“POP!”

That would be my head exploding.  Also could be titled, “How to Blow A First-Time Mom-To-Be’s Mind.” 

Otherwise known as, “registering.”

OMG, I’ve never been so overwhelmed in my life.  I left the Babies ‘R Us with my head swimming and my heart pounding.  What did I just choose?  Are they good decisions?  What did I forget?  What if the baby comes before we’re ready?  WHY DON’T WE HAVE ANY OF THIS CRAP ALREADY??  AAAARRRGGHH!  <pant, pant, gasp, faint>

Mom and sister-in-law Joann took me to register last Thursday before Christmas at Babies ‘R Us.  To my surprise, the store was fairly empty, which was nice.  And if you’re registering for the first time, BRU’s is the way to go.  They’ve got the routine down pat!  You fill out a questionnaire, they give you lots of advice and instructions, hand you a scanner, and direct you to the least terrifying part of the store (furniture and linens). 

At first it seems fun.  Should we go with a theme?  What colors do you like?  Winnie the Pooh or jungle animals?  Then all of the sudden, it’s 10 different breast pumps, then 20 different mattress possibilities, followed by 30 different baby monitors to choose from, then 100’s of strollers, and OMG THOUSANDS OF BOTTLES!!!  Any one of which they could decide tomorrow will kill your baby.  I’m not really sure if the “Peaceful Sounds Lamb” will lull my baby to sleep or if I’ve doomed the kid to certain death by stuffie.

Forty (I mean four) hours later, I found myself in a daze, standing outside the store doors, the cool air slowly clearing my head while I clutched my congratulatory gift bag of coupons and freebies.  Fortunately we hit the closest Potbelly’s after that and I was happily restored with a toasted sub and a cookie.  I checked my registry online that evening, only to wonder, when did I decide to go with a bumblebee theme on the boppy and all the bath stuff?  Only to discover that I’d frozen in indecision about an hour into the registry and mom and Joann had gone crazy with the scanner for the last three hours.  They were quick to tell me their job would’ve been much easier if I would just tell them if it was a boy or a girl so they wouldn’t have to keep looking for gender neutral stuff.

I then had nightmares all night that the baby was born early and since we had NOTHING we had to diaper it with toilet paper strips and it had to sleep in a drawer in my dresser.  This nightmare actually woke me up EIGHT times.  When you add that to all the bladder alarms, it was an exhausting night.

I’m told this Friday we’re off to Target for a repeat.  I plan to run off to Tahiti on Thursday.  If only I could find out what they did with my wallet while I was frozen.

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kari
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 16:48:20

    🙂 Good luck!! Baby products are certainly overwhelming.

    Reply

  2. athena
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 16:53:04

    heheh yeah i know what you mean.. fortunately we’re pretty well stocked after our adoption situation. but i swear, there’s always something else on my “get before baby” list!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Dec 28, 2010 @ 17:23:49

      i keep seeing pics of nurseries on other’s blogs who are about where I am or even newer in their pregnancies. And they have everything! Diaper genies! Diapers! Cribs with actual mattresses in them! Even the walls are painted! Argh!

      Reply

  3. Amber
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 17:19:38

    You are hilarious!!! It will all be fine. The only things I truly needed for the 1st month were diapers (lots), help, and more sleep. We didn’t find out gender either and our families gave us a hard time! Good job hanging in there- it will make the big day so much more exciting!!!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Dec 28, 2010 @ 17:26:22

      my mom said the other day, “I guess I need to be sure not to schedule anything in early March in case you need some help for a little while.” To which I panicked, “What?!?! You’re not moving in for the first year?? Dad will be fine on his own!! You can’t leave me!!!”

      Reply

  4. Pie
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 19:42:31

    Yeah, it is totally overwhelming. I found the book “Baby Bargains” helpful in making me focus a bit more. And don’t worry, and not to freak you out, but if the baby does come early, you’ll have some borrowed time with the kid being in the NICU. So you’ll be fine, the baby will be fine. It will be fine. And its ok to say no to a bunch of baby stuff you’re not sure you’ll need. BRU will be there after the baby’s born too, so you can always get stuff later too.

    And just to make you feel better, we just finished the nursery this week. At 37 weeks. So you are not behind. Or at least you are not alone if you are!!

    Reply

  5. katery
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 20:26:21

    omg, registering is complete insanity, i could only handle doing it at one store.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Dec 28, 2010 @ 22:04:39

      I was going to do only one store, but then my extended family said it was too hard to get to a Babies R ‘Us in their areas and asked if I’d do Target, too. I’m hoping I’ll find some of the things less expensive at Target, and I’ll take ’em off the BRU list. Now that I’ve got a frame of reference, hopefully Target won’t be as overwhelming.

