The Holidays Were Happy! Now I Need A Nap.

I hope you all had wonderful holidays!  The Thursday before Christmas was when Mom ‘n SIL Joann took me to register.  That evening, Troy and I started making Christmas goodies!  We made chocolate, peanut butter and caramel dipped pretzels.  Troy also dipped pretzel sticks into chocolate and then rolled them in crushed candies, like Reeses, Butterfinger or Andes Mints.  They turned out awesome!  I made four batches of Paula Deen’s Chocolate Gooey Cookies (you can google that for the recipe, it’s on the net), which were a hit at all the work offices. 

pretzels with choc. and candy bits

dipped in Reeses peanut butter and drizzled with chocolate

dipped in caramel drizzled with choc.

 

Mom and Dad stayed with us over the Christmas weekend, and I made my first turkey ever (with lots of supervision from mom :)!  It turned out great!  We took it to my brother’s Christmas day for a big dinner and to celebrate with the nephews.  They’re so cute at four and seven – it’s so fun to see Christmas through a kids’ eyes! 

I gots gifts from Nana!

Since I was off the Christmas weekend, it was back to work over the past New Year’s holiday.  I worked the night shift at the part-time job.  Unfortunately a co-worker experienced a family tragedy, so I took her shift, too.  So I ended up working Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights.  Saturday night  was our go-live date for a new electronic medical records computer system.  Who schedules a go-live date on New Years??  It was insane!  I am really and truly worn out today. 

Even with working the weekend really was fun!  Mom stayed with Troy and me and helped – actually did all the work – putting away all our Christmas decorations.  I couldn’t have done it without her!  The house seems so big now without stuff everywhere, but I always miss the coziness and chaos of the lights and decorations for a week or two after they’re gone.  We had a little bitty tree in our bedroom with colored lights on it, and I got used to sleeping with it on.  I’d like to find something similar to leave on in the room after the baby comes.  Pretty lights, but not too bright.  It really helped during the endless night trips to the potty, too! 😉

Moo & Dude 'help' Nan put away Cmas decorations

Wednesday is the next OB appointment.  It’s been rescheduled by the doc’s office twice, and I was actually originally scheduled for this appointment three weeks ago.  I’m so ready to see the baby again!  I took the 1 hr glucose tolerance test last week, and I’m hoping I’ll get all good results on Wednesday. 🙂

Since I am so late for this appointment, I started to get a little nervous about signing up for birthing classes and such at the hospital where the baby will be born (St. David’s Medical Center).  I figured he was going to give me that information at the appoitment.  Also, while registering at Babies ‘R Us, another person shopping at the store told me that instead of buying a breast pump, she rented a hospital-grade one from the hospital at first.  She said they’re the most efficient and least painful, and if it turns out you can’t breastfeed for any reason, you’re not out $100’s for a pump. 

So I called St. David’s to ask about it all, and it turns out they have a hotline for all things L&D and breastfeeding related, which is really cool!  They signed Troy and me up for three classes:  Breastfeeding 101, Newborn Care and a two-part (two Saturdays) Birthing Class.  All three classes together were $100 for two people.  And there were only 3 slots left in the February classes when I signed up!  If I’d waited for this week’s appointment, I wouldn’t have been able to get the classes done before the baby is born (all of the January classes were already sold out!).

The pump rental is $25/week or $75 if rented for a month at a time.  Our insurance will pay for the first month, since it will be issued to me while I’m still in the hospital.  I figured that’d give us enough time to be sure I’ll be able to breastfeed.  The plastic surgeon who did my breast reduction a few years ago said he felt I would be able to BF, and I’m hoping he’s right.  But for those of you who pump, any pump recommendations?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kari
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 06:14:33

