:51

    eeeeeeeee!! go us! 😀

    Reply

  3. Amber
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 09:40:18

    You are getting so close- I feel like your pregnancy has flown by! Can’t wait to meet the little one…

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Feb 06, 2011 @ 05:41:12

      It’s so wierd – how can it be that it’s been 8 months already? I think ’cause it just seemed like I was sick for a long time, not pregnant. But it’s starting to feel really real!

      Reply

  4. Low Fat Lady
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 10:19:02

    You are doing so great! We just signed up for our child birth/pregnancy classes. Do you bring a notebook and take notes? I’m not sure what to bring lol. Love the snow lump. So cute.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Feb 06, 2011 @ 05:43:03

      You are so on the ball! I just signed up a month ago! We were lucky to get a spot. Those classes fill up fast!
      Don’t worry about taking a notebook – they give you tons of papers, booklets and literature, so there’s lots of places to make notes. Troy gets bored easily, but he’s done really well paying attention so far. 😉

      Reply

  5. Katie
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 10:49:24

    35 weeks! You’re in the home stretch! I’m getting so excited for you!

    Reply

  6. Aisha
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 11:25:44

    WHOO HOO!!!!!

    Sounds like a lovely baby shower- do post pictures! How classy!

    Reply

  7. Pie
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 12:25:03

    How in the world are you already 35 weeks!!??!! Time is flying by, your little one will be here before you (or I!) know it!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Feb 06, 2011 @ 05:50:08

      I’m catching up to you! 🙂
      I think you’re right, it really seems to be going fast now. But it seemed like you were pregnant forever! I think it must’ve been ’cause your pregnancy was so eventful, and bless your heart, you were so miserable! I know you were so worried for critter, and I was so relieved with you when she made her debut safe and sound! 🙂

      Reply

  8. Ashley
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 13:04:52

    You have so much going on in these last five weeks! I can’t wait to see your photos and the room when it’s done! And of course your little bundle of joy!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Feb 06, 2011 @ 05:52:00

      The room is really coming along! I just need to get a lamp at IKEA and there are some star decals for the walls I want to order from Babies ‘R Us. I really didn’t have a theme in mind when I started the room, but it’s been fun to see it come together!

      Reply

  9. katery
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 22:17:22

    sorry to hear about your grandfather 😦
    happy everything else seems to be going well 🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Feb 06, 2011 @ 05:53:17

      Thanks, Katery! He’s very missed! It was hard to see him suffer so much and it helped to know he was so ready and so loved while he was here! I’m so glad I got to go be with the family for the funeral and re-connect with everyone!
      Everything is going well and I feel like the count-down clock has finally started! 🙂

      Reply

  10. Andrea
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 11:42:39

    Wow! You are 35 weeks already that went fast! I am so happy for you that everything is progressing so well. I guess I will be there too, sooner than I think.
    Hoping you have a relaxing 5 weeks or less : )

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Feb 07, 2011 @ 16:29:00

      You are just behind me! I’m so glad you’re finally feeling better. And so jealous you’re headed on a cruise! Take lots of pics for us! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