      Reply

  6. Low Fat Lady
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 07:57:33

    LOL I was just thinking about having to do this in the future and felt overwhelmed. I have no idea about anything. I may start early just so I have time to research and learn about everything.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Dec 29, 2010 @ 12:21:16

      I think that’s really wise! I let fear and disbelief keep me from doing anything. I was too scared to think about the future, just in case it didn’t happen. But – I wanted all gender-neutral stuff anyways. And even if we did lose the pregnancy, we still would’ve kept trying. So I say, go for it! Start collecting little things you love, and researching the big items!

      Reply

  7. Katie
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 12:05:33

    I remember that feeling very well. However, once your baby is here, you’ll realize that they could care less what they are wearing or what mat they are chillin’ on (they all hate tummy time at first anyway). All a baby needs is food and to be warm and a safe place to sleep. Oh yeah, and a carseat to get home in. I can’t tell you how much crap we never used all that much, and the stuff that ended up being the most used sometimes surprised even me. 🙂 Top things to register for: Miracle Blanket, a bouncer, and a swing. Don’t register for clothes or blankets because you’re gonna get that stuff anyway and you want the people who actually check your registry to get the stuff you really need most. There’s my assvice, although you didn’t ask for any. 🙂

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Dec 29, 2010 @ 12:23:40

      It’s great advice! 🙂 That’s what I did. No clothes, just the biggies and consumables like diapers and wipes. I’m like you, if people do want to buy something, I’d rather them focus on the essentials, even though it’s not as “exciting” as the clothes. 🙂

      Reply

  8. WindDrop
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 12:20:44

    I registered the month we started trying. 22 months later, no BFP. I LOVE to research and I’m on different message boards and will read threads about must haves. Not to mention, I have a room full of baby stuff that my SIL gave me. I’m almost set with that stuff alone! Oh, I also have lists of what to bring to the hospital, tons of cloth diapering links, breastfeeding, CIO, you name it. I’m VERY prepared, just need the baby/BFP now.

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Dec 29, 2010 @ 12:26:35

      Hi, WindDrop! WordPress didn’t link bakc to your blog. Let me know the name of your blog! 🙂 Glad you stopped by!
      Oh, I WISH my SIL would’ve kept all my nephew’s stuff! I should’ve begged harder for it. The clothes alone would’ve filled the closet!
      Argh, I need to start on the list of stuff for the hospital next! Thanks for reminding me!

      Reply

  9. Aisha
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 21:57:53

    Just remember: food, an outfit or two, some diapers, and love are all the major things a baby really NEEDS- the rest is just extra 🙂

    PS: Glad to hear your dad is better!

    Reply

  10. Kim Porter
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 21:15:42

    yes they are… that’s why I had my sister do my registry. it saved my the headache of trying to figure out what i need

    beautyandthebump.blogspot.com

    Reply

  11. Myndi
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 12:09:04

    Registering can definitelly be crazy overwhelming. There are too many choices!!! All I can say is, keep the receipts so you can return stuff. Once you are registered at BRU, you have 90 days after the due date to return stuff rather than 90 days after purchase (one of the benefits of registry, but they don’t always tell you for obvious reasons). Buy enough bottles to get through a day max to see how the baby does with them before buying any more than that. Get the biggest burp rags you can find (we like the Gerber ones that are the size of prefolded diapers) and LOTS of them. And I’m not sure about the Sheep you mentioned, but we have the Sleep Sheep which is a big stuffed sheep with 4 different white noise effects (heartbeat, ocean, whales and birds I think), and it attaches to the outside rails of the crib so it’s totally safe. Our babies LOVE it. We didn’t even put it on our registry, it was given as a gift, but it is one of our top fave things. Couldn’t live without it!

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jan 01, 2011 @ 01:43:11

      Thanks for the advice, Myndi! 🙂 I think it was the sleep sheep. It’s just too cute! 🙂 Just tackled Target today. I think I’m good and registered now!

      Reply

  12. linds
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 12:31:38

    Wow. Sounds like chaos, but fun chaos. I am sure this little babe will be welcomed into the world with uber prepared parents and loads of all sorts of things from babiesRus!

    Reply

  13. lifebytheday
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 07:35:23

    LOL, just catching up, and I’m sorry for your pain but this post was hysterical! I have decided that I’m doing my registry a little at a time, and online as much as possible, to avoid any potential head popping. 😉 But I got the same “look at what we could get if we KNEW it was a boy/girl…”

    Reply

    • iamstacey
      Jan 06, 2011 @ 13:59:05

      omg, you’d think I was keeping the cure for cancer or something dramatic like that from the family! 🙂
      I tried to do a lot of it online, but for the big purchases, you really gotta see it/feel it/pick it up and play with it. Once I’d picked up several car seats, I got a much better feel for what I was looking for. It helps to go back online afterwards and read all the reviews online, too!

      Reply

  14. MrsB
    Jan 08, 2011 @ 12:43:35

    I went last week and registered at Babies r us with a friend (who is 5 weeks ahead of me) and we were both lost, dazed and confused. So much stuff and you are right about all the baby recalls, I’d hate to pick out something that will be recalled next week.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