    Totally good advice to rent a pump for the first month at least to see if it works out for you. I rented a Medela Symphony. I purchased a Medela Pump In Style Advanced backpack when I knew BFing was possible for me(well pumping but whatever). The one I bought actually ended up having better suction than the rental, I think the fact that the rental is constantly used sort of cuts down on its power after a while(maybe mine just wasn’t taken care of properly) but it was still good enough to help build my supply. I could write you a book of pumping advice but I’ll give you the basics that I think are important and then if you need anything else please know you can always email me(karisbabysteps at gmail dot com). I hope BFing works out perfectly for you and pumping is just something you do when you go back to work. Get a pumping bra, hands free is a lifesaver. I use the Easy Expressions(or Medela they’re actually the same) halter style. While you’re pumping don’t think about pumping. Don’t focus on how much you’re producing, totally hard not to in the beginning but obsessing really affects supply. Try to be as relaxed and stress free as possible. I was shocked at how little things affect the effectiveness of my pump session, baby crying for example causes me stress, stress during a pump equals less milk. The most important thing is to make sure you get pump flanges that actually fit. They’ll have you buy a kit with parts to go with the rental pump, with the Medela I got everything was interchangable but the tubing(new tubing came with the pump I bought though so it was ok). The flanges are supposedly the average size of most women, but I don’t really think that’s true. I used them for a while and they were killing me(and I’m pretty tiny). I would ask a lactation consultant when you’re renting the pump to help you find the right fit, or Google it and there’s pictures to help you figure out the right fit yourself. My girls are wonky so I ended up with 2 different sized ones but neither was the average sized one that comes with the pump parts kit. In the beginning I got nauseous everytime I pumped, it was awful. It did get better though and I don’t think everyone has that happen. Once I found the right sized flanges, got my hands free bra, and stopped obsessing things started to go really smoothly. Again if you need any advice or have any questions the pump and I are quite close so I’m here to help.

    Those pretzels look A-mazing!!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jan 06, 2011 @ 14:02:20

      oh my gosh, thank you so much for all the advice! I think the breastfeeding class will really help, too. I’m hoping I’m a pumping champ! 🙂 I really want to breastfeed, but I want my husband to be able to be part of the feed cycle, too. It’ll help me be more relaxed if I can take a bath from time to time and give him a chance to bond, too. So I plan to do both, if all goes according to plan! 🙂 And if it works out, I’ll pump once I go back to work, too. I know I’ll have TONS more questions after the class and I’ll definitely be calling on you! 🙂

      Reply

  2. Low Fat Lady
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 18:11:20

    So glad you had a great holiday. All those food pictures look so yummy. Good luck with those classes. I am nervous to take them.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jan 06, 2011 @ 14:04:11

      For some reason, I was more nervous about registering! 🙂 I’m excited about the classes. I’m sure the classes – especially the childbirth class – are going to scare the crap out of me! I’m glad hubby has to go, too. 😉

      Reply

  3. Jenny
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 16:42:38

    Happy New Year! Glad to hear all is going well with your pregnancy. I think we took all of those same classes you’re about to take! I agree with Kari – you should get fitted. A lactation consultant will probably teach your B’feeding class and you could ask her to fit you, also the lactation consultants at the hospital can help too.

    As for type of pump: MEDELA, MEDELA, MEDELA! I cannot praise them enough. I love mine and everyone I know loves theirs too. Medela Symphony is the hospital grade and it is a smart idea to rent one, just in case. I didn’t rent one, but I received my Medela as a gift, so never felt the need to try it out. Plus insurance will usually cover the tubes you get in the hospital, which you can keep, so you end up with an extra set, if you end up buying a Medela. I’m like Kari and used the Medela Pump in Style Advanced, in a messenger bag (they come in a variety of bags). That pump is the strongest & fastest there is, except for a hospital grade. Every lactation consultant I’ve worked with recommends Medela or sells them.

    I didn’t get a pumping bra, I just used my nursing bra b/c it held them in place easily. And I pumped for 6 months every 3 hours every day (my son wouldn’t nurse), so I’m impressed that the pump could keep my supply up that long – it can only do so much – there is no replacement for the mom-child trigger for lactating. 🙂

    I’m happy to answer any questions you have or talk about any of it! Feel free to email me anytime (jennyguttormson at gmail dot com) or we can always meet up – since we are Austin TX Fertility girls. 🙂 take care!

    Reply

  4. iamstacey
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 14:06:07

    I’m so glad you wrote and you’re doing so great! 🙂 Six months – you’re a champ! 🙂 I hope I can do it that long, too. I’m really getting excited about the classes! I know I’ll have questions afterwards – I’ll definitely be giving you a holler to ask more advice! thanks for checking in! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Myndi
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 02:59:54

    You know I’m a pumping fool, and I rent a hospital grade one. Even the best pump isn’t anywhere near as efficient as a baby nursing, so it’s really important that you get something really good. I use the Medela Symphony, and I think it’ pretty great. Just make sure that a lactation consultant fits you for the flanges so you don’t injure yourself. Hard to recover from damaged nipples!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jan 08, 2011 @ 01:33:19

      I’m hoping they do this in the breastfeeding class, but if not, the lactation team at the hospital is really great! I’ll definitely get it done in the hospital if not before.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

